We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wedding extravaganza!”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit. Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Patio with BBQ and propane heater
Private parking, entry and storage unit. New Level 2 EV Charger inside the storage unit.
Queen size Captain's bed with 600count linens
New LCD HD TV in Bedroom
Tile shower with double shower heads and grab bars
Shower with an assortment of soaps and hair care products. 4 sets of towels.
Ample counter top and mirrors. Blow dryer, curling iron and various lotions provided
Bedding and art rotated with seasons
Fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances including a diswasher
Washer and Dryer -Icemaker in freezer. Laundry and cleaning products provided
Queen size sofa bed with full 600 thread count linens.
LCD HD TV, Cable, BluRay DVD and surround sound systems in living room
Full sets of glass and stem ware
Table setting for 8
complete sets of pots, pans- toaster and blender
Coffee, French press, bean grinder and a large selection of teas
Generous assortment of seasonings
Coffee flavorings and  loaner growler
Cottage patio as seen from the 'Stairway to Heaven'
view looking up the 'Stairway to Heaven'
Bench at the top of the 'Stairway to Heaven'--listen to the river from here
Summer blossoms
Fall colors. New Level 2 EV charger inside Storage locker. Loaner ice chest and Beach Towels too.
Fall is a season for the plants to prepare for next Spring. It is also one of the greatest times to visit Bend and hike...
Winter peacefulness also signals ski and board season.
Vies of Bend from Pilot Butte in early winter. Seen are Broken Top and the Three Sisters
From Pilot Butte overlooking Bend. Middle and North Sisters, Black Crater, Mt Washington, Black Butte, Three Finger...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bend, Central Oregon, Oregon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
doeraeme
Galveston Island, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wedding extravaganza!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I can honestly say that our wedding would not have been the same without the 2nd Street Cottage and the owner, Don's, hospitality.

Where do I begin?!!

First, Don was so kind. From day one he gave us ideas for travel and for local attractions (we had never been to Bend).

Second, he was accommodating. The cottage was my "Bachelorete suite" the night before the wedding, the "hang out" the evening of the wedding, and the "honeymoon suite" there after. Don allowed our guests to visit and for the photographer to shoot pre-wedding photos in his incredible garden. Then we had a night under the stars on the patio post wedding!! If there was anything we needed Don was there to assist us.

Multiple times during our event my family commented on how fitting the cottage was to my style. As an Interior Design Major I have to say the home is exquisitely decorated; the floor plan is simple and sensible.

THE COMPLETE PACKAGE!!!

We can't wait for our next visit and to continue a 2nd Street Cottage tradition.
If you have a chance to stay, don't pass it up!!!

Tell Don the Mays say, "Hello!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you Angie. It was a pleasure to have been the host for such an important time in your lives.
I did not know you were an Interior Design Major so your comments about the furnishings are especially meaningful. Another aspect of your review touched on the ‘versatility’ of the Cottage and how it is suited for various uses. From Bachelorette party to a quite night under the stars, the Cottage seems to fit many of our guests living styles.
Of course we hope others will follow your advice and come ‘experience’ the Second Street Cottage for themselves. Marline and I look forward to your next visit and an update on your lives together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heidi433
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The best service ever!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We came all the way from Ft. Lauderdale, FL and the owner, Don, made us feel right at home, even calling us when we were on the way to make sure we knew exactly how to find the cottage. The accommodation was immaculate and impressive. Don makes sure you have everything you could possibly need and he even goes the extra mile to help you out with information about Bend and where to go. We ( 2 adults, 2 teenage boys)were traveling for 2 weeks to different locations in Washington and Oregon, and this was by far the very best experience we had with an accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Don's hospitality
Liked least: A little tight for 4 people.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. Our goal is to not only make a traveler’s visit to Bend enjoyable, but to try to eliminate the inevitable “surprises” we all dread, like being lost. Marline and I realize a vacation, much like life, has a limited amount of time. We try to answer typical questions well in advance of arrival to reduce the “surprise” factor. There is so much to see and experience in central Oregon, we want our guests to play and not worry about the small stuff. We've got you covered. Come enjoy and experience the difference at the Second Street Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregg Eis...
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A Gem in Bend”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay in Bend was fantastic thanks to Don's extra efforts and the perfect condition of this beautiful cottage. We enjoyed the beautiful landscaping and the deer visits. Don notified us of road closures due to fires that would impact our drive home, and suggested the best alternate route to get us home safely without any hassles. HIs local knowledge of the area helped steer us to sights we would have missed otherwise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Don's attention to detail, Couldn't have asked for more
Liked least: Can't think of a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Thanks for your thoughtful review. Having been is central Oregon 50 years (I was younger then-LOL), I have true knowledge of the area. While I fully respect guest space and privacy, if invited, I love to tell people about the places less traveled. I can offer alternative routes which can travel more interesting and/or efficient. Guest time in the area is limited and we try to think of things that will allow more play time and less hassle time. An example is we provide a Northwest Forest Pass to Cottagers. This is a simple added value. No wasted time finding a pass vendor and no additional expense for the guest. More time and money to play. Come see us again. DonP
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you for the terrific review. Marline and my goal is for our Cottagers' to walk in to a true home-away-from-home lodging experience. We do try to stock the Cottage with many of the commonly needed (desired) condiments, spices, and numerous other surprises. The travelers time in Bend is limited and we want our guests to spend their time doing the things they want rather than chasing down a bottle of Balsamic vinegar or a Northwest Forest Pass (we provide one as a courtesy). Just think, we save our guest 30 minutes finding a Pass vendor and the cost of the pass. While Julie was a guest, she mentioned she had never experienced such good high speed internet service in a vacation rental. She also mentioned that she needed and found a screw driver. It are these little things which add value and save traveler time for the fun stuff. We do look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ocean_bre...
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a pleasure it was staying at the Second Street cottage. We only stayed for two nights but had a wonderful time while we were there.
The cottage is located in the downtown area and it makes walking most places very easy. We were able to walk to most of the restaurants were interested in. The cottage itself is very comfortable, well furnished, and very clean. The pictures actually don't do service to just how inviting and well appointed the cottage is. It is clear that Don takes great care in its maintenance. He was also very responsive and easy to work with.
We will be sure to come back to Bend in the future and will definitely want to stay here when we do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely had anything and eveything we needed. Incredibly well maintained.
Liked least: Loved everything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2014
Thanks you two for the nice review. Being just a 4 minute walk across the Newport Ave bridge to downtown, it is a joy to walk to in Bend. The Cottage is also within walking distance to the emerging foodie businesses on Newport and Galveston Avenues. As for the pictures on the web site not doing the Cottage justice-you are right. We had a professional photographer shoot the Cottage but decided not to use those images since they seemed to "overstate" the space. We never want to disappoint and rather have Cottagers say "wow, this is really cool!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing