We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$131
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lucia(Portland)
US$287
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$251
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel(Portland)
US$264
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$273/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$157
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nordic Inn and Suites(Portland)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$125
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 996)
Filter reviews
1 996 results
Traveller rating
1 190
589
134
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 190
589
134
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pearlpowell's booksafternoon cookiescontinental breakfastgreat locationwine tastingwhole foodsespresso machinewine receptionhard boiled eggsnew york timessmall kitchenwithin walking distanceolder hotelfood cartstwo blocksyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1 996 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This old hotel is beautifully remodeled and comfortable. Location is great for anyone interested in downtown or Pearl District activities. And, surprisingly, the rooms are well insulted from street noise, much quieter than the more modern hotels at which we have stayed in Portland.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dischaff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse K, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing. We're all so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to enjoy your room and all that our beautiful west end neighborhood has to offer. We understand the importance of a relaxing hotel experience when travelling and are glad to learn that you were not bothered by any of the downtown street noises. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback and for choosing The Mark Spencer. It is our hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Jesse K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit to Portland could not have been any better. Staying at the
Mark Spencer Hotel was an excellent choice. Located in the heart of The Pearl District everything is just out your front door. The hotel is older with lots of personality and charm. We had a corner King with a great view. Our room was very clean and extremely quiet. Breakfast and Wine in the afternoon are only one more reason to stay at The Mark Spencer Hotel. The hotel staff was pleasant and went out of their way to be helpful. Excellent Choice!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 4mrsk2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse K, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow, thank you so much for sharing! Your experience is what we hope for all of our guests; wonderful and convenient location with quick access to the best dining and shopping in the city, a comfortable and relaxing room, and a pleasant experience with our staff. We're all so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and we want to thank you for choosing The Mark Spencer for your Portland lodging. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay soon.

Best,
Jesse K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Older building, nicely updated. Comfortable bedding, near restaurants, transportation,. Parking under hotel at $25 seemed reasonable for us. However an outdoor lot is in the area and would save probably $10. It was worth it to take the elevator up to the lobby, especially due to wind and rain. We enjoyed the wine and cheeses and cookies. Breakfast was totally satisfactory, as we did not want a bacon and eggs meal. The croissants, doughnuts, juice, coffee hit the spot.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse K, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your experience! We take joy in hearing our guests' feedback as we are continually striving to better our service, facilities, and amenities. We're all so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that you were able to indulge in our complimentary European style continental breakfast. Our preservative-free pastries are delivered every morning from a local bakery and have been an amazing addition to our breakfast. Thanks for choosing The Mark Spencer, it is our hope that we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Jesse K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location on edge of Pearl District and near Center Stage Theatre. The rooms are quiet and clean, extensive breakfast is included, as is an afternoon wine and cheese spread. There is a very attentive and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse K, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing! We're happy to hear that everything was satisfactory and hope to see you back for many more enjoyable stays. Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests so it is very refreshing to hear that you received this. Thank you for choosing The Mark Spencer for your Portland travels and for providing such wonderful feedback. We will be sure to share your kind comments with our staff. Safe travels!

Best Regards,
Jesse K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, spacious room. The discount passport for places in the area is great. Also lots of extras like breakfast, wine tasting, tea and cookies, beer tasting, newspapers. The staff was friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TravellerKate2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse K, Guest Relations Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're very pleased to learn that you had such a great time here with us and that you were able to indulge in our complimentary amenities and all that the west end neighborhood has to offer. We look forward to your return!

Best,
Jesse K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews