We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cafe”

Northumberland Cheese Company
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

The cafe was nice, great coffees and loved the nettle cheese. However I asked for jam with my cheese scone instead of butter and the lady said this wasn't allowed and that the jam was only for the fruit scone. I even offered to pay extra for jam but still said I couldn't have any. Thought that was a bit odd since there was clearly jam available.

Thank DanielleT1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hi Danielle, thank you so much for your review. Well... this is a puzzle! We are so sorry that you didn't get your jam: there is absolutely no reason why you wouldn't be allowed jam with your cheese scone (we can just put it through the till as cheese scone with chutney)! The only thing that we can think is that you were perhaps served by one of our newer members of staff, and they perhaps thought that the customer had to adhere to the menu exactly! We will do some investigation our end to see what's happened, but please do visit us again: we promise you can have jam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cheese soup"
in 7 reviews
"scones"
in 10 reviews
"lunches and afternoon teas"
in 2 reviews
"amazing cheese"
in 2 reviews
"cheese making"
in 4 reviews
"lovely little cafe"
in 2 reviews
"cheese counter"
in 3 reviews
"postcode"
in 2 reviews
"nettles"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 6 reviews
"fab"
in 3 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

An 'interesting' drive from the north - tackling a small humpback bridge which only allows cars and vans no bigger than VW campers! You arrive in cheesy heaven when you ascend the steps to the Cheese Loft Café. We were spoilt for choice ... but had already decided that the Cheese Lovers' Afternoon tea was the thing for us - marrying two of our food passions.

The only slight 'complaint' was not knowing which sandwich held which cheese ... but we loved the cheese tasting notes on the table. Yes, we could have asked, but they were unexpectedly short staffed for the day and working really hard to keep everyone happy and served quickly, so we didn't like to trouble them.

The day was too hot to allow us to sample the cheesy soup, so we'll have to go back again when the weather is more British.

Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Hi Clare, Thank you so much for your review. The humpback bridge is certainly just a wee bridge isn't it?! The feedback on the cheese sandwiches is great, thank you for that. Please do come and see us again and sample our cheese soup!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We spotted the sign when on our way to the garden centre this morning and decided to investigate as we fancied coffee. It was one of those spontaneous decisions that works out brilliantly. Kids had soft drinks and cookies and hubby and I ordered coffees and a cheese scone with cheese and chutney to share. Staff made a mistake and made 2 scones. However; this worked out brilliantly as I think we'd have been disappointed with half of it because it was so yummy. We let them know when it came to pay that we had had 2. They apologised but we were more than happy to pay. We polished off every last crumb! Haha! We will definitely be back. We also bought some of the smoked cheese. It's delicious! Lovely little cafe, and friendly and attentive service. Thank you.

Thank MummypigLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy that you stumbled across us too (cheese scones are a good bet with us). Come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Great selection of cheese as well as a good place for lunches and afternoon teas. Our favourite is the nettle cheese x

Thank Dayspring329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for a lovely review, and you're in good company: the Nettle cheese is our bestseller! Please come and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Friends had recommended the cheese soup so I visited specifically for that, and I wasn't disappointed.
The cafe is well presented and has a welcoming feeling.

Thank Willatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charliesalesmanager, Director of Sales at Northumberland Cheese Company, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

That's lovely, thank you! Did you know you can buy our cheese soup to take away? We sell it frozen in the shop! Please come and see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberland Cheese Company also viewed

Cramlington, Northumberland
Bedlington, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberland Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing