We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, huge space, peaceful and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Orchard Lodge

Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio
Orchard Lodge & Studio Kitchen/Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Studio
Orchard Lodge & Studio
Kitchen/Dining
Garden Area
Front Door to Studio
View from living room window
Dining Area
Bathroom
View from bedroom window
Butchers - 2 minutes walk
Shakespeare Inn - next to butchers
Bell Inn - fine food and ales
Four Alls - with riverside garden
Welford's famous maypole
Thatched cottages
Welford church
Orchard Lodge - Main House
Welford Wier
View from bridge into Welford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Welford-on-Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
liz_truet...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, huge space, peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful location, set in the countryside which is just perfect for a weekend getaway. My boyfriend and I booked spontaneously, we got a great deal, and although we had to travel from Kent it was well worth it. Sheelagh gave us a great welcome, told us about the room and all the information we needed, as well as providing us with a good knowledge of the area. We used the kitchen for dinner on Friday night and for breakfast both mornings, and it was perfect for everything we needed. Even if you fancy an evening in, it is so peaceful and relaxing it could definitely be worth it.
During our stay here we visited the local pub, the Shakespeare Inn, which is full of locals and provides you with a good atmosphere and nice drinks! Within a walking distance as well. We also went and visited Stratford upon Avon, about a 10 minute drive, and saw Shakespeare's house and took in all that was happening in the local area. It is great for all sorts of things touristy including shopping and sightseeing! We also booked tickets to see a play at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre for just 16 pounds each which was simply fantastic! If you can do it, then do it! We went and ate at a curry house afterwards and although it was late they couldn't of been more willing to help and to serve you food. People were still coming in at 11.30pm! On our final day, we checked out at 11am and decided to see some more of the beautiful countryside. We drove through 5 villages in the Cotswolds and stopped off in some places to get out and have a look around. This is definitely worth doing if you are not in a rush to get home. We had lunch in Bourton-on-the-Water and it was beautiful.
For the money that we paid, and for the location, and the quickness and easieness of it all, not only would we visit this Orchard Lodge again, we will also definitely be using Holiday Lettings again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space we had, the location it was in, the peaceful surroundings and the chance to switch off!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodneyrul...
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“So good, we'll be returning!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Our weekend began with a lovely welcome from Sheelagh. Sheelagh and Alan offer well appointed and comfortable accommodation in the Studio at the gorgeous setting of Orchard Lodge in quintessential Welford on Avon. We enjoyed the 4 mile walk following the route of the river into Stratford (and an easy bus ride back!). We followed Alan and Sheelagh's dining recommendations of the Bell in Welford and Thai Kingdom in Stratford and we thoroughly enjoyed both of them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nezbert1
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent rural retreat”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The apartment is excellent, the photos don't do it justice size wise, it's more than big enough for two people. The fitments are all high quality throughout.There's also a storage for clothes at the top of the stairs. Orchard Lodge is located up a quiet lane which only the residents use (no through traffic )so it is nice and peaceful.There is a full welcome pack which includes map of the village,routes for walks that start and finish in the village as well as contact numbers for both Sheelagh and Alan. All in all a very nice place to stay,also very good value for money,yes you can pay less in a B+B, but you will not get the space you get at Orchard Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality & comfort in Welford-On-Avon”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent 3 nights here in late May 2015. The studio apartment is an open plan living and sleeping area as it appears in photographs and sits in the A frame roof above a large garage attached to the proprietor’s residence. We didn’t seem to have any trouble finding it in Duck Lane, just go past the sign that indicates access to residents only and the property will be on the right hand side with house appearing as it does in the photograph and Duck Lane finishes in a dead end. Keys were collected from the owner Sheelagh and she greeted us on arrival and explained the features of the apartment before we settled in and kindly provided some advice for local supplies and directions to sites and the like. Professionally presented, clean and attractively set-up for the short-stay traveller it was a most comfortable and enjoyable time. The apartment itself didn’t have a clothes washer, but that might be available elsewhere, and we managed without it, but if needed I suggest enquire with Sheelagh further. There was plenty of room to park, Wifi was effective and the kitchenette (including hotplates, oven and refrigerator) had all you needed for the short term stay and there is a good supply of information about equipment in the studio as well as tourist and local advice. The village is attractive and walking around the backs of properties along the river was a pleasant early evening break and quieter experience after visiting some of the proximate and busier tourist sites of Stratford, Warwick and Coventry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Located in nice village
Liked least: You do have to aclimatise to A frame roof studio settings as you can ocassionally bump your head in proximity to the walls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet G
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely studio in a perfect location”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked this accommodation because it looked lovely, and had received some very good reviews. We were not disapponted! Sheelagh and Alan could not have been more welcoming or helpful and the studio itself is light and airy. I had a bit of a problem with the wi-fi but managed to work round it. Sheelagh even offered to let me work in her office which was over and above the call of duty. All in all, a relaxing break in a lovely part of the country. I would recommend this without hesitation. I would also recommen the Bell in the village for wonderful food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$67
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing