We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Brixton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Not really sure what to make of all the negative reviews on here?

Me and my wife were on our honeymoon in South Africa and she surprised me with a stay at Kagga Kamma in one of the caves.

Firstly, yes there is a long dirt road, but there are some amazing views along the way so for me it definitely wasn't a detractor. Work of advise is not to do that road after dark!

The reserve itself is just amazing. Being situated remotely in the mountains the first thing that hit us was how peaceful and quiet it is. Our cave was awesome. It had a bath tub inside, looking out to the mountains and looked amazing with real rock inside and boulders used as features. Yes some parts are man made, but it obviously needs to be.

We had a great ranger named Marius looking after us and made us feel very welcome. We did quad biking around the reserve, followed by the sundowner tour which was probably held the best views/sunset of our entire holiday. We had a lovely meal down at the fire pit and then finished of with he star gazing tour which is easily one of the greatest things I've seen.

The following day we finished with the rock art tour, which is the main attraction of kagga kamma, in which a very knowledgeable ranger guides you through the 4 past generations of tribes who have lived in an among the mountains and have decorated many of the large rock formations - it is a must

All in all, one of the best places I have been too. If you come to immerse yourself in the history of Kagga Kamma and soak up what they have to offer instead of being worried about there wifi connectivity then you will have a great time.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AJGilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    110
    58
    21
    19
See reviews for
60
199
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Early Feb17 we stayed in a self catering timeshare chalet & invited friends from CT to join us for a few days. The resort suffered damage to their water storage dam which left resident without water. Management were superb, with steady progress reports, bottled water supplies for both drinking & cleaning. They went out of their way to "make amends". We were treated to a complimentary meal in the stunning boma & a glorious sundowner drive for four persons. Staff throughout the resort were friendly, helpful & well trained. The mostly foreign tourists is testament to a very successful business. Well done! We loved our stay in such amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinette2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjockhult
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you have been to another Game Reserves and seen the big five a couple of times already this might be something for you.
Here there are not so many different animals,
Mostly deer, antelopes and a couple of jackals.
But that's not what it is all about here.
This is the scenery, the sunsets, the wilderness, the great views and the silence.
(A VERY special thanks to Morris for driving us to places and explaining things in a very different and appreciated manner).
The food is average (avoid chips, absolutely horrible!!!).
Service is average but everyone is so friendly that you really do not care about it.
They try hard and do their best.
We had a hut and it was ok but in need of some refurbishment.
One thing that i really dislike about this place is that the variety and quality of the food got much better when some investors/management where visiting.
This is bad! VERY bad!
It tells me that management/investors are more important than the guests..
It is also an insult to Morris, the Stargazing gentleman and the service personal that works very hard...

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootsyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We arrived at the reserve at 8.15 pm after a 4 hour drive from Capetown. The road is good, and even the last section wasn't too bad. And the sunset!!!!
This is an extraordinary place. The name means " place of rocks", apparently, and it is. There is a good pool ( refreshingly cold) where you can see San paintings and talk to the visiting hyrax. The chalets are located with privacy in mind, very roomy , with excellent kitchen facilities. The bathrooms were small. We saw some game, and an African wildcat through our window. The resort offers night drives, talks and outdoor eating at the restaurant. All under that amazing star-filled sky ( we Aussies could easily find our Southern Cross). Hint: Make sure you arrive before the park gates close .

Room Tip: I am told the "cave rooms" are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrawatson333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We went to Kagga Kamma on a family weekend with holiday club points. Stayed in a Chalet for 3 nights. The place is really far from town and the road is not ideal for a normal car. Our chalet was nice and clean, good location. No tv, no cellphone reception which was great. We did a 4km hike - nice and easy. Saw Rock art at the swimming pool. 2 days is more than enough as there is not much to do, but a nice break away from the busy city. The resort is very expensive and as locals we chilled at the chalet and did the hiking routes. Beautiful sunsets. Camp site doesn't look that nice. Wouldn't recommend. Glad we could experience Kagga Kamma but will not recommend for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _taliedutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
228 reviews
75.8 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#28 of 125 in Cape Town Central
298 reviews
0.0 km away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Property: Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R2 026 - R4 053
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing