We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Escaped the City to stare at the Ocean from the...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from deck.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View from deck.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Depoe Bay, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Escaped the City to stare at the Ocean from the Hot tub!”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a group of four and picked Octomojo for the two master bedrooms, hot tub, and view and sound of white crashing waves. The house was very clean and organized, boasts beautiful Pottery Barn style décor, and a wrap-around ocean view on both levels. The Master Bedrooms are in totally separate areas of the home, so we had good couples privacy when we weren’t enjoying the common areas as a group. Our dogs loved the quiet little neighborhood and the beach, with 2 access points less than a block away. We never saw anyone else on the beach. After long days of walks and seafood, it was heaven to look at the moon, see and hear crashing waves, while soaking my cares away. We will be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acryptony...
Blackfoot, Idaho
1 review
“amazing ocean views”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at OctoMojo for a week in mid-September 2016. We are related to the owners but will provide our honest review. The home has a wonderful location. It's right between Lincoln City and Depoe Bay; it's just off Hwy 101, but far enough away so you don't get any highway noise. The ocean views are amazing. We loved having our morning coffee with fresh pastries from the nearby bakery while gazing out at the waves. One morning we watched harbor porpoises. It’s within a block to the beach, but it requires some agility to maneuver the somewhat steep pathway down to the sand.
The owners have done a lot to make their home comfortable for vacationers. It’s great now, and they continue to make it better. The kitchen has everything you will need to cook and serve meals. The huge main floor master bedroom has an en suite bath and a new memory foam king bed. Another bedroom with a queen bed and full bathroom are also located on the main floor. The large entry way is a great staging area. The living room has very comfortable seating that will accommodate nine adults. Upstairs the third bedroom with en suite has a comfortable queen bed and sweeping ocean views.
We are already looking forward to another magical stay at OctoMojo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view of the ocean and the comfortable furniture
Liked least: wish we could have stayed longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
focogirl
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surf Song Lullaby and Gray Whale Watching (No Dramamine Necessary)”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The good: I thought the photos accurately depicted the house. But the views of the ocean, and the closeness to the beach, were even better than I expected.

We had the upstairs master bedroom with a good view of the beach/ocean and were lulled to sleep and kept sound asleep by the sound of surf. We ate breakfast on the deck every morning, and one morning we even watched grey whales spouting just off shore!

We went down to the beach in the morning to run or walk, and in the evening to watch the sun set, and were on the beach in literally minutes. We saw crabs, cranes, pelicans, seagulls, and other wildlife. We unwound completely after a very stressful week before we got there.

Octomojo's living room, dining room, and deck with spa offer ample space to hang out together, but the split master bedrooms on different levels also offer privacy and solitude if you want it. (If someone in your party can't do stairs, they are most likely going to be just fine on the first floor)

With the hypnotic sights/sounds of the ocean ever present in the house, you feel as if you're in another world from the one that you left to get there. Yet, if you need to be in touch, the wifi works well. If you want to watch a DVD, there's a player and a good size flat screen TV. If you need to laundry, there's a good laundry room. And if you want to run to the market, there's one within walking distance or a few minute's drive. Depoe Bay offers a few good restaurants, too. Lincoln City with full grocery and sundry stores is pretty 10 minute drive from the house; or Newport, with its stores, aquarium, and other touristy attractions, is a scenic 20 minute drive.

And here, I'll tell you some things that might be less than good, depending on what you're looking for:

The living room is good size for 6+, the downstairs master is huge, the upstairs master is good size, plus there's a third bedroom so the place is roomy and the kitchen is well stocked to cook and clean up after meals; however, if you're a group who wants a big open concept kitchen/dining room for big sit-down dinners, then the galley kitchen and dining room that comfortably sits 6, and squeezes in 8, might be a little tight.

The tile in the upstairs master needs updating like right now. For us, for the price and the proximity to the beach, it was easy to overlook. But I know that some people are looking for a property that is brand new with top end luxury finishes and toiletries etc, and if that's you, then you'll want to keep on looking.

But if you're looking for a clean, bright, well stocked, comfortable beach house that really makes you feel you're at the beach, then you've found it. To me, Octomojo felt like an attainable dream home, if that's not an oxymoron. I wanted to move in, forever, but you know, real life insisted that we return to it. To say I'd recommend staying here would be an understatement. In fact, I'm already thinking of how soon I can get back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gray whale watching from the deck, no dramamine needed!
Liked least: Yeah, that upstairs bathroom tile is just plain ugly.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thanks for your stay, focogirl. At the time that you stayed, we had only owned the property for 3 months, and it was completely booked with guests during that time. Therefore, we hadn't had an opportunity to start working on upgrades and repair. However, since your stay we have had the chance to work on many items including repairing the upstairs tile. We continue to improve as often as we are able and believe we have priced accordingly. We hope you will take an opportunity to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing