We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Kagga Kamma”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time at Kagga Kamma”
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We spent four nights at Kagga Kamma, which is probably as much as you would want to be there. We stayed first in one of the 'caves' and then moved to a thatched hut for the last two nights. We thought the hut was a lot nicer - mainly because it was bigger - although the cave was OK.
The excursion we went on was excellent with a first rate commentary by Sam, the guide. The Sen and Kai rock paintings are very impressive even though they are simple and not big. Best of all was the extraordinary austere beauty of the countryside.
Food was good and not expensive. And the staff were all friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: Go for the huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danbybloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 11 May 2017
Hi danbybloch. Thank you for the awesome 5/5 rating and great review! We have passed on your compliments to Sam and the team. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    124
    59
    21
    20
See reviews for
69
232
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

The location of Kagga Kamma is really nice, but it's very hard to find due to bad directions. The lodge is also really expensive and you don't get much for the price: the gamedrives are very poor. The food is nice but also not stunning. If you drive a bit furter you can see much more animals and can have a spectaculair gamedrive for less money. If you want to enjoy a nice view, it's a good place. But pricewise I really won't recommend it!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodé G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 11 May 2017
Hi Rhodé G. Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our location and facilities. However, we are happy you enjoyed the views Kagga Kamma offered. Kagga Kamma is renowned for its scenic beauty and dramatic rock formations typical of the Cederberg region. With regards to the poor game drive you experienced, in an ideal game drive, you would expect to see a good mix of animals out and about, but sometimes the drives are very quiet. A lot of elements like weather conditions, etc. can be the cause of this and sometimes you are just not lucky that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The reserve is simply stunning. It offers the best of the Cederberg, coupled with professional ranger guides and tours. Try the rock-art!
We have been staying on the camping site, which is incredibly far from the reception and restaurant (you have to go by car, while the other type of accommodation seem a bit packed), and beware, it has no power supply. At the reception, with found 3 people, none of them smiling, a bit polite.
The restaurant is in a very nice location, but is pretentious; the food was OK, but no more than this. Quick tip for the management: try a simpler menu (3-4 choices per course), with well-proven recipes, and maybe the food would come out earlier than the one and a half hour it took for us!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filippo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 11 May 2017
Hi Filippo F. Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is only through feedback that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Very interesting experience , we booked the outcrop room which is basically your bed under the stars in the reserve(desert)
There are no dangerous animals here so one should not be afraid. You have a shower and toiled and also you can alone barbeque your dinner. There is no mobile phone signal or internet. They drive you there by quads and leave the quads with you. So what you can do is to drive back to the main resort if you panic somehow in the night. The ride is about 15 min by quad but pretty simple , little chance to get lost. We made it till morning and even had a good sleep. Get some warmer clothing, preferably a hooded sweater.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 10 May 2017
Hi TripAdvisorMember. Thank you for the fantastic 5* rating! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back for a repeat experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This really is a piece of phenomenal beauty hidden in the Cederberg mountains. The long drive up there is just a beautiful and we were amazed by this peace is heaven.

Be warned that it is a long 35km dirt road drive to the reserve, but we managed to do it in a small car (Hyundai i10) without getting stuck.

We camped at the sites are basic with no electricity but that's what makes it so beautiful. There are only 6 sites and they are a little far apart which is great. The campsite is by the swimming pool which also has braai facilities. But nothing compares to the beauty of sitting at your campsite watching the sun go down.

The lodge is also great and drinks and food prices are very reasonable considering how far the lodge is away from any shops. We ate dinner in the boma which was lovely with the fire place in the middle and the tables all facing the bonfire. The only complaint I had was the cape Malay curry. It was a glorified stew and unfortunately has none of the diverse flavors a cape Malay curry is know for.

The barman, Boete was a stand out for us and his service was outstanding and was always wiling to help. He has a great attitude which made our stay that much more special.

We also did the star gazing activity which Jason took and again a highlight for us to be able to see the stars so clear and through a telescope.

This place has a very special place in our hearts and always will.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yachal_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort_Spokesperson, Public Relations Manager at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this review, 10 May 2017
Hi Yachal. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review! We are in 100% agreement with you! Nothing compares to a Kagga Kamma sundown and we are thrilled to hear that you had a great time. We appreciate all feedback and compliments which will be passed on to the Resort Management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Property: Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R1 701 - R4 220
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing