We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage , modern interior, with...”
other travellers have booked this property
Awesome views & seclusion, neighbour Dave the goat, yet only one mile from vibrant Hebden Bridge!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Awesome views & seclusion, neighbour Dave the goat, yet only one mile from vibrant Hebden Bridge!
Piglet's House has everything you need, including balcony, all on one floor The extremely comfortable lounge, with real fire, & 9 foot french doors leading out to the balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Awesome views & seclusion, neighbour Dave the goat, yet only one mile from vibrant Hebden Bridge!
Piglet's House has everything you need, including balcony, all on one floor
The extremely comfortable lounge, with real fire, & 9 foot french doors leading out to the balcony
The kitchen is open plan, with all new mod cons including a dishwasher
The bedroom has a double bed & a single put-bed. Excellent views across to Heptonstall & Old Town
The bathroom is very spacious with a full size bath + shower over. Permanent towel radiator.t
9 foot patio doors open onto a lovely balcony. Ideal for sitting/eating out & wathching the sun
The views are far-reaching & in all directions. The cottage regularly benefits from awesome suns
Across the fields & moors, the monument of Stoodley Pike is in view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Patricia...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage , modern interior, with beautiful views of the hills and valleys in a peaceful village”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As soon as we arrived we felt at home and a sense of tranquility as we looked out over the buttercup meadow and the surrounding hills and valley from the French Windows. The sunsets seen from the cottage are glorious. It is so lovely to enjoy the views sitting outside on the balcony. The sofa was very comfortable and meant you could just simply relax and enjoy the beautiful views in the airy combined kitchen/ dining/ lounge area with the light streaming through the windows on three sides. Everything was just perfect- no great list of rules and regulations!
Gill and her family made us feel very welcome . Yorkshire folk are very friendly and the people of Old Town are no exception. There is a Post Office / General Store in the village. Also a pub, " Hare and Hounds'", which serves excellent home made meals.
We drove to the cottage by car although it is accessible by train and bus or taxi. The direct route to the cottage from Hebden Bridge by car is very steep and winding, but there is another route. Local buses run from the railway station. The 595 bus to Hebden Bridge Railway Station ( pick up opposite Old Town Primary School) departs every 30 minutes at 02 and 32 minutes past the hour every day except Sunday when the bus departs at 02 minutes past the hour only. From the Railway Station depot buses run to eg. Haworth (500 bus departs at 10 minutes past the hour) so it is easy to get about without using a car.
The cottage is well located as a centre for visiting many beautiful and interesting places. The Visitor Centre in Hebden Bridge is very useful for finding out information, including bus timetables.
We particularly enjoyed our trip to Haworth ( with its quirky and independent shops, and the Parsonage/Museum ; a trip on the Steam Train which runs from Oxenhope to Keighley; a trip to Halifax and Shibden Hall and park ; and a walk along the Rochdale Canal which runs alongside Hebden Bridge ( you can also go on a canal boat trip) . The 500 bus goes directly to Oxenhope from the Railway Station. Trains to Halifax run frequently, about every ten minutes. Piece Hall, the medieval centre for the wool trade is currently undergoing renovations but should be ready in about twelve months. However, the Minster and Halifax Market is well worth a visit.
Hebden Bridge itself has such a lovely , friendly and 'arty ' atmosphere, independent shops, cafes and restaurants , and typical Yorkshire stone houses. The River Calder runs through the centre of the town and affords beautiful views. There is also a Picture House and a 1930s style Theatre. A taxi rank adjacent to the Theatre means you can visit the theatre in the evening and easily get a cab back to Piglet House. ( A taxi fare of four pounds seemed very reasonable!).
My husband and I would certainly recommend Piglet House to family and friends. There is so much to do and explore in this beautiful area of Yorkshire and we certainly intend to return again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Perfect get-away for peace and quiet and wonderful views”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just got back from Piglet's House. We greatly enjoyed our stay. It really was a perfect get-away from the hustle and bustle, quiet and very relaxing. It's hard to pick a best bit-but you'd have to go some way to beating the stunning views across the valley, which we enjoyed from the perfect sun spot of the balcony. Night time was equally wonderful as we enjoyed a glass of wine while watching the stars and the full moon from the balcony! The goats and other animals were an absolute delight. We appreciated the hosts style of being very helpful but also leaving us to it. The cottage itself was in great condition, spacious, warm and very comfortable-we didn't want to leave! just a note that neither me nor my partner drive or are particularly fit and found the walk to town very do-able and pretty. Recommend this place a lot!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny J
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Piglet's House is a magical introduction to West Yorkshire”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Piglet's House is a delight. High up in the hills over Hebden Bridge, this cottage is perfect for two people. Surprisingly spacious for a small building. Clean, well equipped and comfortable. The location is a bonus. Fantastic views and very quiet apart from the occasional sounds of the horses and pygmy goats! The goats were charming and watching them play was fun. The owners of Piglet's House were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. You really do need a car as the location is quite isolated. Hebden Bridge is close by and a lovely place to visit with many independent cafes, a variety of small shops and the canal to walk by. It is VERY hilly with incredibly steep roads so this can be a challenge if you're not fit and healthy, but if you are a serious walker or cyclist then this area is something special. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone seeking fresh air, panoramic views and friendly people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianne a
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC PLACE”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Piglet House was everything that was promised, Great Home from Home, We were up in the Hills ( No Street Lighting and NO Cars) but with a good bus service down to Hebden Bridge,

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia_12...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful place!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was the second time Mum and I have stayed here, and once again it was lovely!

The cottage is in a beautiful setting, with stunning views from the balcony. The amenities in the cottage are great; with all towels, linens and other equipment provided. This cottage is also great if you don't drive a car (like us!) Whilst there would be great parking for drivers, we like the fact that it is a nice walkable distance into the Old Town and into Hebden. Our dog loved the trip too. Gill is a fantastic host, offering lots of advice about great places to go. The wine in the fridge, was once again a lovely touch. For a city person like me, this cottage is the prefect getaway for a quiet and peaceful few days!

We will definitely be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony and our pigmy neighbours!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Piglets House again and for the review. We look forward to welcoming you both back for a third visit at New Year. Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing