We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
270
226
103
41
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
226
103
41
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub function room hampshire suite greene king ironing board comfortable bed wedding reception sunday lunch full english breakfast tea and coffee cooked breakfast family room overnight stay stayed for one night car park yogurt luke
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

The rooms were very good and nicely appointed, the beds were very comfortable. The restaurant was mostly pub grub and we waited but decided to leave before getting a table, it wasn’t busy but we still waited. Breakfast was disappointing, food not hot, just a few little things let it down overall but still a good place to choose to stay

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GP1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear GP1357,

Thank you for your recent review. Please accept my apologies that the breakfast was not hot. I will make sure our chefs get this right. lovely to read that the hotel was very good and beds comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Can't praise this venue enough and our wedding organiser Sam who from start to finish was amazing. Attention to detail was more than we could of wished for and look back with fond memories of the day.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank clare572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Clare572,

Thank you so much for having your wedding at the Ely with us. We really enjoyed having you here and all your guests. Myself and the team here send you our best wishes for the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Booked a double room for one night.
Receptionist very hospitable warm welcome.
Room was very modern and very well decorated with all facilities, tea making, television all you need .
Over all very nice hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Devondutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Guest Relations Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Devondutch,

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you enjoyed your night with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Family get together for the Sunday carvery and wished we had gone to the chip shop!

Of the five meals ordered none were worth the money charged!

None of the vegetables were cooked properly, roast potatoes had been boiled momentarily but not roasted, and the gravy was little better than dishwater.

The three that had carvery had finished the edible parts of the meal before the other two dishes were delivered; a jug of water requested when we sat down still hasn't arrived!!!

We ordered a burger with nothing in the bun except the meat; this was very specifically explained, as the young lady cannot eat most of the trimmings normally included.
Of course the burger arrived fully loaded and had to be sent back so she got to eat long after everyone else had given up!

We will not be returning here again and will pass on our experiences, we would have sent all the food back had it not been a treat paid for by our grandma who we didn't want to upset any further!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CrackerJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Public Relations Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Crackerj2013,

Please accept my apologies. I will make sure my team is made aware of all your points you raised regarding the service and the food. Your feedback is vital to us and we will improve in this as a matter of urgency. We do hope that you consider us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

The Ely is a fantastic place to stay the staff on reception were fantastic couldn't do enought for us the room was spotless and fantastic we had some family come over for dinner in the resterant the staff and the food was fantastic and we also had breakfast there in the morning and again that was fantastic very well run in all the departments thank you I would very highly recommend the Ely thank you Ann

Room tip: The rooms all looked fantastic
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank acbrown244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Public Relations Manager at The Ely Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Acbrown244,

Thank you for a very lovely review. So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your meal with family in our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon at the Ely and thank you for the nice comments. I will pass this onto my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews