We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home in a lovely area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lilly S
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely home in a lovely area”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Really sweet home very user friendly.elizerb is wonderful and fun.the owner is very accommodating.overall great experience. Great beaches.bars.music.San juan del sur is fabulous

Date of stay: March 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A paradisiac week in great place”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had no idea what to expect from Nicaragua...last time we heard about this country, they were fighting each other... Well, it is peaceful, safe, absolutely magnificent and "authentic" I imagine toursim in Europe in the 70's like this. The beaches are the best (Hermosa, Madeiras, Mayagual), the food is fresh, healthy, tasty and cheap, and you won't ruin yourself drinking maragaritas ...
Casa Olimar is as good as it gets... Amazing view, great comfort... Even if it is super warm, there is always a gently breeze that allows you to stay outside on the terrace. The people that you can hire during your stay (Felicita that cooks, and Byron that drives) are the most delightful, helpful and welcoming people. You will ove tour stay there!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: People and view
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The view you've dreamed of.”
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here for 5 nights with my 2 teenage daughters. Wow. We came in at night so we weren't able to see the view but the house itself is something to see. Luxury and nicer than any house we've ever stayed in. Treat yourself to the lounge chair outside at night to take a look at the stars. Wow! How beautiful. Waking up in the morning was....wow. What a view. Words can't explain it. We had Felicity cook for us 2 days and OMG...she is fantastic and very affordable. We had a traditional Nicaraguan breakfast with gallo pinto. Ask her to make so pico de gallo too. Elizar (the caretaker) was incredible also. Very, very helpful. Personable, easy to communicate with and just a general nice guy. He's got a lot of great ideas of things to do while you're there. We had the driver pick us up at the airport as well and YES I'd do that again. It would be difficult to navigate at night and we've driven in other countries before. I'd go back again in a second and will!

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
food4thou...
Niskayuna, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The tranquility of paradise!”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We looked at literally 40 homes online. We finally chose Casa Olimar with no regrets. Norm and the owner was responsive and helpful. Eliezer the caretaker was kind and helpful. San Juan del Sur is hoping but the house is quiet and private. The view is emblazoned in my mind forever. The slow days and breeze at night made this a family trip we will cherish. You do need 4 wheel drive and automatic unless your accustom to standard. Just a perfect location!

Date of stay: January 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert_pi...
Vallda, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MD”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were two families in this great huge villa during christmas week 2015 and we all liked the place very much. The house is located on a mountain with stunning view over the hills and ocean. The area is very calm, no sounds except for the song from birds and crickets. The road to get there is protected with gate and guard 24 hrs. Its walking distance to the centre of San Juan del Sur and beach, although we prefered to go with rental car. Roads are very steep, 4 weel drive is to prefer. On the owners recommendation we hired private cook very cheap, and we had most of our meals on the terrace. We always chose Nica food and really enjoyed. Also Eliezer, the guy taking care of the house and pool, is a lovely and caring person. He is very helpful and has loads of contacts and useful info.
We really recommend Casa Olimar!

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.