We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't fault this accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Freycinet Haven

Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Living room View from the front deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Front of house
Living room
View from the front deck
Kitchen
Living room
Queen bedroom with ensuite
King or twin single bedroom
Second queen bedroom
Bedroom 4
Kitchen
Dining
Main bathroom
Ensuite
Laundry with Bosch appliances
View of Hazards mountains
View from sofa in the living room
The house is positioned adjacent to Freycinet National Park
View from the front deck
The dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PepandCo
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stinky septic tank ruined the vibe”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled from Perth to stayed with my family of 4, my elderly parents and my brother who came out from his home in LA to spend some time with us. We were greeted with the stench of the septic system, which the neighbor told us was a regular occurrence. When we reported it to the owners they had it fixed within a 48 hours and told us the system often became overloaded when there were a lot of people in the house. They said it was particularly problematic during the peak period when there were back to back visitors.

My Dad's health is failing and this was to be an opportunity for him to sit on the deck outside and watch the birds, however we were all confined to the inside to avoid the smell. Breakfast in the morning sun, reading on the back porch and evening BBQ's were also not an option.

I feet it is very dishonest to promote your rental as suitable for 8 when the septic tank can only cope with 4. The owners were also happy to take our money at peak rates and book the property solid through school holidays without leaving a few days in between to give the septic system a chance to process the waste.

My experience is obviously unique given that other travelers didn't mention it, however the neighbor and the owners say its a common occurrence. Maybe it's only a great place to stay outside the Christmas School holidays.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Dear Pep and Co,
We are very sorry that your stay was spoiled by our malfunctioning envirocyle. We did have it repaired within the 48 hours of your call and have now replaced it with a much larger unit to cope with the large numbers of guests over the Christmas period. We are happy to negotiate a refund for part of your stay due to the inconvenience it caused you. Kind regards, Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denny014
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this accommodation”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We went as part of three groups of families staying in Coles Bay at three different locations. This place was not the most expensive of the three venues, but it was the best. Private, quiet, clean, contemporary, spacious and functional. So close to the beach that we could walk there in our swimwear in 5 minutes. We could also walk to the local cafe and little supermarket in 5 minutes. It rained for a few days but there were books, games, magazines, DVDs - something for everyone. The owners were very friendly and easy to deal with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TassiePau...
Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our 'haven' for 6 nights!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our group was 7 adults. The room/bedding configuration was perfect - including ample cupboard space. The beds and linen are quality. The open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area is spacious - we never felt like we were 'tripping over one another'. The bench with high chairs was perfect. The kitchen was well appointed with everything needed for meal preparation. Great touches of CD player (with iPod/iPhone dock), DVD player (with a good range of DVD's) and coffee machine (bring your own coffee).
Modern and clean; quiet, peaceful location - close to all the National Park and Coles Bay have to offer. House is in an elevated position (so you enjoy a view), however be prepared for a slight uphill when returning from a walk. We found ourselves driving to most places.
Overall, the house suited our group perfectly and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, modern and well appointed.
Liked least: The outlook from the rear of the house and the occassional odour from the sewer/recycled water system (maybe not an issue in colder months)..
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bpilli
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A great choice of accommodation for a diverse group of adults: artists, foodies and walkers. The house was very clean and well designed. The kitchen equipped with all you need to whip up a storm after a great day's exploration of the area. Front deck, terrific for admiring the view and drawing; the back for a quiet read with a glass of local wine..

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayde S
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Made our holiday!”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 4 couples travelling from Queensland - with 4 separate rooms and 2 bathrooms this house was perfect for our stay in Coles Bay. The house is presented beautifully and is very clean. We enjoyed reading the guest book, hearing about what others have enjoyed, and can see the owners have taken on feedback very well. Everything you could think of that you need was included in the kitchen, and laundry. The heating was a bonus for us queenslanders travelling in July! Loved the electric blankets and towel warmers. The house is in an excellent location - walking distance to the beach, national park, the local cafe and convenience store. We spent a day walking to Wineglass Bay. Can highly recommend the cafe Tombolo also. This place really made our holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, and the view over the Hazards
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing