We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never give up!”
Review of The Settlers Inn

The Settlers Inn
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 09/19
20:00
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hudson Street (Route 590E)
Transit: Shortline bus company operates from downtown Hawley (approximately four blocks from the Inn) to Port Authority, New York City.
Description: A meticulously restored Arts & Craft Lodge in the Lake Region of Pennsylvania's Pocono Mountains boasting native Chestnut Wood Beams, Bradbury & Bradbury hand screened Wallpapers, Fulper hand crafted tiles, a Stickley Grandfather's Clock, a collection of Arts and Crafts Pottery and Mission Style furnishings. Our hospitality extends from the head to the heart to the hand. Gather with friends or family in the inn's many comfortable common spaces. Bask in a summer's day on the terrace, or stroll the colorful Garden and the banks of the meandering Lackawaxen River. Take a spin around town on one of the bikes on our front porch. Walk out the front door to the Bingham Park and Riverwalk Trail to our sister property, Ledges Hotel, where you are invited to relax on one of the many decks and surround yourself in the natural beauty of the waterfalls and gorge.
Reviewed 17 July 2021 via mobile

We love the ambiance, cleanliness and hospitality but prior to this evening, on 3 occasions, the food wasn’t hot. Tonight however, the food was hot and prepared perfectly. It was an absolute joy to relax, listen to the wonderful piano music and enjoy our meal. Connor was our server and he was amazing. Every attention to detail and knowledge of the food being served- he didn’t miss a trick. So glad that we tried again and already looking forward to our next visit!

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank mimivb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Dear Mimivb52,
We're delighted you had a wonderful experience at The Settlers Inn. It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal and and a relaxing evening. Thank you for your kind compliments. We'll be sure to share them with our staff. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2021

Such a wonderful location to eat. The outside walking garden shows off an assortment of flowers, trees, and shrubbery. This area is very nice to use as an outside event. Inside, we were greeted and led to a round table for 6 persons. The Fathers Day Brunch menu included unlimited champagne and orange juice, an appetizer, main, dessert, coffee, or tea. The choices listed on the menu for appetizer and main were five. They were well described and all sounded quite good. Fresh, hot, small round grain breads were placed on the table and were very tasty that we asked for more. The meal was a hit. Everything was made to perfection and leftovers were taken home in very nice "doggy bags". The location is clean, and service was tops. This is our first time here and we are glad that the brunch was offered and we were part of it. The restaurant offer specials for future dates. We will definitely return to be part of that as well.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mikecarstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2021

Dear Mike,
Thank you for celebrating Father's Day at The Settlers Inn. We're so happy you had a wonderful meal and enjoyed everything our farm-to-table restaurant has to offer. It's also great to hear you visited the gardens and took time to explore the grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

We really wanted to love this place but we had a terrible experience. Waited 10 minutes to be seated. No problem. We enjoyed walking around the grounds which are charming and beautiful. We were seated and then the waiting began.....for everything. We literally waited over an hour for our food. Other diners waited even longer. Our waitress apologized profusely but even so we asked for syrup, salt and pepper...you know the basics but she never brought it. We went to empty tables and took it. Another table asked for the manager who never appeared. Someone seated after us was served and paying the bill before we even got food. It was just awful. I let the waitress know our dissatisfaction. She said that the help dreads working Sundays due to this. Just wow!! Totally unacceptable! Get it together settlers inn! I couldn't even get more coffee. Was told it was brewing and it never came!! We were staying at ledges hotel their other hotel. We had a nice stay there and dinner.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Dorisj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Dear Doris,
We’re very sorry you were disappointed with your breakfast at The Settlers Inn. Your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff. Like many in the hospitality industry, staffing is currently a challenge, but we never want that to impact a guest’s visit. We apologize that we fell short in this instance. Be assured we will speak to our staff about the comments you received. We hope you’ll return and experience the superior service for which The Settlers Inn is known. If you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out directly to our manager, Steven at SVennie@settlershospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2021

A charming country inn whose dining room exudes warmth and hospitality. Live piano music seals the deal. Food always good. Service first rate. Pricey, but you get what you pay for. The best restaurant for miles around.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank DrBknowsBEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Dear DrBknowsBest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal at The Settlers Inn. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the ambience, hospitality and farm-to-table cuisine. Thank you for the kind compliments. We'll be sure to share them with our staff. Please come again. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly. It was included in our hotel stay at Ledges Hotel. If not for this we probably wouldn't have stopped by here.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank Mel_D_Loves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SettlersHospitality, Marketing at The Settlers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Dear Mel,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We're so glad you visited our sister properties during your stay. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Settlers Inn also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Settlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.