We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Northumberland Cheese Company
Attraction details
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Whilst their website does say the cafe is only accessible by stairs the only option for any one unable to climb the stairs is to sit outside in a rather unattractive farmyard. The shop, also upstairs, is disappointing except for their own range of cheese, but amazingly the lady serving knew absolutely nothing about the cheese on sale! We left disappointed and wished we hadn't bothered to make the detour off the A1. As we didn't eat I can't comment on the food.

Thank geoff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

HI Geoff. Thank you for your comments. It is difficult to offer much consolation for this one, because this review refers mainly to our circumstances: you simply cannot access our café if stairs are difficult for you. We are very disappointed about this too (this comes up often in reviews and short of moving location, there is nothing that we can do about it, as our building is so old, the stairs would not permit any sort of stair lift). We have been very busy recently, and we have a member of staff missing due to an operation, and due to this, we have had to get a locum waitress to cover shifts. She has had to learn everything very quickly, so I'm really sorry she wasn't able to give you much information. I'm really sad that you found our shop 'disappointing', but please, do tell me your suggestions, because we would love to know what you would've liked to see. We have the courtyard to try our best to accommodate customers unable to climb the stairs: it's not ideal, but it is the best we can do with the space. I have to say that it's the first time someone has called it an 'unattractive farmyard'! We are on the Blagdon Estate, and our premises is on a working farm, so I guess it is an experience... but we normally find that customers love sitting outside? But I understand that choosing to sit outside, and being forced to sit outside are different things. Please accept our apologies for our circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cheese soup"
in 7 reviews
"scones"
in 9 reviews
"cheese company"
in 5 reviews
"amazing cheese"
in 2 reviews
"food was fine"
in 2 reviews
"cheese making"
in 4 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 4 reviews
"lovely little cafe"
in 2 reviews
"cheese counter"
in 3 reviews
"postcode"
in 2 reviews
"nettles"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 5 reviews
"fab"
in 3 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

Enjoyed a visit here with family in June 2017 - the food on offer was extensive, well priced and tasty. Would recommend a visit if in the area, even for a taste of the specialty cheeses they have on offer. The site itself is quite far off the beaten track but the postcode and a good sat nav will get you there.

Thank scotref2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review; you're right, we are off the beaten track, but we like to think we're worth the trip :) Please come and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

I bought a cheese making day at the Northumberland Cheese Company's Farm as a Christmas present for the missus. What a fabulous experience we had. Rather than a group visit, this was laid on for just the 2 of us and we were made to feel a part of the team for a day. Martin Atkinson, the Production Manager, had a leisurely chat about the Farm and what it did, and took us on a tour. Craig Smith, one of the 3 Cheesemakers, then spent the rest of the day with us; answering our questions, showing us the process from milk to truckle, and getting us involved in making the cheese. The Company still has a real family feel to it despite being bought out last year. Nothing was too much trouble for the people in the Dairy or in the attached cafe. Lunch, drinks and a tasting session all included in the price. If you like cheese, do this !!

Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hi Andy, thank you for leaving us such a nice review. We'll be sending you your cheese in 3 months, so we really hope that you enjoy it! Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely cafe with good coffee and a delicious selection of cheese. The woman who served us at the cheese counter was helpful and friendly and let us sample the nettle cheese which was really tasty. They have a selection of cakes, scones and light lunches as well as hot and cold drinks. Our cheese scone with chilli chutney was delicious. However, when we asked for jam with our scone instead of butter we were refused and told it was only for the fruit scones, despite offering to pay for it. It's a little ridiculous if that is indeed the case!

Thank KirstyEkua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

The cafe was nice, great coffees and loved the nettle cheese. However I asked for jam with my cheese scone instead of butter and the lady said this wasn't allowed and that the jam was only for the fruit scone. I even offered to pay extra for jam but still said I couldn't have any. Thought that was a bit odd since there was clearly jam available.

Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hi Danielle, thank you so much for your review. Well... this is a puzzle! We are so sorry that you didn't get your jam: there is absolutely no reason why you wouldn't be allowed jam with your cheese scone (we can just put it through the till as cheese scone with chutney)! The only thing that we can think is that you were perhaps served by one of our newer members of staff, and they perhaps thought that the customer had to adhere to the menu exactly! We will do some investigation our end to see what's happened, but please do visit us again: we promise you can have jam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Cheese Company also viewed

Been to Northumberland Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;