We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$309
US$134
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Penthouse Collection(Cape Town Central)
US$240
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fountains Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$135
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
210
143
62
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
143
62
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagame drivesgravel roadrock formationscape townget awaybushman paintingscave roomhiking trailsself cateringlong driveunique experiencegame reservequad bikingnature reservesunset driveour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We went to Kagga Kamma on a family weekend with holiday club points. Stayed in a Chalet for 3 nights. The place is really far from town and the road is not ideal for a normal car. Our chalet was nice and clean, good location. No tv, no cellphone reception which was great. We did a 4km hike - nice and easy. Saw Rock art at the swimming pool. 2 days is more than enough as there is not much to do, but a nice break away from the busy city. The resort is very expensive and as locals we chilled at the chalet and did the hiking routes. Beautiful sunsets. Camp site doesn't look that nice. Wouldn't recommend. Glad we could experience Kagga Kamma but will not recommend for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _taliedutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi taliedutoit. Thank you for the review. Kagga Kamma is the perfect place to have a digital detox-getaway. Our pricing is comparable to similar reserves in the Cederberg and we feel we provide good value to our guests who enjoy an experience like no other, unique accommodation and great facilities and excursions; in addition to the spectacular scenery and absolute tranquillity our reserve has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

You do not often get a place like Kagga Kamma Lodge in the Cederberg. Although it is a bit far to travel on the gravel road, we did it with our Corsa bakkie several times, with no hassle. We notice that a tractor with scraper keep the road in good condition most of the time.

2016 Christmas day was a very special they for us because my son that travels a lot abroad and was working for several years in the USA, France etc came and visit us and took us for the lunch at the Lodge. This time we travel in style with his car. Lol.

What an awesome reception greet us! With nicely decorated ice cold glasses filled with a cocktail fit for a king we was led out to the back lawn under umbrellas till they call us in for the buffet. All the staff was friendly as always and very help full. All the tables were decorated according to the occasion, even with the candles. Pretty pretty awesome.

The display off the food, although small, was very elegant and the hunger took over. The starters - all six of them, was awesome, and cater for every taste. You did not wait for anything and as soon as the first starter plate got their way to the kitchen, the main course appear. And what a variety! 4 stunning meat, 7 mouth watering veggie dishes, all made with extra flair. While we were dining the waitresses were very subtle around you to take care of your needs, even management came by several times to make sure we are okay and if we need anything else. The 3 desserts was out of the world, specialy the creamy cheesecake with berries.

As we often visit Kagga Kamma we see the huge effort these people made to improve from the rest rooms right through to the kitchen and dining room.

When visiting during the winter there is always a welcoming fire in the bar-lounge that makes you feel at home. We experience the whole transformation that the lodge went through the past year or so. From the buildings inside and out, to the menu. All for the benefit to the guest.

This is highly recommended if you want to get away from the hussle and bussle of the city. Nature is on your doorstep and you feel very much part of it. Luxury chalets or camping, the choice is yours. But be sure, it is off the best. From arrival to departing you are taking care of by the friendly staff

Kagga Kamma, this family will come back time after time!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank leilaniedejager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi leilaniedejager. Thank you for an amazing review and tips! We are ecstatic to hear that you had such a great time at Kagga Kamma and have passed on your compliments to Tania and her team. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Be prepared for some distance of dirt road driving to get to Kagga Kamma, some of which can be quite rough. We stayed in the chalets, they are grouped together a little away from the rest of the resort together with the camping ground and swimming pool. They are all very well spaced so that you feel like you are there all alone. There is no cell phone signal on the reserve but wifi data is available at a cost at the bar. Not sure how many animals are on the reserve as I did 80 km of mountain biking (there is plenty of soft sand to negotiate!) at sunrise and only came across a handful of buck and a wildebeest. Our friends managed to puncture a tyre and the reserve staff were only too willing to assist, the sand makes it difficult to jack up a vehicle. The night sky is breathtaking as is the silence. Unfortunately there was a water pipe burst that left us without water for quite awhile which was not the best experience but I guess these things happen. The chalets seem to be very well priced (and well equipped) compared to the other options.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Rob G. Thank you for the 4 stars! We are are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Well done on a most impressive 80km mountain bike trip. The reserve spans across 15 000ha and you may spot resident animal species such as antelope and ostrich. You might also be spoilt and spot the elusive Lynx and the spectacular, but very rarely seen, Cape Mountain Leopard on one of the nature drives. We hope to welcome you back for a repeat performance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent four nights at Kagga Kamma, which is probably as much as you would want to be there. We stayed first in one of the 'caves' and then moved to a thatched hut for the last two nights. We thought the hut was a lot nicer - mainly because it was bigger - although the cave was OK.
The excursion we went on was excellent with a first rate commentary by Sam, the guide. The Sen and Kai rock paintings are very impressive even though they are simple and not big. Best of all was the extraordinary austere beauty of the countryside.
Food was good and not expensive. And the staff were all friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Go for the huts
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danbybloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi danbybloch. Thank you for the awesome 5/5 rating and great review! We have passed on your compliments to Sam and the team. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

The location of Kagga Kamma is really nice, but it's very hard to find due to bad directions. The lodge is also really expensive and you don't get much for the price: the gamedrives are very poor. The food is nice but also not stunning. If you drive a bit furter you can see much more animals and can have a spectaculair gamedrive for less money. If you want to enjoy a nice view, it's a good place. But pricewise I really won't recommend it!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rhodé G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Rhodé G. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our location and facilities. However, we are happy you enjoyed the views Kagga Kamma offered. Kagga Kamma is renowned for its scenic beauty and dramatic rock formations typical of the Cederberg region. With regards to the poor game drive you experienced, in an ideal game drive, you would expect to see a good mix of animals out and about, but sometimes the drives are very quiet. A lot of elements like weather conditions, etc. can be the cause of this and sometimes you are just not lucky that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews