We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage in the wilderness.”
other travellers have booked this property
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Mezzanine bedroom showing bespoke double bed. 'Tassie Barrel' wood heater, entertainment area and rustic, timber staircase.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Cradle Mountain Love Shack in winter
Mezzanine bedroom showing bespoke double bed.
'Tassie Barrel' wood heater, entertainment area and rustic, timber staircase.
Inside cabin view looking from lounge to dining area.
Rustic timber dining setting
Kitchen
Lounge/living area
Our alpine cabin in the mist
Wombat in the snow
Cheeky Brush-tailed Possum on the cabin deck
Spotted-tail Quoll
Albino Echidna (spiny anteater)
Bennett's Wallaby
Sulphur-crested Cockatoo
Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoo
Yellow Wattle Bird
Tasmanian Waratah
Mountain Rocket
Coral Fern
Everlasting Daisy
Cradle Mountain with Dove Lake in foreground
Bridal Veil Falls (2 hour return walk from the cabin)
Moonrise over Daisy Dell
Kentish Dawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RoziKaye
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage in the wilderness.”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We totally enjoyed our stay, everything we needed was provided and more by our gracious hosts. The surrounding forest and wildlife was amazing. Temperature got to -6 (winter) but we were still very cosy. Wonderful experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very authentic cottage and experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack. Our guests comfort is always our priority especially during the winter months.
Many thanks.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superhapp...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as isolated as you think. Still, romantic memorable and comfortable stay!”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

If you plan to stay here you need to understand something about it’s location which isn’t made clear on the website or anywhere else. It’s secluded in the bush, however not in the way you probably pictured. It’s similar to a granny flat, in that it’s located in the backyard of the owners property. You can see their house from the front windows as it’s only 50-100 metres away, it is also quite close to a visible main road (however you won’t be bothered by street noise). We did still thoroughly enjoy our stay and would recommend this place, however were disappointed as it wasn’t as isolated as promised so this took away some of the experience for us. This could have been avoided had the description and images of the place been less misleading. You should be aware of this if you are hoping to be truly secluded on your trip.

Dru and Dave greeted us on arrival and made sure we had everything we needed.

The shack itself is beautiful (inside) and cosy. A lot of effort has gone into making it homely and cosy as possible. The kitchen is spacious with plenty of room, and well stocked with a variety of items. A generous and delicious selection for breakfast is provided, including juice, bread, yogurt, bacon along with additional treats and snacks. There’s a separate table to dine at before moving on to the loungeroom to relax.

The lounge area itself is a comfortable space and conveniently located by the fire. The lounge however needs to be replaced - the base is fine but its sides are homemade large chunks of cut out foam covered with a sheet. It’s very uncomfortable as the chunks are too big to allow you to sit comfortably (and we are both quite slender!) and makes it hard to sit for long periods to relax and watch a movie. The movie selection was quite dated and old, so I would suggest bringing some DVDs.

The fireplace is well stocked and does a brilliant job warming the whole shack. The bathroom is small however no issues at all for us.

There is plenty of wildlife about, and you will enjoy feeding them the pellets provided from the porch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we were very relaxed and had a romantic weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Barrel fire
Liked least: Uncomfortable lounge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
We're really sorry that your stay with us was not quite what you anticipated. Whilst our home/manager's residence is situated down the hill from the cabin, approximately 70 metres away, the only contact we have with guests is at the - necessary - 'meet and greet' on arrival. (or if guests come to us with any needs or queries) With no other accommodation on the property and the only other residents being the native wildlife, we pride ourselves in offering absolute privacy to our guests on our 105 acre bush block.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place for 2 wilderness lovers.”
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I discovered this place on the net and fell in love with it from the start. The reviews were all excellent so we took a risk not knowing the area at all.
When we drove up we couldn't believe the setting with the trees and the stream etc. Once we met the owners Dru and Dave and heard the story of the place we almost loved it as much as they did. Everything was awesome from the generous gifts left for us and the effort to cater for my wife who is gluten intolerant. Then we met the local wildlife. Brilliant.
Do the walk up the back to the other creek. Stunning scenery.
We had originally tried to stay in Cradle Mountain and we were concerned staying 20km away but after seeing the busyness of Cradle Mountain we were glad with the decision to stay at the LOVE SHACK!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you took the risk and were rewarded appropriately. We try in all cases to attend to our guests individual needs and requirements as a matter of importance in the quality of their experience here at Cradle Mountain Love Shack.
Kind regards.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kleinarl, Austria
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jan 2015
Many thanks for your kind words. We strive to make each and every one of our guests stays a memorable one. One they will recommend to their fiends and indeed one they will want to experience again. We hope to see you again sometime in the not too distant future.
Dave & Dru.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mf99ccd
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Escape and Rejuvenate!!”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

When our accommodation plans elsewhere were thwarted, we phoned explaining our predicament and enquired, hoping there was a chance of a vacancy. Yes there was, but the hosts Dru & Dave would need an hour or so to prepare. The welcome we received was overwhelming, they could not have done more to make us comfortable and "at home". Welcome treats, a lit barrel fire and a hospitable chat over a glass of wine they agreed to share with us. The cabin is quiet, cosy and very comfortable with wildlife abounding...Dru feeds the wallabies in the evenings and whilst they stare at strangers suspiciously, they will eagerly take the food pellets supplied from anyone prepared to share. There is no TV, telephone reception if you are with Optus (limited Telstra) or internet.....but this is a blessing, a true escape from the rat race. There is a supply of books to read, DVDs, CDs and even the old style VCR movie to watch sitting in front of the fire with a glass of wine...the peace and quiet is deafening, the stress of the rat race is forced to leave your body!! We were lucky enough to be staying the night of the solar eclipse and were able to witness the "blood moon" in the most heavenly surroundings!! would love to be there (and we will!) in the warmer months to sit and enjoy a quite pre-dinner drink on the veranda enjoying the stillness and peace Thank you Dru and Dave, for you hospitality and warm welcome for your unexpected/unplanned guests!! You definitely have your very own slice of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet, and fresh air..and friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Only staying one night!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to help whenever we can, especially when your plans go wrong leaving you high and dry as it were.
We can't arrange an eclipse of the moon for everyone. But we can strive to make your stay eclipse all others and be a highlight of your holiday.
Love to see you and enjoy your company again in the warmer months ahead.
Regards from all including our wildlife.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$159
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing