We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Heavenly”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sunrise at Penguin

Lounge for TV, reading or taking in ocean views.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge for TV, reading or taking in ocean views.
Sunrise from Lounge room. Bedroom No.1 with views of sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Lounge for TV, reading or taking in ocean views.
Sunrise from Lounge room.
Bedroom No.1 with views of sunrise
Bedroom No.2 with afternoon sun.
3rd Bedroom - 2 single beds.
Kitchen flowing thru dining  area to lounge room.
Large six seat dining table.
Kitchen's 'Turtle Cove' splash backs and futuristic hanging lights.
Bathroom with shower and cast Iron bath.
Hosts : Fran and Terry Owens.
Large rear Garden and fruit trees.
Fruit trees - apple and peach.
Penguin Beach.
Coastal village with 'Sunrise at Penguin' on the foreshore.
Hosts : Fran and Terry Owens.
Peaceful Bliss off front deck.
View looking over Penguin from jetty at dusk.
Pathway to our Watcombe Beach.
Foyer out onto the front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penguin, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
txnickib
Penguin, Australia
1 review
“Simply Heavenly”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

the If one could design a perfect vacation place Sunrise At Penguin would be the results!! My daughter (New South Wales) and i (Texas) spent ten lovely days here. It exceeded our expectations in every way: the view, location, decor, gardens, very comfortable beds and exceptional linen, spacios rooms , well appointed and a gracious host. We are looking forward to returning for a longer time. Thank you Terry!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, view and sound of waves;; the unexpected visit of the penguins at dusk one evening
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us at Penguin and have visited many of the wonderful places in our region of Tasmania which included the Food & Wine Conservatory at Parramatta Creek and Burnie's Hellyer Whiskey Distillery.
Being seasoned tourists, as you are, we appreciate your kind comments and it has been great meeting such friendly and warm guests from so far away. You are both a breath of fresh air - have a save trip home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKKKKAO
1 review
“It's a great place for people to relax”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks terry !!
He is a good man and very friendly. Let we have a great memory. There is a excellent location and offering comfortable rooms for tourists.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
These lovely Tiawanese people enjoyed their time in Penguin using our cooking facilities and spent the next day seeing the murals at Sheffield. Being able to hear the waves on the beach gave them a relaxing sleep before waking up to the sunrise in the morning with our ocean views. They wished to stay longer on their next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nientzucc
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“nice house with ocean view”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We all love the style of this house with real fresh flower and painting. It is spacious for kids to play .Kitchen is tidy and you can find anything you want so that we could have a nice dinner there.Terry went out of his way to make us feel welcome.We love to stay there again next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: there is no wash basin in the toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
This lovely family enjoyed the open spaces of our back yard for the children to play in the orchard and enjoyed a play on the beach only 30 metres in front of the accommodation. We were very pleased with the tidy way they all left the building and welcome them all back on their next visit to Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon D
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb location and great accommodation ”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The location of this house is fantastic - five minutes walk from the centre of the gorgeous, sleepy little seaside village of Penguin. The owner, Terry, was very helpful, friendly and communicative. He made us all feel very welcome and was sure to wave when I saw him around town.

The house itself is right across from the bay and there is nothing between you and stunning views out into Bass Strait. It has a modern and well appointed kitchen, great dining and lounge facilities and three very comfortable bedrooms. A huge outdoor entertaining area out the back, separated laundry and a garage to store equipment top off this great house.

There are many great things about Penguin itself to be a draw card ... but to stay here was just perfect. Highly recommended ... especially early on a cool morning as you watch the sun rising over the ocean from the lounge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
This lovely family from just south of Brisbane were searching for a holiday with something different and found it at Penguin. After arriving at Launceston airport, their journey to Penguin involved sampling fruit icecream and fresh raspberries at the Elizabeth Town Raspberry Farm - a real treat for John's two young daughters. On settling at Penguin their next excitement was seeing penguins at the Burnie Platform next to the Makers Workshop, visiting the Penguin Market and finally visiting Cradle Mountain. Being extremely tidy and friendly guests, they are most welcome for any other visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it. ”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed five nights at Sunrise at Penguin. Loved every minute of it. It's a great place to base yourself while exploring the North West corner of Tasmania. The house was spotless and comfortable. Terry the owner is very accommodating and a wealth of knowledge about the local area. We also had a small problem with a leak in the shower head, Terry had it repaired within a couple of hours. Great service. Thanks Terry we had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
What a refreshing couple David and Lynn were while staying in our little hamlet of Penguin. Very friendly and keen to explore the NW Coast of Tasmania as well the beauty that Penguin has to offer. The perfect weather did help them both use their soft-top sports car to the max plus take in the warm summer breezes. The closeness to the beach was taken advantage of by regularly going for strolls around the many bays and having coffees at the local cafes. Being from Newcastle was a simple drive to Tasmania for them, using the Spirit of Tasmania, and then venturing to Launceston for a prestigious car muster after relaxing at Penguin. We appreciated the respect they showed towards our vacation house and would welcome them back with open arms in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;