We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$335
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$97
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$120
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$136
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
220
144
63
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
144
63
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingsget awayhiking trailscave roomself cateringlong driveunique experiencegame reservenature reservequad bikingsunset driveour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Nice route to the 'resort'; however, take a SUV! Staff not very friendly: seems like they are tired with guests. Rooms clean, not very spacious. Food moderate. Pool oke. The experience is nice, but at a very high cost. At departure a guest-book is dropped in your lap: I guess the question was to write something positive in it. I wrote it was perfect: I lied. Will not return. The surroundings are very beautifull, but service and quality of the resort not more than average.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jduyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi jduyndam. Thank you for the review. We are disappointed to read that you did not have an enjoyable experience at Kagga Kamma. We appreciate all feedback and would have welcomed the opportunity to address any concerns you had while you stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I would recommend the resort. Accommodation in the caves was great, there's plenty to do and the setting is spectacular. Food was good and service excellent. The only criticism I have is the poor wifi setup and the fragile power supply.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Nick F. Thank you for the lovely review and 4 * rating! Kagga Kamma is known for its peaceful atmosphere, spectacular scenery and absolute tranquillity. Because of our passion for sustainable tourism, we’ve equipped the reserve with a state of the art Solar Photovoltaic hybrid energy system and unanimously decided to only have wifi at our reception area. We hope you return for another digital detox soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Not really sure what to make of all the negative reviews on here?

Me and my wife were on our honeymoon in South Africa and she surprised me with a stay at Kagga Kamma in one of the caves.

Firstly, yes there is a long dirt road, but there are some amazing views along the way so for me it definitely wasn't a detractor. Work of advise is not to do that road after dark!

The reserve itself is just amazing. Being situated remotely in the mountains the first thing that hit us was how peaceful and quiet it is. Our cave was awesome. It had a bath tub inside, looking out to the mountains and looked amazing with real rock inside and boulders used as features. Yes some parts are man made, but it obviously needs to be.

We had a great ranger named Marius looking after us and made us feel very welcome. We did quad biking around the reserve, followed by the sundowner tour which was probably held the best views/sunset of our entire holiday. We had a lovely meal down at the fire pit and then finished of with he star gazing tour which is easily one of the greatest things I've seen.

The following day we finished with the rock art tour, which is the main attraction of kagga kamma, in which a very knowledgeable ranger guides you through the 4 past generations of tribes who have lived in an among the mountains and have decorated many of the large rock formations - it is a must

All in all, one of the best places I have been too. If you come to immerse yourself in the history of Kagga Kamma and soak up what they have to offer instead of being worried about there wifi connectivity then you will have a great time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AJGilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi AJGilbs. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review. Thank you for the fantastic 5* rating! It is comments and feedback such as yours that makes us strive for continuous service excellence. We hope to welcome you back soon for a repeat experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Early Feb17 we stayed in a self catering timeshare chalet & invited friends from CT to join us for a few days. The resort suffered damage to their water storage dam which left resident without water. Management were superb, with steady progress reports, bottled water supplies for both drinking & cleaning. They went out of their way to "make amends". We were treated to a complimentary meal in the stunning boma & a glorious sundowner drive for four persons. Staff throughout the resort were friendly, helpful & well trained. The mostly foreign tourists is testament to a very successful business. Well done! We loved our stay in such amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reinette2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi reinette2017. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Kagga Kamma. Thank you for the lovely compliments and 5* rating. We’ve passed on your compliments to Tania and her team and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you have been to another Game Reserves and seen the big five a couple of times already this might be something for you.
Here there are not so many different animals,
Mostly deer, antelopes and a couple of jackals.
But that's not what it is all about here.
This is the scenery, the sunsets, the wilderness, the great views and the silence.
(A VERY special thanks to Morris for driving us to places and explaining things in a very different and appreciated manner).
The food is average (avoid chips, absolutely horrible!!!).
Service is average but everyone is so friendly that you really do not care about it.
They try hard and do their best.
We had a hut and it was ok but in need of some refurbishment.
One thing that i really dislike about this place is that the variety and quality of the food got much better when some investors/management where visiting.
This is bad! VERY bad!
It tells me that management/investors are more important than the guests..
It is also an insult to Morris, the Stargazing gentleman and the service personal that works very hard...

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bootsyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Bootsyfan. Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service we provide our guests. That being said, we are dissapointed that you found the food quality lacking as we strive to serve food that is of excellent quality. We would like to assure you that all our guests, including visiting management, receive the same quality of service and that we always strive for customer satisfaction. We’ve passed your concerns and compliments to Tania and her team in the hope of surpassing your expectations next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews