We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in a perfect location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annblack4...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Well equipped quirky accommodation ....the owners have thought of everything. Great location for walking into the town centre. Plenty of quirky shops and places to eat and drink. Will definitely come back again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBirney
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice owners , good location, disappointing property”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly I would like to say that the owners were very nice and when we required help they were immediately available, so on that basis the service was 5*.
However the photographs of the stamp office are very flattering.the lounge smaller than anticipated,furniture a bit tired, cushion flat and dirty looking, carpet covered in pet hair. None of the bedroom doors closed properly. Bathroom ok, towels past their best ! The room on the top floor would be good in you had kids, furniture very basic, games such as PlayStation, though just a maze of wires, TV very old fashioned bulky thing.Kitchen only had 3 very uncomfortable chairs, 4 th cheap chair found in hall, but it was a tight squeeze for 4 round the table . Kitchen reasonable well equipped , though no measuring jug and more importantly no oven glove!
All in all, this property certainly doesn't fit the 5* description given , one would expect a degree of luxury and that was certainly lacking. It could be so much better with a bit of effort and investment and thought put into cleanliness soft furnishing etc.
Asking guests to mop floors and Hoover before leaving a 'holiday cottage 'doesn't
quite fit the bill. It's a Holiday Cottage.
The location to the town centre was excellent. However parking at the property is very tight and a bit of an issue if you have more than one car. We were two couple and had 2 cars and one car had to park some distance from the property in paying car parks ( though on saying that one of the owners was away and Joe tried to oblige us as much as possible with parking ). The property is on a main road & very busy junction so accessing the driveway can be difficult.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris A
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Characterful cottaqe in a quirky town”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are always on the lookout for somewhere different and The Stamp Office stood out as having a character in keeping with the quirkiness of Hebden Bridge. The cottage has been tastefully restored and though it has high ceilings the modern central heating system ensures that one need never be cold. The kitchen is spacious and well-equipped and having two loos is a bonus.

The weather was not very kind to us when we were there so we spent more time in the cottage than we had intended but we found ourselves perfectly at home there reading or playing Scrabble when sleet, rain, snow and wind made exploring less attractive. And the complimentary lemon drizzle cake certainly helped.

We would happily return, both to Hebden Bridge and to The Stamp Office. And by the way, we can highly recomment Nelson's Wine Bar!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romackie
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The stamp office is a lovely house near the centre of Hebden Bridge with everything we need. Two comfortable bedrooms, nice bathroom with good shower, two lips which always helps and a good sized well stocked kitchen and comfortable sitting room. If you want to escape your sister and brother-in-law watching East Enders, there's even another sitting room right at the top of the house with lovely views where you can go to relax. Hebden Bridge itself is full of interesting independent shops and cafes and there are lots of riverside, woodland or hill walks nearby in beautiful countryside. I thoroughly recommend this place for a great holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D L
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, location and hosts”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Stamp Office is a really, really comfortable and lovely place to stay. We were there for one month with our two kids (5 and 3) and loved it. The house itself was very comfortable with all of the mod-cons, plus of course it has a great history which you feel while there, and the town of Hebden Bridge is just great. The house is very close to the centre of town, only 1-2 minutes to shops, pubs, a cinema, and all of the wonderful things right in the heart of Hebden Bridge. It is also only 3-4 minutes from the station where you can get a train to Manchester or Leeds. There are views from most rooms which are very, very nice. The main sitting room downstairs is just beautiful and a lovely place to relax. One downside is that it is near the intersection of two main roads, which for us with kids of 3 and 5 meant we were a little nervous crossing roads to get into town. But, you realise you need to be careful and you are, and this potential downside is offset by the fact that you are so close to town and the train (and also bus stops to other places nearby like Haworth and Halifax). Without kids, this is no big deal at all, and means you are SO close to the centre of town which is very handy. Also, because the bedrooms are on the first floor, and because of the hills, there is very little noise in the house itself even though there is a bit of traffic on these roads. Our hosts were lovely people, and we had a great time here. Without doubt, it is a great spot to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely sitting room
Liked least: Main roads
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing