We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Out of this world experience. The drive to the Reserve is in its own part of this unique experience. When you get to the reserve you are welcomed by very friendly staff. We stayed in one of the caves and wow. Complete first for us. 5 star luxury in a cave. The restaurant is definitely 5 star standard and the waitresses makes the food taste even better with their professional and friendly service.
Sam the Game Ranger is very informative and knows her story. We also tried the Star suite and will forever treasure the experience. Was amazing. Kagga Kamma is a must if you ever visit South Africa or a local looking for something unique to do.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alanjustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for a sterling review Alanjustin! We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments inspire and renew our passion in offering a truly WOW and unique experience for everyone visiting Kagga Kamma. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

lovely weekend ...relaxing and peaceful...the chalets were lovely,except we found the kitchen not very clean ...we went on the blue trail on Saturday morning but we set off a bit late 11.45 very hot day , therefore struggled a bit but it was beautiful to see all the rocks formations.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Isabel J. Thank you for the awesome 5 star rating! We appreciate the feedback and will ensure that management is aware of your comments. We hope to welcome you back so you can experience more of what Kagga Kamma has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Nice route to the 'resort'; however, take a SUV! Staff not very friendly: seems like they are tired with guests. Rooms clean, not very spacious. Food moderate. Pool oke. The experience is nice, but at a very high cost. At departure a guest-book is dropped in your lap: I guess the question was to write something positive in it. I wrote it was perfect: I lied. Will not return. The surroundings are very beautifull, but service and quality of the resort not more than average.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jduyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi jduyndam. Thank you for the review. We are disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Kagga Kamma. We appreciate all feedback and would have welcomed the opportunity to address any concerns you had while you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I would recommend the resort. Accommodation in the caves was great, there's plenty to do and the setting is spectacular. Food was good and service excellent. The only criticism I have is the poor wifi setup and the fragile power supply.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Nick F. Thank you for the lovely review and 4 * rating! Kagga Kamma is known for its peaceful atmosphere, spectacular scenery and absolute tranquillity. Because of our passion for sustainable tourism, we’ve equipped the reserve with a state of the art Solar Photovoltaic hybrid energy system and unanimously decided to only have wifi at our reception area. We hope you return for another digital detox soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Not really sure what to make of all the negative reviews on here?

Me and my wife were on our honeymoon in South Africa and she surprised me with a stay at Kagga Kamma in one of the caves.

Firstly, yes there is a long dirt road, but there are some amazing views along the way so for me it definitely wasn't a detractor. Work of advise is not to do that road after dark!

The reserve itself is just amazing. Being situated remotely in the mountains the first thing that hit us was how peaceful and quiet it is. Our cave was awesome. It had a bath tub inside, looking out to the mountains and looked amazing with real rock inside and boulders used as features. Yes some parts are man made, but it obviously needs to be.

We had a great ranger named Marius looking after us and made us feel very welcome. We did quad biking around the reserve, followed by the sundowner tour which was probably held the best views/sunset of our entire holiday. We had a lovely meal down at the fire pit and then finished of with he star gazing tour which is easily one of the greatest things I've seen.

The following day we finished with the rock art tour, which is the main attraction of kagga kamma, in which a very knowledgeable ranger guides you through the 4 past generations of tribes who have lived in an among the mountains and have decorated many of the large rock formations - it is a must

All in all, one of the best places I have been too. If you come to immerse yourself in the history of Kagga Kamma and soak up what they have to offer instead of being worried about there wifi connectivity then you will have a great time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AJGilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi AJGilbs. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for the fantastic 5* rating! It is comments and feedback such as yours that makes us strive for continuous service excellence. We hope to welcome you back soon for a repeat experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range: R3 497 - R4 452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing