We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private, Breezy, Spacious Hilltop Perch with Bird...”
other travellers have booked this property
Steps through the garden to get to the front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steps through the garden to get to the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Steps through the garden to get to the front door
View from trail
Kitchen
River rock path to shower
View at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelapa, Costalegre

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna W
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private, Breezy, Spacious Hilltop Perch with Bird Life Galore”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend of a couple of years and I stayed at the Casa for 2 weeks for our first tropical holiday together ever. We have a long distance relationship so normally only have weekends together, so we were looking for a lot of privacy, few distractions, a place with a beach and some wildlife, but overall not too much to do, That is exactly what Casa Viaje provided!!
We loved our slow mornings where the sun actually shone in on us in bed as the windows are open air. We made breakfast at home daily, and the kitchen was well equipped for that. We did bring our own coffee, tea, teapot, and bodum from home, however.
There are three decks, the upper one off the bedroom being our most used for reading and general lounging and watching the ample bird life do their thing. We did a lot of that!!
Be aware that the Casa is about a 6 minute hike up a sandy rocky trail which we kind of liked, but people,with mobility issues or in not the best of shape may find that challenging, Pack light, but definitely bring a head lamp!! We really liked that the Casa was located up from our favourite end of the beach.
We interacted most with our host Jody, and even though he was in Oregon, he was very responsive to any concerns we had. His father in law Jose in Yelapa was also sweet. We wished our Spanish was better so we could have communicated with him more - he doesn't speak English.
Cautions? I'd bring my own pillow next time. It gets very windy at times up on that hill so I actually wore my wool hoody once or twice. We weren't planning to use our phones much, but incidentally, my phone had zero service pretty well everywhere in Yelapa including the Casa, while my boyfriend had good service. I use Telus, he uses Rogers.

I'd highly recommend Casa Viaje to couples in at least reasonably good shape, looking for privacy, romance, bird life, open air living, and not a whole heckuva lot to do

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, kitchen, ample decks, open air, bird life
Liked least: Pillows uncomfortable, bathroom only had a curtain for a door, which blew around a lot in the wind right in front of the toilet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SmallWond...
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Private Yelapa Casa with Amazing Panoramic Views”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Casa Viaje and felt as though we were on top of the World...

We were happy to meet both Jody & Veronica in Yelapa upon our arrival. They both went out of their way to make sure that our stay would be comfortable.
The casa is spacious with amazing views from the second floor sundecks. The location is very private and quiet, distancing the sounds of late night music and blind roosters.

-Each morning we were greeted with the sounds of parakeets & Chachalacas flying through the valley, and the sight of a beautiful sky from the bedroom window, as the sun ascended over the mountains.
Many late nights were spent star gazing from the bedroom sundecks.-

We are frequent visitors to Yelapa and highly recommend Casa Viaje based on its privacy, location (short walk to the beach vs. the pueblo), views, ambiance & spaciousness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - Views
Liked least: It was very cold to take a shower early in the morning due to high winds passing through the open air bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
73michael...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“What a great place to relax, unwind and forget the worries back home!”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We loved everything about this casa. The airiness of the bedroom - the sun streaming in, (through the glassless windows) in the morning, the sounds of the birds and the utter tranquility and restfulness of the place. It is a bit of a trek to get there, but totally worth it, and we felt much fitter by the end of the week. While it is very comfortable it is not luxurious, but if you like gazing out of the shower (no glass in the windows) and looking at the trees that surround this house, then this is the place for you. Jody and Veronica made sure we were safely installed and their recommendation of their friend Geraldo (the capitan) was an excellent one. He took us in his boat to far off deserted beaches and went out of his way to make sure we saw what we wanted to. Make sure you take lots of cash (most restaurants do not take credit cards) and no ATMs here! The beach restaurants have great food and heavenly margaritas! Pack light - or arrange for Geraldo's son to help with the luggage (we did just that for our departure) for a small fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: No staples (coffe, milk, basic food) in the house when we arrived
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
You guys are awesome and always welcome back at Yelapas Casa Viaje!!

Mucho Gracias
Jody y Veronica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish M
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful getaway!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It was everything I expected and more. What a wonderful escape to a beautiful village. Casa Viaje was comfortable and well attended. We were truly relaxed and enjoyed our time in Yelapas. Jody y Veronica sincerely want the best for their guests. We will make a point to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the Casa, comfortable but simple.
Liked least: My experience was such a good one, I don't have anything negative to say.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing