We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Tranquility” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

My wife surprised me with a stay at this little gem in the middle of nowhere.It was a birthday gift and what a wonderful place to celebrate.Staff was very friendly and we were allowed an early check in.The Sun-downer trip was awesome -highlights the remote location and emphasizes the peace and tranquility.
Being new years eve the staff went out of their way to make the evening fun and special.A braai buffet was laid out in the Boma and a DJ played music to see in the new year. They even arranged a complimentary birthday cake .
There is no cell phone reception or TV in rooms. Limited WIFI at reception. This adds to the magical feeling of a complete break away from the hustle and bustle of city life.
We did the 4 km hike route and would advise this.
Get to see the lovely rock formations.
Would love to return in the winter some time and also try the Open air room .
Thanks Tania and team for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: go for the huts -little more space. Would love to try the open air room some time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reyaadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    105
    57
    21
    19
See reviews for
57
195
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

The setting is magical. The place is far from the city, it's out of time and 1 day felt like 5- there's no reception, no cellphones and hardly any service. The 'caves' are very fake caves. Plastic structures with not much privacy or luxury- not even a bathtub or fridge. We shared with a dormouse who was very cute. The spa is a treat. The food was good - I thought. The staff are very badly trained and very slow - which is fine for a 80s but frustrating for a luxury place. And the food and spa was also 80s priced at least which was good. It's almost beautiful and perfect but needs a bit more love to live up to what the website promises. Otherwise it should market and price itself as a rustic out of time retreat.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TarynJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a cave room and were very happy. The room was neat, clean and well maintained.

Food in the restaurant was very tasty and well priced.

The highlight though was the views, the rock formations and being close to nature. We took long hikes through the reserve and also had a great self-drive game drive (4x4 a must).

We will return.

Only gripe was that we were not able to do star watching as the vehicle had been booked out for a game drive. So book ahead to avoid disappointment.

Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BushFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

We spend 2 magical days here in winter. This region of South Africa is just breathtaking. You get off the main road and have a long slow trek to get to the accommodation. Arriving here you realise the amazing location. We stayed in a Cave Suite which was beautiful and luxurious inside. It was bitterly cold up there in the middle of July so made going on hikes a little more challenging but did not take away from the amazing experience we had. Must come back here in my lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2016

We spent a few days at the Kagga Kamma resort in the Cederberg in one of the cave rooms. As it was a romantic few days away for my husband and I the staff made the effort to create a romantic ambience with petals and champagne in our room and at our table. We enjoyed their Summer full board package which included two excursions. We chose the Game Drive in the morning and the Sundowner drive in the evening. Both drives provided us with a different view of the reserve. On both the drives we came across some of the reserve wild life. My highlight was seeing and elephant shrew for the first time who provides the entertainment at the Sundowner spot. It is apparently one of the little five according to Sam our Game driver. We also had the pleasure of visiting the Spa at the resort for a massage. It is an unusual getaway tucked away in the heart of the Klein Cederberg with only Stars to keep you company, the silence is deafening. I do not recommend that you travel without a spare tyre as we unfortunately got a flat leaving the resort on the heavy gravel road and so did another car that left just before us. They recommend that you drive a 4x4 should you want to make use of the reserve self drive trails. The resort is in a remote location fresh produce must be difficult to transport so the food is unfortunately average.

Room Tip: amazing views, quiet, scenic, recommend cave rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odette803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 km away
Ukholo Lodge
Ukholo Lodge
#7 of 21 in Citrusdal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Property: Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price range (per night): R2 021 - R4 154
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing