We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACON”

Nonnie's Breakfast Barn
Ranked #11 of 12 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Description: Nonnies breakfast barn began serving customers homemade bacon and bread on may 20th 2014. The name nonnies may be a new addition to the building, but the breakfast barn has been a part of charleston for many years. Back in 1976, harrell and carolyn creech decided to move their family away from the growing city of san diego california to the small fishing village of charleston oregon. They bought the property where the restaurant is standing today and began running a drive thru and take out service. The original building was not very big and had no way of offering customers a bathroom, or even a place to sit and eat the wonderful food that carolyn was preparing for them. Before long, carolyn, (nonnie) had convinced harrell that she not only wanted, but needed a dining room. To this day no one is sure why grandpa decided to build a barn, but he immediately set out to do exactly as his wife had asked, and before long, carolyns breakfast barn was born. From 1978 until 2002, carolyns breakfast barn was frequented by tourists and locals alike. Nonnie and papa would often open their doors early to accommodate the local fisherman and charter fishing trips. Unfortunately in 2012, carolyn, called nonnie by her granddaughter, passed away. Per her request, papa then gave his granddaughter ashley and her husband lucas the restaurant. The place he had built for his wife so many years ago. The place where they had both made and shared so many memories with their family, would now be passed on to a new generation. The new owners soon discovered that they were in over their heads and had no experience or knowledge of how to open or run a restaurant. Almost 2 years of hard work and research went into the remodel of the bacon barn which had sat empty since 2002. With new equipment and fresh paint also came new ideas, and a very different menu than the one people had known at carolyns. We are very proud of what we have accomplished this far, and we look forward to being here and providing the best food possible for many years to come.
Restaurant details
Description: Nonnies breakfast barn began serving customers homemade bacon and bread on may 20th 2014. The name nonnies may be a new addition to the building, but the breakfast barn has been a part of charleston for many years. Back in 1976, harrell and carolyn creech decided to move their family away from the growing city of san diego california to the small fishing village of charleston oregon. They bought the property where the restaurant is standing today and began running a drive thru and take out service. The original building was not very big and had no way of offering customers a bathroom, or even a place to sit and eat the wonderful food that carolyn was preparing for them. Before long, carolyn, (nonnie) had convinced harrell that she not only wanted, but needed a dining room. To this day no one is sure why grandpa decided to build a barn, but he immediately set out to do exactly as his wife had asked, and before long, carolyns breakfast barn was born. From 1978 until 2002, carolyns breakfast barn was frequented by tourists and locals alike. Nonnie and papa would often open their doors early to accommodate the local fisherman and charter fishing trips. Unfortunately in 2012, carolyn, called nonnie by her granddaughter, passed away. Per her request, papa then gave his granddaughter ashley and her husband lucas the restaurant. The place he had built for his wife so many years ago. The place where they had both made and shared so many memories with their family, would now be passed on to a new generation. The new owners soon discovered that they were in over their heads and had no experience or knowledge of how to open or run a restaurant. Almost 2 years of hard work and research went into the remodel of the bacon barn which had sat empty since 2002. With new equipment and fresh paint also came new ideas, and a very different menu than the one people had known at carolyns. We are very proud of what we have accomplished this far, and we look forward to being here and providing the best food possible for many years to come.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

It says backlights biggest letters on the roof. It's small bacon thick. . Coffee good if you could get it. All waiters seemed to barely knew how to do the job. B u t we got feed so all was good. Try it not for looks or service but for the food

Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

The server was pleasant. The cooks were out to lunch. We waited 45 minutes to be told our order had been botched. It came out in bit and pieces and it was still botched. The orders themselves were wrong and the bacon was over cooked and the blueberry pancake was burnt. We kept having to tell the server what it was we ordered. We ended up taking part of our order to go. I ended up giving my burnt pancake and conciliatory waffle to a possum. They reduced the price of our meal. I find it inexcusable for a restaurant to botch an order to that degree when it is plainly visible on the ticket. We won't return even though the server offered 25% off if we did make a second attempt.

Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucas r, Owner at Nonnie's Breakfast Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I am terribly sorry to read this knowing that our food and service are usually so much more. As part owner and cook i also find everything you described as inexcusable. I dont recall this happening so i probanly was on a break but Maybe not. No excuse would be good enough so i wont insult you by trying to give you one. I will say that most but not all of our custo,ers are more than pleased with our product and serviceand it kills me to know when someone is not. I hope that one day you change your mind and try us again, and on that day look back in the kitchen to find ,e or ask your server for me so i can personally assure that your food is perfectly prepared to your liking and is 100% on the house. Again i apologize for you bad experience and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

The best pulled pork pancakes ever! Homemade biscuits and gravy were also amazing! The coffee was a little weak for me. The service was amazing and the place was packed

Thank zacscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

The food and service are equally either absolutely Fabulous or Terrible! As long as you go in knowing that and are not in a hurry there shouldn't be a huge issue. Really yummy homemade toast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Went for breakfast during their posted open hours and the place was closed. From talking to someone else we found out it has been closed for months.

Thank 001010110110101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nonnie's Breakfast Barn also viewed

Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Nonnie's Breakfast Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing