We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2017

It was far more than expected. We stayed there for three nights, did some hiking and 4x4. The Reserve is so beautiful, different rock formations, landscape and animals. We stayed in a cave, that was very good, next time we would like to stay in a self catering lodge, just because of space. We like to recommend the resturant, very good service and excellent food.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank walterandrear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Definitely way too expensive for what you get...maybe something different...like sleeping in artificially rock rooms, but again very small...no bath...and hot and humid...so you have too sleep with an aircon on.

The most important advise that I can give guest who like to visit the place to do it through Kagga Kamma themself, as a pensioner I could have gotten 10% pensioner discount , but NOTE you will only get it when you book through them, as soon as you book through another company like booking.com or any other agent you pay much more, I personally do not think that is a 100% right...the price is suppose to stay the same also if booked through agents.
Kagga Kamma would have taken that up with their head office but obviously did not come back to me.
Will not stay there again and will also not promote Kagga Kamma.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Kagga Kamma Team at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Hi "Mrs Katja". We value and take to heart the content of all reviews from our guests. We are disappointed to learn that your experience was not to your satisfaction, but we understand and respect the fact that the experience we offer might not be everyone's cup of tea. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

If you are looking for a peaceful place, that's the place to be.
The Kagga Kamma lays in a vast open space of rock formations far away from the city and it's lights.
We got to overnight in a hut, which was great. The view at sunset, from our little seating area in front of the hut, was just amazing. Our hut itself was big enough, we had plenty of space.
The bed was comfy, had a couch as well. The bathroom was not super big, but for us, big enough. It even had a bathtub.
No TV, but who needs a TV at such a location.
Nice pool with cold water, even it's hot during the day, the water was quite refreshing.
Staff was really nice and helpful!
Loved to have Dinner outside in the Boma by the fire! Service was really good.
We had food included, but even if you don't, no worries, prices are really good, no nasty surprise.
It was full moon, so pretty nice, enjoy sitting outside.
We did some hiking, which you should definitely do. Also our Quad Tour was really exciting.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Kagga Kamma Team at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Hi Tinkerbell111. What a pleasure to read your review, thank you. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that Kagga Kamma has provided our guests with something as valuable and precious as a peaceful place away from it all. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we hope you'll be back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We strongly recommend Kagga Kamma for magnificent sunsets, enjoyable hikes, peaceful surroundings and excellent staff. We spent a full week there and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.A photographer's paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gregorya407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Kagga Kamma Team at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Hi gregorya407. Thank you for a great review. You've touched on many of the things we believe are at the heart of the Kagga Kamma experience and we're delighted the Albrechts had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

What a fabulous time we experienced at Kagga Kamma, peace and tranquilty and more than enough to keep children occupied. Lovely and spacious accommodation with enjoyable braai boma. The service was excellent and most helpful, the family enjoyed the cave painting drive. The swimming pool was most welcome on the very warm afternoon. Due to the full moon the starry skies were not completely visible, maybe next time.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bryanbP8178QA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Hi BryanbP8178QA. Thank you for the fantastic review and 5/5 rating. We are delighted that you had a fabulous stay with us. The rock art tour is definitely amazing and the swimming pool is all you need on a warm day. There's always next time ;) We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range: R3 501 - R4 489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing