We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming little house”
5j's ....Best House Ever....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5j's ....Best House Ever....
BEACH TWO
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
5j's ....Best House Ever....
BEACH TWO
Lots of time for togetherness
All beautiful Ship Lapped Cedar Interior
At dusk....
*Inside* punchbowl, but get out when the tide comes in or the Coast Guard Chopper will pull you out!
Brand New Appliances
Such Detail throughout the house....you'll love it.
All Photography and Art Work are Originals!
Getting ready for the sunset
Beach ONE
D.Hunt photo when staying at 5js
Beachcombing at night!
Courtesy of D.Hunt, one of our guests taken at Otter Rock
D. Hunt Photo while staying at 5js
Sunset courtesy of our guest D.Hunt
BABY OTTER RIGHT THERE NEAR TIDEPOOLS
Cape Foulweather, Courtesy of D. Hunt, our guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newport, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawna F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming little house”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here, and we really enjoyed this cute little house. The owners were great. We had trouble getting in, and they helped right away. They also offered to let us check out late, as there was an unusual freeze which made the roads really slick. Luckily we live where the roads are often bad in the winter, and we were fine on the roads. But it was so thoughtful of them! There is a wonderful wine shop a couple of blocks away, and we found a delicious bottle of wine to help us celebrate our anniversary. There were several places to walk, and there was a little peek of the ocean from the house. We watched surfers out on the ocean, but the trail down to the beach was more than we wanted to tackle that cold weekend. The wood stove warmed up the house, and the little heaters worked for the bedroom and the bathroom. We would recommend this house for a couple or a small family. There's one bedroom, and there are lofts with beds. The house had everything we needed to enjoy our anniversary!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Hello Sue Mellinger, we are sorry that we were not aware of your need for more paper towels. Two years ago in our remodel, we had a room constructed off to the garage that has an ample supply of paper towels, toilet paper, dishwashing liquid. There are 3 salt and pepper grinders in the top shelf in the kitchen, left side of the frig. As for amenities, vacation homes do not provide your shower caps, or bath soaps, shampoos and conditioners nor the lotions. That is more for hotels. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will try to make sure travelers know this concerns in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
P7familyf...
Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and fun place to stay and visit”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was a great location for our family vacation. It had plenty of room and we enjoyed the house. It was decorated really fun and fit the surrounding area. The hosts were kind and offered many great suggestions on places to eat and things to see. There were a lot of fun things to do, including: the beach, tide pools, exploring, etc. The beach was just a short walk in either direction and was very convenient. We wanted to stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100katie
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific house and location”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the 5J's beach house. The house was very well stocked with plenty of linens and dishes. Everything was very clean. Our young grandchildren loved the nautical theme and called it the Boat House. There is a lovely deck off the back with ocean views. The location was great with easy beach access to two different beaches as well as the Devil's Punchbowl state park. We will definitely stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
You are so kind. Thank you very much for staying at the 5js, K.,
Please contact us again. We love to make our home available to nice folks like you. Have a lovely trip back home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to go back to the Blue House! (The 5J's)”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time in Oregon and we absolutely loved it! Our only regret was that we hadn't booked our stay to be longer than the 4 days.

I spoke with owner personally before going down and she was very thorough, informative and pleasant in her questions as to who was going, their ages and whether or not it would be suitable for our family because of the lofts. We have a 3 year old, 10 year old and 17 year old.

She gave us really great information about the immediate area and places we may wish to go for a walk and explore with our kids, such as the duck pond, whale watching and even where we could go to purchase our groceries.

My husband , who didn't know what to expect, was extremely pleased with the house and all it had to offer. The only gear we had to bring was our items for the beach, our clothes and of course our food. My husband was also relieved that there was a garage where we could leave our rooftop bucket safe a secure for the duration of our stay and not have to continue to drive around with it.

The house is essentially split into 4 levels. The first level has a full bath, laundry, Kitchen and dining table. The second level-the living room with satellite TV, access to the lofts and the captain's quarters. It also had my kid's favourite feature, the galley style bench seats and table where they ate every morning. There were lots of movies and games to choose from, as well.

Our only concern was the glass top stove as there could be an extra fee if you damage it, but there are clear instructions, so as long as you follow them it is fine.

My husband also loved the barbecue and the patio, where you can sit a relax and see the ocean on the horizon and enjoy a glass of wine from the winery that is only a block and a bit away.

There are two beaches both about a block and a half from the house which we explored a few times each day. There are 100 steps down to the beach where all of the surfing happens, but it really is worth it and there is a rest point with a bench about midway. Some locals also told us where to get the wet suits everyone seems to wear at a discounted price and just up the road from the house-about a 10 min drive.

One recommendation would be to take the time to walk up to the top of the bluff (to the right of the parking lot) where not only will you find an ice cream truck, a small winery (very delicious wines) and a restaurant (Mo's), but a breathtaking view into the Devil's Punch Bowl and a great whale watching site.

I must say that when you watch how quickly the parking lots fill up every morning, you really appreciate the fact that you can just wander to the beach at anytime and not worry about the need to get there before everyone else.

While there, we visited the aquarium, which was a very inexpensive morning trip for the family which our kids loved. Especially the Shark Tunnels. We then visited the waterfront in New Port and even got some Christmas and souvenir shopping done while there.

One of the biggest highlights was stopping at Depoe Bay and seeing a pod of whales breaching right along the sea wall where we stood! (it is about midway between the 5 J's and Lincoln City).

Our 3 year old to this day still states, "I want to go back to the blue house!" Which I think speaks volumes when a little one remembers a one time visit she had for only 4 days.

We are planning on booking again this year, that's why I'm on the site today. I would highly recommend this rental home for others, just not during the time we want it ;)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing