We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Setting”

The Armory Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Ironton
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Description: Operating out of the historic National Guard Armory that served the region for many years, Armory owners decided renovated the insides, maintain the installation ambience and launched a military theme based steak house. The Armory specializes in smoked meats and Amish baked goods. The Armory boasts a beautiful bar, ample dining room seating plus a large party room open for reservations. The eatery employs a well-established executive chef plus many find cooks. The Armory Smokehouse emerged as a destination restaurant and, today, draws customers from many long distant locations. Portions come ample and drinks reach the brim. You won’t go away hungry. The Armory serves only premium certified Angus beef and those in the kitchen understand the importance of taste along with presentation. We look forward to your visit. Once you’ve eaten at our table, we will look forward to your returns! Come taste and experience the Armory!
Restaurant details
Description: Operating out of the historic National Guard Armory that served the region for many years, Armory owners decided renovated the insides, maintain the installation ambience and launched a military theme based steak house. The Armory specializes in smoked meats and Amish baked goods. The Armory boasts a beautiful bar, ample dining room seating plus a large party room open for reservations. The eatery employs a well-established executive chef plus many find cooks. The Armory Smokehouse emerged as a destination restaurant and, today, draws customers from many long distant locations. Portions come ample and drinks reach the brim. You won’t go away hungry. The Armory serves only premium certified Angus beef and those in the kitchen understand the importance of taste along with presentation. We look forward to your visit. Once you’ve eaten at our table, we will look forward to your returns! Come taste and experience the Armory!
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel next door so this was convenient.
It was a popular place. They have a good variety of offerings.
The atmosphere was very cool.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Lostdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2021

Prices have raised very much. Food is not worth it. Service was not good. I sent them a message about our visit. Never heard back. Don't waste your time going there. There menu prices are high. And of course they blame COVID. That's just a handy dandy excuse.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Great food! Shrimp and grits are wonderful and so is the teriyaki bowl. Friendly staff up front. Love the honorable decor.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank bm135307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020

I ordered brisket but got pot roast. Look up the cosyt of each and you'll find pot roast less than a third the price of brisket. They don't even look alike. I tipped the waitress very well ; it's not her fault she works for people that would act like this. We will never go back.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jt_son_on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

Overpriced and dry mediocre bbq is what comes to mind. I only live a short drive from here and have been several times but it’s declined consistently since the opening. I didn’t notice the price prior to ordering but $10 for a small basket of pork rinds and cheese dip is excessive.

The pick two bbq plate with ribs and brisket were not good. The brisket had been overcooked and required a knife to cut. Proper brisket should be able to be cut apart with a fork it simply pulled apart. The ribs were very fatty, the membrane hadn’t been removed, and there were tons of cartilage still attached.

Those staying in the adjacent hotel should drive to somewhere else even if it’s less convenient than walking to this place.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank Reviewer45638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Armory Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to The Armory Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.