We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$296
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$104
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$136
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
220
144
63
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
144
63
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingsget awayhiking trailscave roomself cateringlong driveunique experiencegame reservenature reservequad bikingsunset driveour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We were well received and the staff were friendly. The facilities were above expectation with a range of activities on offer. The exclusion of television in the chalets is good and encouranges quality family time with the children. We saw many animal tracks and the feeling of being on a nature reserve was real and exciting.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 622bsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Kagga Kamma and the opportunity to spend quality time with your family. This is the exact reason we don’t have TV and Wi-Fi in the chalets! We hope to welcome you back for some valuable family time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I have always wanted to visit Kagga Kamma and see what the product has to offer. South Africa has so many untouched areas and the general Cederberg area is one of them. I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the Reserve / Resort and everything it has to offer! We drove to Kagga Kamma from Cape Town and the drive took about 3 hours and 45 minutes including some stops en-route. It was an easy drive and anyone can do it. The last few kilometers was on a gravel road, but very easy to drive. The resort has a wide variety of accommodation options available that will cater for any need. These include Cave and Hut Suites, Self-catering units, camping and then their very unique sleep out suites which we also experienced. Activities include Nature Drives, Sundowner Trips, Rock Art Tours, Star Gazing, Quad-bike excursions, Hiking and many more. This is truly a nature lovers paradise! Meals and service at Kagga Kamma was exceptionally good! This is a truly unique product and experience.

Room Tip: The Cave Suites are unique and you have to do the Star Suite Experience on one of your nights.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Renier! Thank you very much for the lovely 5/5 rating and awesome review. We hope to welcome you back to our nature lovers’ paradise soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Very good overall, I will recommend Kagga Kamma anytime to all my friends,except for lst visit in March 2017 with the dirty curtains in chalet, shower door was faulty, walls in passage and underneath windowsills need cleaning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 919liezela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for the 4/5 rating and recommendation 919liezela. We appreciate your valuable feedback and comments as it helps us identify the areas where we can improve on the guest experience. The resort management and housekeeping staff have been made aware of your comments. We are pleased that you had a pleasant experience and hope to welcome you back for a return visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This is our second visit to Kagga Kamma, and it remains for us a place to spend time with the family away from televisions and cell phone reception!
The 3-bedroom chalets (accommodate 6 adults) is spacious, clean and comfortable. During the hot midday we spend time indoors around the big dining room table playing board games or relaxed at the pool. Early morning is reserved for exploring the hiking trails or mountain biking in the reserve. We also explore the reserve by driving some of the 4X4 routes and do some animal viewing. A knight drive and at least one evening of stargazing with a resident expert is a must.
We also enjoyed an excellent dinner under the starlit night skies in die outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations. The service is ok but the staff in the main are very friendly.

Room Tip: Self-catering chalets (3 bedrooms) close to the pool is the best!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GerritPretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for the 4/5 rating and lovely account of your 2nd visit to Kagga Kamma Gerrit! Nothing beats a peaceful retreat with family in such a great place. May your 3rd visit be an even greater experience than this one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Out of this world experience. The drive to the Reserve is in its own part of this unique experience. When you get to the reserve you are welcomed by very friendly staff. We stayed in one of the caves and wow. Complete first for us. 5 star luxury in a cave. The restaurant is definitely 5 star standard and the waitresses makes the food taste even better with their professional and friendly service.
Sam the Game Ranger is very informative and knows her story. We also tried the Star suite and will forever treasure the experience. Was amazing. Kagga Kamma is a must if you ever visit South Africa or a local looking for something unique to do.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alanjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for a sterling review Alanjustin! We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments inspire and renew our passion in offering a truly WOW and unique experience for everyone visiting Kagga Kamma. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews