We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the reserve at 8.15 pm after a 4 hour drive from Capetown. The road is good, and even the last section wasn't too bad. And the sunset!!!!
This is an extraordinary place. The name means " place of rocks", apparently, and it is. There is a good pool ( refreshingly cold) where you can see San paintings and talk to the visiting hyrax. The chalets are located with privacy in mind, very roomy , with excellent kitchen facilities. The bathrooms were small. We saw some game, and an African wildcat through our window. The resort offers night drives, talks and outdoor eating at the restaurant. All under that amazing star-filled sky ( we Aussies could easily find our Southern Cross). Hint: Make sure you arrive before the park gates close .

Room Tip: I am told the "cave rooms" are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrawatson333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    105
    57
    21
    19
See reviews for
57
195
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

We went to Kagga Kamma on a family weekend with holiday club points. Stayed in a Chalet for 3 nights. The place is really far from town and the road is not ideal for a normal car. Our chalet was nice and clean, good location. No tv, no cellphone reception which was great. We did a 4km hike - nice and easy. Saw Rock art at the swimming pool. 2 days is more than enough as there is not much to do, but a nice break away from the busy city. The resort is very expensive and as locals we chilled at the chalet and did the hiking routes. Beautiful sunsets. Camp site doesn't look that nice. Wouldn't recommend. Glad we could experience Kagga Kamma but will not recommend for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _taliedutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017

You do not often get a place like Kagga Kamma Lodge in the Cederberg. Although it is a bit far to travel on the gravel road, we did it with our Corsa bakkie several times, with no hassle. We notice that a tractor with scraper keep the road in good condition most of the time.

2016 Christmas day was a very special they for us because my son that travels a lot abroad and was working for several years in the USA, France etc came and visit us and took us for the lunch at the Lodge. This time we travel in style with his car. Lol.

What an awesome reception greet us! With nicely decorated ice cold glasses filled with a cocktail fit for a king we was led out to the back lawn under umbrellas till they call us in for the buffet. All the staff was friendly as always and very help full. All the tables were decorated according to the occasion, even with the candles. Pretty pretty awesome.

The display off the food, although small, was very elegant and the hunger took over. The starters - all six of them, was awesome, and cater for every taste. You did not wait for anything and as soon as the first starter plate got their way to the kitchen, the main course appear. And what a variety! 4 stunning meat, 7 mouth watering veggie dishes, all made with extra flair. While we were dining the waitresses were very subtle around you to take care of your needs, even management came by several times to make sure we are okay and if we need anything else. The 3 desserts was out of the world, specialy the creamy cheesecake with berries.

As we often visit Kagga Kamma we see the huge effort these people made to improve from the rest rooms right through to the kitchen and dining room.

When visiting during the winter there is always a welcoming fire in the bar-lounge that makes you feel at home. We experience the whole transformation that the lodge went through the past year or so. From the buildings inside and out, to the menu. All for the benefit to the guest.

This is highly recommended if you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city. Nature is on your doorstep and you feel very much part of it. Luxury chalets or camping, the choice is yours. But be sure, it is off the best. From arrival to departing you are taking care of by the friendly staff

Kagga Kamma, this family will come back time after time!

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank leilaniedejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
179 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Be prepared for some distance of dirt road driving to get to Kagga Kamma, some of which can be quite rough. We stayed in the chalets, they are grouped together a little away from the rest of the resort together with the camping ground and swimming pool. They are all very well spaced so that you feel like you are there all alone. There is no cell phone signal on the reserve but wifi data is available at a cost at the bar. Not sure how many animals are on the reserve as I did 80 km of mountain biking (there is plenty of soft sand to negotiate!) at sunrise and only came across a handful of buck and a wildebeest. Our friends managed to puncture a tyre and the reserve staff were only too willing to assist, the sand makes it difficult to jack up a vehicle. The night sky is breathtaking as is the silence. Unfortunately there was a water pipe burst that left us without water for quite awhile which was not the best experience but I guess these things happen. The chalets seem to be very well priced (and well equipped) compared to the other options.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent four nights at Kagga Kamma, which is probably as much as you would want to be there. We stayed first in one of the 'caves' and then moved to a thatched hut for the last two nights. We thought the hut was a lot nicer - mainly because it was bigger - although the cave was OK.
The excursion we went on was excellent with a first rate commentary by Sam, the guide. The Sen and Kai rock paintings are very impressive even though they are simple and not big. Best of all was the extraordinary austere beauty of the countryside.
Food was good and not expensive. And the staff were all friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Go for the huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danbybloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 km away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Property: Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R2 055 - R4 211
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing