We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can get a better meal at Weatherspoons”

Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 113 Restaurants in Ilkley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Cow & Calf - Ilkley offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner visited here and the food was absolutely awful. I ordered the prawn cocktail to start, mainly because I didn’t think they could possibly get it wrong... they did. The prawns looked fine but when chewed they instantly turned to mush, I ate three but no way could I eat anymore. The waitress came to take the plates away, she didn’t ask how our starters were nor did she question why I hadn’t eaten any. She just rushed off and it wasn’t mentioned. My partner ordered steak for main and asked for it medium rare, it came raw... it was so bad we actually laughed! Everything about this meal was really poor quality (they can’t even be bothered to clean the cutlery properly), we will not be returning. The location is perfect so it’s a shame it’s not owned by another company that is willing to employ quality chefs, complete waste of a great venue! Do not waste your money here.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank cl1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a more positive experience with us at The Cow and Calf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We booked a table for Easter Sunday. 4 adults and 2 children. On arrival we were shown to our table which was ready and waiting for us. The friendly staff took our drinks order and then left us with the menus. We ordered a bottle of white wine which came with a proper ice bucket. For a starter we ordered the sticky sharing platter and a portion of salt and pepper calamari, there was ample for the 6 of us. The main courses came and we were not disappointed, the children’s food was a good sized portion and they ate it with relish. Our portions were ample also, hot and delicious. We had mini desserts which were also lovely. All in all a very reasonably priced meal which was not your average ding food but well made and tasty. Wouldn’t hesitate to return when in that area again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Gbra263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Gbra263, we are glad we could help, we look forward to seeing to again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed over here & everything was wonderful, we loved it, the breakfast was superb & our evening meal was perfect, staff are friendly & attentive, excellent value & delicious food !

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2nicole100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi 2nicole100, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Terrible food. Overcooked burgers, warm limp salad ontop of fried fish, peas swimming in water, crème brulee tasted "fridgey". Despite roaring log fires the dining room was cold, smoke/burning smells from the kitchen filled the pub, and there was a strong smell of stale cooking oil.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sydney991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Sydney991, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We had booked as it was Easter Sunday and I expected it to be busy which is was. We were served by Charlotte who did a great job, very friendly and took orders in good time. The food arrived in a reasonable amount of time.

For starters we had duo of pate and kofta. Both were nice. Not massive portions and there was not enough bread with the pate but both quite tasty.

For mains I had roast turkey Sunday dinner and my husband had fish and chips. The Sunday dinner was served with veg, roast potatoes, stuffing, Yorkshire pudding and gravy. You can add extras eg extra yorkie for 50p. All good quality ingredients and well cooked. The fish had a lovely crispy batter and was served with chips, mushy peas and tartare sauce. We both polished off our meals.

The kids had pizza which was a fresh stone baked type pizza which they both devoured, they can choose 1 of each sides from the 2 lists. The waitress let my son swap vegetables/salad for garlic bread. The kids meals are £5 plus they can add desert for £1, which I think is good value. They were a decent size too, my 11 year old usually finds kids meals a bit small but was suitably full afterwards. My 6 year old struggled to finish his.

We were too full for deserts.

Overall nice meal in nice surroundings with good service.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank GemmaP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Gemmap29, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to Charlotte & the team here at The Cow and Calf!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 
Addingham, Ilkley
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Cow and Calf Country Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing