We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
220
144
63
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
144
63
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskagga kammagravel roadgame drivesrock formationscape townbushman paintingsget awayhiking trailscave roomself cateringlong driveunique experiencegame reservenature reservequad bikingsunset driveour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

The setting is magical. The place is far from the city, it's out of time and 1 day felt like 5- there's no reception, no cellphones and hardly any service. The 'caves' are very fake caves. Plastic structures with not much privacy or luxury- not even a bathtub or fridge. We shared with a dormouse who was very cute. The spa is a treat. The food was good - I thought. The staff are very badly trained and very slow - which is fine for a 80s but frustrating for a luxury place. And the food and spa was also 80s priced at least which was good. It's almost beautiful and perfect but needs a bit more love to live up to what the website promises. Otherwise it should market and price itself as a rustic out of time retreat.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TarynJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a cave room and were very happy. The room was neat, clean and well maintained.

Food in the restaurant was very tasty and well priced.

The highlight though was the views, the rock formations and being close to nature. We took long hikes through the reserve and also had a great self-drive game drive (4x4 a must).

We will return.

Only gripe was that we were not able to do star watching as the vehicle had been booked out for a game drive. So book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We spend 2 magical days here in winter. This region of South Africa is just breathtaking. You get off the main road and have a long slow trek to get to the accommodation. Arriving here you realise the amazing location. We stayed in a Cave Suite which was beautiful and luxurious inside. It was bitterly cold up there in the middle of July so made going on hikes a little more challenging but did not take away from the amazing experience we had. Must come back here in my lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We spent a few days at the Kagga Kamma resort in the Cederberg in one of the cave rooms. As it was a romantic few days away for my husband and I the staff made the effort to create a romantic ambience with petals and champagne in our room and at our table. We enjoyed their Summer full board package which included two excursions. We chose the Game Drive in the morning and the Sundowner drive in the evening. Both drives provided us with a different view of the reserve. On both the drives we came across some of the reserve wild life. My highlight was seeing and elephant shrew for the first time who provides the entertainment at the Sundowner spot. It is apparently one of the little five according to Sam our Game driver. We also had the pleasure of visiting the Spa at the resort for a massage. It is an unusual getaway tucked away in the heart of the Klein Cederberg with only Stars to keep you company, the silence is deafening. I do not recommend that you travel without a spare tyre as we unfortunately got a flat leaving the resort on the heavy gravel road and so did another car that left just before us. They recommend that you drive a 4x4 should you want to make use of the reserve self drive trails. The resort is in a remote location fresh produce must be difficult to transport so the food is unfortunately average.

Room Tip: amazing views, quiet, scenic, recommend cave rooms,
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Spent a lovely evening in the cave suites. Absolutely stunning venue and accommodation.

Over and above this,we received truly excellent service from Olivia, Chantal & Pedro. Their friendliness and excellent service really made the trip out here even more special.

I would highly recommend at least staying 2 nights and look forward to visiting again.

Sam & Vanessa

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews