We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2017

My wife and I camped at Swartrug Camp site for 2 nights and concluded our stay with a night in the Honeymoon Cave. Everything offered to us was just excellent. The bottle of champagne that was brought to our cave was great and the dinner in the open with campfire and parafine lamps was something special. Hiking routes were also excellent and staff service friendly and professional. Thank you Kagga Kamma!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 518nicov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for an awesome 5 star rating 518nicov. We are delighted that you had an excellent camping experience and enjoyed your night in the Honeymoon Cave too. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017

We were well received and the staff were friendly. The facilities were above expectation with a range of activities on offer. The exclusion of television in the chalets is good and encouranges quality family time with the children. We saw many animal tracks and the feeling of being on a nature reserve was real and exciting.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 622bsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Kagga Kamma and the opportunity to spend quality time with your family. This is the exact reason we don’t have TV and Wi-Fi in the chalets! We hope to welcome you back for some valuable family time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I have always wanted to visit Kagga Kamma and see what the product has to offer. South Africa has so many untouched areas and the general Cederberg area is one of them. I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the Reserve / Resort and everything it has to offer! We drove to Kagga Kamma from Cape Town and the drive took about 3 hours and 45 minutes including some stops en-route. It was an easy drive and anyone can do it. The last few kilometers was on a gravel road, but very easy to drive. The resort has a wide variety of accommodation options available that will cater for any need. These include Cave and Hut Suites, Self-catering units, camping and then their very unique sleep out suites which we also experienced. Activities include Nature Drives, Sundowner Trips, Rock Art Tours, Star Gazing, Quad-bike excursions, Hiking and many more. This is truly a nature lovers paradise! Meals and service at Kagga Kamma was exceptionally good! This is a truly unique product and experience.

Room Tip: The Cave Suites are unique and you have to do the Star Suite Experience on one of your nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Renier! Thank you very much for the lovely 5/5 rating and awesome review. We hope to welcome you back to our nature lovers’ paradise soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Very good overall, I will recommend Kagga Kamma anytime to all my friends,except for lst visit in March 2017 with the dirty curtains in chalet, shower door was faulty, walls in passage and underneath windowsills need cleaning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 919liezela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for the 4/5 rating and recommendation 919liezela. We appreciate your valuable feedback and comments as it helps us identify the areas where we can improve on the guest experience. The resort management and housekeeping staff have been made aware of your comments. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience and hope to welcome you back for a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This is our second visit to Kagga Kamma, and it remains for us a place to spend time with the family away from televisions and cell phone reception!
The 3-bedroom chalets (accommodate 6 adults) is spacious, clean and comfortable. During the hot midday we spend time indoors around the big dining room table playing board games or relaxed at the pool. Early morning is reserved for exploring the hiking trails or mountain biking in the reserve. We also explore the reserve by driving some of the 4X4 routes and do some animal viewing. A knight drive and at least one evening of stargazing with a resident expert is a must.
We also enjoyed an excellent dinner under the starlit night skies in die outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations. The service is ok but the staff in the main are very friendly.

Room Tip: Self-catering chalets (3 bedrooms) close to the pool is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GerritPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for the 4/5 rating and lovely account of your 2nd visit to Kagga Kamma Gerrit! Nothing beats a peaceful retreat with family in such a great place. May your 3rd visit be an even greater experience than this one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range: R3 484 - R4 378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing