We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$274
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Penthouse Collection(Cape Town Central)
US$237
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Strand Tower Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$126
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Daddy Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Southern Sun Cape Sun(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SunSquare Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Cape Town City Bowl(Cape Town Central)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel on St Georges(Cape Town Central)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
210
143
62
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
143
62
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagame drivesgravel roadrock formationscape townget awaybushman paintingscave roomhiking trailsself cateringlong driveunique experiencegame reservequad bikingnature reservesunset driveour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

The location of Kagga Kamma is really nice, but it's very hard to find due to bad directions. The lodge is also really expensive and you don't get much for the price: the gamedrives are very poor. The food is nice but also not stunning. If you drive a bit furter you can see much more animals and can have a spectaculair gamedrive for less money. If you want to enjoy a nice view, it's a good place. But pricewise I really won't recommend it!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rhodé G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Rhodé G. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our location and facilities. However, we are happy you enjoyed the views Kagga Kamma offered. Kagga Kamma is renowned for its scenic beauty and dramatic rock formations typical of the Cederberg region. With regards to the poor game drive you experienced, in an ideal game drive, you would expect to see a good mix of animals out and about, but sometimes the drives are very quiet. A lot of elements like weather conditions, etc. can be the cause of this and sometimes you are just not lucky that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The reserve is simply stunning. It offers the best of the Cederberg, coupled with professional ranger guides and tours. Try the rock-art!
We have been staying on the camping site, which is incredibly far from the reception and restaurant (you have to go by car, while the other type of accommodation seem a bit packed), and beware, it has no power supply. At the reception, with found 3 people, none of them smiling, a bit polite.
The restaurant is in a very nice location, but is pretentious; the food was OK, but no more than this. Quick tip for the management: try a simpler menu (3-4 choices per course), with well-proven recipes, and maybe the food would come out earlier than the one and a half hour it took for us!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filippo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Hi Filippo F. Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service we provide our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Very interesting experience , we booked the outcrop room which is basically your bed under the stars in the reserve(desert)
There are no dangerous animals here so one should not be afraid. You have a shower and toiled and also you can alone barbeque your dinner. There is no mobile phone signal or internet. They drive you there by quads and leave the quads with you. So what you can do is to drive back to the main resort if you panic somehow in the night. The ride is about 15 min by quad but pretty simple , little chance to get lost. We made it till morning and even had a good sleep. Get some warmer clothing, preferably a hooded sweater.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi TripAdvisorMember. Thank you for the fantastic 5* rating! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for a repeat experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This really is a piece of phenomenal beauty hidden in the Cederberg mountains. The long drive up there is just a beautiful and we were amazed by this peace is heaven.

Be warned that it is a long 35km dirt road drive to the reserve, but we managed to do it in a small car (Hyundai i10) without getting stuck.

We camped at the sites are basic with no electricity but that's what makes it so beautiful. There are only 6 sites and they are a little far apart which is great. The campsite is by the swimming pool which also has braai facilities. But nothing compares to the beauty of sitting at your campsite watching the sun go down.

The lodge is also great and drinks and food prices are very reasonable considering how far the lodge is away from any shops. We ate dinner in the boma which was lovely with the fire place in the middle and the tables all facing the bonfire. The only complaint I had was the cape Malay curry. It was a glorified stew and unfortunately has none of the diverse flavors a cape Malay curry is know for.

The barman, Boete was a stand out for us and his service was outstanding and was always wiling to help. He has a great attitude which made our stay that much more special.

We also did the star gazing activity which Jason took and again a highlight for us to be able to see the stars so clear and through a telescope.

This place has a very special place in our hearts and always will.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yachal_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi Yachal. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We are in 100% agreement with you! Nothing compares to a Kagga Kamma sundown and we are thrilled to hear that you had a great time. We appreciate all feedback and compliments which will be passed on to the Resort Management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My wife surprised me with a stay at this little gem in the middle of nowhere.It was a birthday gift and what a wonderful place to celebrate.Staff was very friendly and we were allowed an early check in.The Sun-downer trip was awesome -highlights the remote location and emphasizes the peace and tranquility.
Being new years eve the staff went out of their way to make the evening fun and special.A braai buffet was laid out in the Boma and a DJ played music to see in the new year. They even arranged a complimentary birthday cake .
There is no cell phone reception or TV in rooms. Limited WIFI at reception. This adds to the magical feeling of a complete break away from the hustle and bustle of city life.
We did the 4 km hike route and would advise this.
Get to see the lovely rock formations.
Would love to return in the winter some time and also try the Open air room .
Thanks Tania and team for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: go for the huts -little more space. Would love to try the open air room some time
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reyaadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

A happy belated birthday to you Reyaad! Thank you for the wonderful review and 4/5 rating. You have described Kagga Kamma to a tee. Kagga Kamma in summer is a special treat! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time and have passed on your compliments to Tania and her team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews