We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
52
29
21
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
29
21
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco village port arthur bay retreat drinking water small menu home grown room was clean sized bed self contained a great place to stay two nights motel shower microwave deck accommodation tasmania
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We were welcomed with open arms. Once at our room, I was astonished that we could park our car in front of our room. Also there was a table to eat outside with chairs naturally.

Inside our bedroom, we had a double bed and a single bed. They were both comfortable.

We had a table with chairs inside as well.

We also had a fridge and a microwave.

They recommended to take a 5 minute shower, if possible, as there was a drought. That can happen.

We enjoyed our room. It was comfy!

Room Tip: All the bedrooms are the same
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The room was clean but very dated. The complex itself was quite tun down. Found the lack of fresh running water an inconvenience in regards to brushing teeth, etc. Bed was also like s slab of concrete.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaz4370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParsonsBayRetreat, Owner at Parsons Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Sharon,

I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us or feel that you could mention these issues to us directly.

Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about our water supply; the whole Tasman Peninsula has no town water and our supply is tank water (mainly from the rain, but also creek and dams). When guests check-in, we mention that you should not drink the water from the tap; it is absolutely fine for brushing your teeth. I apologise if this was not clear to you. We provide fresh drinking water in your room, filtered to health department standards.

As you can appreciate, we don't stay in our own rooms so it is great for us to receive constructive criticism. I have noted your comment about the bed being hard and I will act on this straight away.

Best wishes,
Susie and Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The small township of Nubeena is about 10km from Port Arthur and all guests at this motel must surely be heading to the old convict settlement. There really isn't anything of note in Nubeena itself. Parsons Bay Retreat has renovated its basic motel units and the new decor is very smart - well done! Wonderful big bed too. The owners are part of an adjoining alternative lifestyle "eco village" with about 30 residents aiming to live more sustainably. When we stayed there they were about to open a cafe on site (largely vegetarian and vegan of course!), using as much home-grown produce as possible. It looked good and will undoubtedly be the best place to eat in town!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TimSWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed here for 1 Night and Booked through Agoda. This a bit far from Port Arthur Historic site (around 12 km). The rooms were well equipped and clean. The shower was terrible, however this may be because of this was an eco village and far from any township. Visitors must carry plenty of drinking water.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Krisyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParsonsBayRetreat, Owner at Parsons Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Krisy,

Thank-you for your feedback.

I am sorry there were some issues that affected your stay with us. Whilst we make every attempt to ensure people enjoy their stay with us, there are some issues that are beyond our control...like the intermittent water pressure! You are right, the water in the rooms can be a little lacking in pressure sometimes as we are on tank water supply (and don't have the benefit of the pressure that usually comes with being on the city's mains water supply). The water pressure can also be affected by the number of people showering at the same time.

I am a little surprised with your comment "visitors must carry plenty of drinking water". We provide jugs of beautiful, fresh, filtered Tassie rainwater in your rooms and also a "refill station" for when this runs out; I apologise if we omitted telling you this when welcoming you on your arrival.

Best wishes,
Susie and Karen
Owners - Parson's Bay Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The room itself was clean and ready when we got there; we arrived after checking and the lights were on and we had plenty of drinking water already in the fridge and on the counter. The breakfast was great and they had so many recommendations of walks to do around here and offered to lend us rain gear as well! Highly recommend !!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews