We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific house and location”
5j's ....Best House Ever....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5j's ....Best House Ever....
BEACH TWO
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
5j's ....Best House Ever....
BEACH TWO
Lots of time for togetherness
All beautiful Ship Lapped Cedar Interior
At dusk....
*Inside* punchbowl, but get out when the tide comes in or the Coast Guard Chopper will pull you out!
Brand New Appliances
Such Detail throughout the house....you'll love it.
All Photography and Art Work are Originals!
Getting ready for the sunset
Beach ONE
D.Hunt photo when staying at 5js
Beachcombing at night!
Courtesy of D.Hunt, one of our guests taken at Otter Rock
D. Hunt Photo while staying at 5js
Sunset courtesy of our guest D.Hunt
BABY OTTER RIGHT THERE NEAR TIDEPOOLS
Cape Foulweather, Courtesy of D. Hunt, our guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newport, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
100katie
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific house and location”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the 5J's beach house. The house was very well stocked with plenty of linens and dishes. Everything was very clean. Our young grandchildren loved the nautical theme and called it the Boat House. There is a lovely deck off the back with ocean views. The location was great with easy beach access to two different beaches as well as the Devil's Punchbowl state park. We will definitely stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
You are so kind. Thank you very much for staying at the 5js, K.,
Please contact us again. We love to make our home available to nice folks like you. Have a lovely trip back home!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie C
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to go back to the Blue House! (The 5J's)”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time in Oregon and we absolutely loved it! Our only regret was that we hadn't booked our stay to be longer than the 4 days.

I spoke with owner personally before going down and she was very thorough, informative and pleasant in her questions as to who was going, their ages and whether or not it would be suitable for our family because of the lofts. We have a 3 year old, 10 year old and 17 year old.

She gave us really great information about the immediate area and places we may wish to go for a walk and explore with our kids, such as the duck pond, whale watching and even where we could go to purchase our groceries.

My husband , who didn't know what to expect, was extremely pleased with the house and all it had to offer. The only gear we had to bring was our items for the beach, our clothes and of course our food. My husband was also relieved that there was a garage where we could leave our rooftop bucket safe a secure for the duration of our stay and not have to continue to drive around with it.

The house is essentially split into 4 levels. The first level has a full bath, laundry, Kitchen and dining table. The second level-the living room with satellite TV, access to the lofts and the captain's quarters. It also had my kid's favourite feature, the galley style bench seats and table where they ate every morning. There were lots of movies and games to choose from, as well.

Our only concern was the glass top stove as there could be an extra fee if you damage it, but there are clear instructions, so as long as you follow them it is fine.

My husband also loved the barbecue and the patio, where you can sit a relax and see the ocean on the horizon and enjoy a glass of wine from the winery that is only a block and a bit away.

There are two beaches both about a block and a half from the house which we explored a few times each day. There are 100 steps down to the beach where all of the surfing happens, but it really is worth it and there is a rest point with a bench about midway. Some locals also told us where to get the wet suits everyone seems to wear at a discounted price and just up the road from the house-about a 10 min drive.

One recommendation would be to take the time to walk up to the top of the bluff (to the right of the parking lot) where not only will you find an ice cream truck, a small winery (very delicious wines) and a restaurant (Mo's), but a breathtaking view into the Devil's Punch Bowl and a great whale watching site.

I must say that when you watch how quickly the parking lots fill up every morning, you really appreciate the fact that you can just wander to the beach at anytime and not worry about the need to get there before everyone else.

While there, we visited the aquarium, which was a very inexpensive morning trip for the family which our kids loved. Especially the Shark Tunnels. We then visited the waterfront in New Port and even got some Christmas and souvenir shopping done while there.

One of the biggest highlights was stopping at Depoe Bay and seeing a pod of whales breaching right along the sea wall where we stood! (it is about midway between the 5 J's and Lincoln City).

Our 3 year old to this day still states, "I want to go back to the blue house!" Which I think speaks volumes when a little one remembers a one time visit she had for only 4 days.

We are planning on booking again this year, that's why I'm on the site today. I would highly recommend this rental home for others, just not during the time we want it ;)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webdeb
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unique, attractive, clean...a perfect place to go again and again!”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We've stayed at the 5Js before, but it's been awhile. We always loved the nautical theme and the loft design, but we were pleased to see the upgrades - master half bath, granite counters and dishwasher in kitchen, large deck to sit on and take in the ocean view and sounds. The house was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The beach access is great - long walking beach in one direction and fascinating tidepools in the other. Dealing with the owners was easy and pleasant...we got just the days we wanted for our reservation. We will definitely go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's a pretty, comfortable house.
Liked least: It was all good, honestly.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinerb
Folsom, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best of the Oregon Coast!”
Reviewed 23 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This unique beach house combines the charm of its 1930s style with all the modern conveniences to make a memorable Oregon Coast experience. The beautiful old polished wood floors, stairs and decor are a perfect accent to the modern granite counter tops and new appliances in the open kitchen. Tv, stereo, wi-fi, books, games etc...all give it a homey feel, but the 2 level deck and views steal the show! Eating lobster bisque and crab cakes while watching the crashing surf and wind in the trees is unforgettable! The short walk to either of 2 beaches gives everyone an activity to enjoy. We really appreciated the attention to details, right down to being sparkling clean top to bottom. We are making a stay here at the Devils Punchbowl a must every trip to Oregon!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much misguided information!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is most definitely not a beach house as advertised; in fact much information about the place is just plain WRONG! The house not only is quite a distance from the ocean ( blocks ), the deck is not a wrap-around deck, and does not have fabulous views of the ocean. You barely see a tiny piece of it through all the trees and only if you`re on the deck or looking out the sliding door. You see no beach at all. There are many obstacles between the deck and the ocean, one being a parking lot that is full of cars coming and going all day long that sits next to a park. There are tall houses on one side that look right down onto the deck and an RV space on the other side, meaning you have no privacy. There are not three bedrooms; there is one bedroom and two lofts. The lofts are only adequate for children as the access to them is certainly not for adults that are middle-aged and may have arthritic problems. The mattresses were also very uncomfortable, as well as not being made up (we had to crawl around in the tiny little spaces and try to get sheets onto the mattresses that lay on the floor). The first beach access is quite a distance away and is all down hill, very steep, and certainly not easy for someone with arthritis such as I; even a few rocks to crawl over at the bottom nearest to the beach. The second access is many, many, many stairs to get down to the beach which was not an option for myself. The owner assured me that we would be just fine and we`d love it there. The house itself was beautifully decorated, comfortable (except the beds), and clean. It was furnished with everything we needed, except a set of sheets were missing. Unfortunately we had the desire to light a fire in the woodstove the second night and had to endure the horrible creosote smell for the next three days; apparently the stove pipe needs a good cleaning! The garbage can was overflowing with trash when we arrived and that concerned me cause garbage pickup wasn`t for another three days. Fortunately we didn`t produce enough that it was a problem and am real glad that the racoons didn`t get into it. It is quite frustrating that the owner felt the need to deceive me in several ways in presenting the house in order to convince me to book it for five days. In all honesty I have not stayed in a place that far from the ocean in the forty-some years I`ve been going there and it was a huge disappointment, especially since the friends that joined me were expecting what I was, to be able to sit on the deck and watch the waves crash on the beach. In my opinion this house is only suitable for one young couple, a young family, or young people that don`t mind no privacy (the deck and sleeping areas) and are agile enough to handle the lofts, the accesses to the beach, and no beach views.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
I’m sorry to read your bad feelings about the 5js beach house. We have many repeat guests that stay at the 5js and love it. We love it too, but we are in no hurry to book it when it is not appropriate for someone. As to your allegations of misrepresentation:
We never claim to be beach front. Webster’s dictionary states that a beach house is on or near the beach. Since Oregon beaches are all public there aren't houses built after the 60's that sit less than 16 feet in height above the water line or directly on the beach. We are 76 yards to the steps to the beach.
Everything on our listing is accurate. We rely on our clients to inform us of special needs that they may have and if we cannot accommodate them adequately we encourage them to book elsewhere. The ship’s ladder to the Crow’s Nest Loft is in the description and also in our first contact with each guests inquiry, and sent prior to booking. The 5js sleeps 6 but since it is 1 master w/2 lofts it has to be listed as a 3 bedroom because lodging requirements prohibit listing 1 bedroom to 6 persons and marketing companies do not have the option to choose a loft.
Our chimney is cleaned and inspected annually. Our wood stove is certified by the state of Oregon. The wood stove does have a handle with a damper on it and it is left open. At the time of your departure, our housekeeper stated the damper was partially closed. It is possible that a previous guest inadvertently closed the damper. We apologize for that oversight.
Our large garbage bin is emptied every Friday.
Finally I would like to say that we do not deceive anyone, nor do we wish anyone to stay there that is not a good fit. Your inquiry which I still have along with your personal information stated 3 persons were coming. Apparently there were as many as 6 of you and some with special needs which put us at a disadvantage as we were trying to ascertain your needs. We realize that at times people are fatigued as they go through the process of inquiry and might be tempted to fill out details quickly but those details are essential for us to make a determination in behalf of our guests, as they are in any lodging situation. We are truly sorry that it did not meet your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$165
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing