We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff accepting closure pity as a sense of pride to the Company in service and quality”
Review of Jamie's Italian - CLOSED

Jamie's Italian
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: JAMIE’S ITALIAN Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning.
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Booked a table for 2 for JAMIE OLIVERS ITALIAN EXPERIENCE apprehensive at first as to news of the restuarant was due to close
But from the point of booking to our leaving we experienced a team dedicated to giving their customers the ITALIAN EXPERIENCE we booked
The food was excellent full of flavour and generous portions and the Staffs attitude was outstanding under the circumstances with not a hint of bad feelings as the were due to be unemployed after Mothers Day
TAKE NOTE OTHER ESTABLISHMENTS IN THE AREA WHERE THE STAFF THINK THEY ARE DOING THE CUSTOMER A FAVOUR ..HERE IS A GREAT TEAM ON THE MARKET SOON ..Ta
Hanks and good luck ...

Thank dws1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Good morning,

Thanks for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon.. perhaps in different branch of Jamies Italian

Kind regards

Kingston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018

I am a big fan of Jamie Oliver as a chef and past visits to his Kingston restaurant have been much enjoyed. The prices were perhaps over-pitched but for the experience it was worth it. I did not know it was due to close early in March when we visited, but the signs were there. The restaurant was quiet so the ambience was less buzzy than normal. The set menu was less attractive than previously. The real tell tale was the carte des vins where more than half the choices of reds were not available. Considering that the staff must have been aware of the closure they were surprisingly unaffected by the imminent closure, so full marks to them. Our meal was ok but not up to the standard we were used to having. Things in the restaurant trade must be really difficult if a brand apparently as well-established as Jamie's was is in trouble. Pity, because he has so much to offer through his own very distinctive approach to cuisine.

Thank EricSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Good morning Eric,

Thanks for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon

Kind regards

Kingston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Let me start by saying that I love all of Jamie Oliver's shows, cook books and recipes and couldn't wait to try out his restaurant. Unfortunately even though the ambience is funky the chairs are not very comfortable. I had mushrooms for starters which were on the raw side rather than cooked and the pasta was basic. So will stick to buying his books and watching his shows but no return here. Shame.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, General Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Good Afternoon ,

Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your recent experience in the restaurant .

We are very sorry, that we were unable to meet your expectation .

If there is anything else you would like to share it with us or there is something I can do for you please don't hesitate to contact me on sylwia.wolk@jamiesitalian.com


Kind Regards


Sylwia Wolk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We had the nut roast and the chicken. Service was good, ambience was lovely and the food was very good. Great to have a really nice vegetarian roast dinner!

Thank MA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Good morning, ,

Thanks for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon

Kind regards
Kingston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

We’ve eaten here a few times. Staff are usually good and the food has always pleaded. Can be a little pricey but overall very happy.

Thank AndyJG247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie's Italian R, Manager at Jamie's Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Good morning,

Thanks for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon

Kind regards
Kingston Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing