We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
220
144
63
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
144
63
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingsget awayhiking trailscave roomself cateringlong driveunique experiencegame reservenature reservequad bikingsunset driveour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Early Feb17 we stayed in a self catering timeshare chalet & invited friends from CT to join us for a few days. The resort suffered damage to their water storage dam which left resident without water. Management were superb, with steady progress reports, bottled water supplies for both drinking & cleaning. They went out of their way to "make amends". We were treated to a complimentary meal in the stunning boma & a glorious sundowner drive for four persons. Staff throughout the resort were friendly, helpful & well trained. The mostly foreign tourists is testament to a very successful business. Well done! We loved our stay in such amazing surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank reinette2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi reinette2017. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Kagga Kamma. Thank you for the lovely compliments and 5* rating. We’ve passed on your compliments to Tania and her team and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

If you have been to another Game Reserves and seen the big five a couple of times already this might be something for you.
Here there are not so many different animals,
Mostly deer, antelopes and a couple of jackals.
But that's not what it is all about here.
This is the scenery, the sunsets, the wilderness, the great views and the silence.
(A VERY special thanks to Morris for driving us to places and explaining things in a very different and appreciated manner).
The food is average (avoid chips, absolutely horrible!!!).
Service is average but everyone is so friendly that you really do not care about it.
They try hard and do their best.
We had a hut and it was ok but in need of some refurbishment.
One thing that i really dislike about this place is that the variety and quality of the food got much better when some investors/management where visiting.
This is bad! VERY bad!
It tells me that management/investors are more important than the guests..
It is also an insult to Morris, the Stargazing gentleman and the service personal that works very hard...

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bootsyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Bootsyfan. Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service we provide our guests. That being said, we are dissapointed that you found the food quality lacking as we strive to serve food that is of excellent quality. We would like to assure you that all our guests, including visiting management, receive the same quality of service and that we always strive for customer satisfaction. We’ve passed your concerns and compliments to Tania and her team in the hope of surpassing your expectations next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We arrived at the reserve at 8.15 pm after a 4 hour drive from Capetown. The road is good, and even the last section wasn't too bad. And the sunset!!!!
This is an extraordinary place. The name means " place of rocks", apparently, and it is. There is a good pool ( refreshingly cold) where you can see San paintings and talk to the visiting hyrax. The chalets are located with privacy in mind, very roomy , with excellent kitchen facilities. The bathrooms were small. We saw some game, and an African wildcat through our window. The resort offers night drives, talks and outdoor eating at the restaurant. All under that amazing star-filled sky ( we Aussies could easily find our Southern Cross). Hint: Make sure you arrive before the park gates close .

Room Tip: I am told the "cave rooms" are very small.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrawatson333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi sandrawatson333. Thank you for an awesome 5* rating. We thoroughly enjoyed reading your review and are in 100% agreement that Kagga Kamma is an extraordinary place. We hope to welcome you back for a repeat visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We went to Kagga Kamma on a family weekend with holiday club points. Stayed in a Chalet for 3 nights. The place is really far from town and the road is not ideal for a normal car. Our chalet was nice and clean, good location. No tv, no cellphone reception which was great. We did a 4km hike - nice and easy. Saw Rock art at the swimming pool. 2 days is more than enough as there is not much to do, but a nice break away from the busy city. The resort is very expensive and as locals we chilled at the chalet and did the hiking routes. Beautiful sunsets. Camp site doesn't look that nice. Wouldn't recommend. Glad we could experience Kagga Kamma but will not recommend for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _taliedutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi taliedutoit. Thank you for the review. Kagga Kamma is the perfect place to have a digital detox-getaway. Our pricing is comparable to similar reserves in the Cederberg and we feel we provide good value to our guests who enjoy an experience like no other, unique accommodation and great facilities and excursions; in addition to the spectacular scenery and absolute tranquillity our reserve has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

You do not often get a place like Kagga Kamma Lodge in the Cederberg. Although it is a bit far to travel on the gravel road, we did it with our Corsa bakkie several times, with no hassle. We notice that a tractor with scraper keep the road in good condition most of the time.

2016 Christmas day was a very special they for us because my son that travels a lot abroad and was working for several years in the USA, France etc came and visit us and took us for the lunch at the Lodge. This time we travel in style with his car. Lol.

What an awesome reception greet us! With nicely decorated ice cold glasses filled with a cocktail fit for a king we was led out to the back lawn under umbrellas till they call us in for the buffet. All the staff was friendly as always and very help full. All the tables were decorated according to the occasion, even with the candles. Pretty pretty awesome.

The display off the food, although small, was very elegant and the hunger took over. The starters - all six of them, was awesome, and cater for every taste. You did not wait for anything and as soon as the first starter plate got their way to the kitchen, the main course appear. And what a variety! 4 stunning meat, 7 mouth watering veggie dishes, all made with extra flair. While we were dining the waitresses were very subtle around you to take care of your needs, even management came by several times to make sure we are okay and if we need anything else. The 3 desserts was out of the world, specialy the creamy cheesecake with berries.

As we often visit Kagga Kamma we see the huge effort these people made to improve from the rest rooms right through to the kitchen and dining room.

When visiting during the winter there is always a welcoming fire in the bar-lounge that makes you feel at home. We experience the whole transformation that the lodge went through the past year or so. From the buildings inside and out, to the menu. All for the benefit to the guest.

This is highly recommended if you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city. Nature is on your doorstep and you feel very much part of it. Luxury chalets or camping, the choice is yours. But be sure, it is off the best. From arrival to departing you are taking care of by the friendly staff

Kagga Kamma, this family will come back time after time!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank leilaniedejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi leilaniedejager. Thank you for an amazing review and tips! We are ecstatic to hear that you had such a great time at Kagga Kamma and have passed on your compliments to Tania and her team. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews