We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Battery Russell and Peace

You can bike, hike, or drive here when at Fort Stevens. Love being in the history. Lots of... read more

Reviewed 23 July 2020
LostLobstah
,
Wyoming
via mobile
Make the stop it is worth it.

Great place to learn a little history and walk around. It was green grass all around. It is a must... read more

Reviewed 29 June 2020
Kieande
,
Nampa, Idaho
via mobile
Read all 74 reviews
  
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
43
25
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
25
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2017

It was a very interesting place to visit especially for my husband.I wished I had read up on it before visiting.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We found this location to be even better than Fort Stevens because we could walk around inside the various rooms. Wish there were more plaques to explain what we were looking at, though. Be prepared for stairs.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Ruins of this battery are very easy to visit/ tour. It is one of two batteries located at Fort Stevens State Park. This one is the small one. And because of the trees you can see Pacific which is actually right there.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank O6378WFannag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Battery Russell is one of the many places we stopped by during our time camping in Oregon. It is a really cool little battery that was used in WW2. It is creepy walking through it on your own but at the same time very cool. It is awesome the state has preserved this piece of history. I would recommend going to check it out if you are in the area. It is free to do.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank canadiancamper2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This is another place that's great if you like history and imagining what it must have been like for the people back then. It's interesting, but you can see it all pretty quickly if you're with people who really don't care as much as you do.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank X4146UDkathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews