We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat down the pan.”
Review of The Colliers

The Colliers
Ranked #20 of 70 Restaurants in Rugeley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Part of Whitbread group and Table Table brand. We pride ourselves on serving up great memories to all our guests
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for a family birthday treat, can honestly say this was the worst meal we have ever had.
Went quite late and it was almost empty, food was overpriced and really poor quality.
2 of us opted for " the giant fish" what a joke about the same size as fish and chip shop mini fish. Not only small portions but very poor quality, inedible, another in the party had the gammon, looked like a slice of bacon but overlooked and dry and hard.
When we complained they said that due to the hot weather they were struggling to prepare food ( should not bother based on tonight's efforts )
They then had the cheek to say they would only charge us lunchtime prices which were cheaper. We refused to pay for 3 of the meals they were so bad.
Will not be going back after a really disappointing night

Thank roger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B, General Manager at The Colliers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we have taken your comments on board.
If you would like to discuss your experience further with myself please feel free to call on 01889 503951.
We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came in this morning for breakfast and it was lovely . Karen and Becky were really friendly and helpful and made sure we had everything we needed . The cooked breakfast taster fresh and the poached eggs were perfect . We will definitely be back again soon!

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B, General Manager at The Colliers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback! I will be sure to pass it on to Karen and Becky who will really appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely breakfast. Food fresh and cooked really well,lots of choice value for money and as always wonderful staff.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B, General Manager at The Colliers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a response! We're so happy to hear that you enjoy our breakfast! I have passed your feedback on to the breakfast team and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Must admit I was not enthralled at the idea of eating here, no reason at all, but, what a pleasant surprise, food served piping hot, had a mixed grill and wow, so much on the plate, very tasty and cooked well. I have no doubts at all to go again as it was very enjoyable.

Thank Robynlou504158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B, General Manager at The Colliers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review- feedback is always appreciated!

We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations, your feedback has been passed on to our team. When you next visit, ask a member of the team about our great reward card- it offers fantastic value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been there few times but my first opinion hasn’t change after each visit. Place looks ok and even nice inside but the food is very average. Food choice is poor varying from fish and chips to curry like in any usual pub. Steak was awful. Curry is so so and what is the point put it on the menu at all ? if you want a nice curry just go for Indian restaurant or take away.
Coffee is Costa brand but it was almost cold when was served.
Overall that place has a potential of being nice place in Rugeley where you may invite your business partners for lunch or dinner. However, management and staff don’t do enough to use that potential.
Shame.

Thank Tanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B, General Manager at The Colliers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Tanya, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent visit to the Colliers.

I am sorry to hear that your steak didn't meet your expectations. As you can understand with us being part of a brand we have very little control over our menu content, we pride ourselves on having a varied menu and fish and chips and the curry are two of our most popular dishes.

You may be pleased to know that a lot of local businesses, nursing teams, doctors and passing businesses use our restaurant to meet and dine. We also host a lot of Christmas parties for the local businesses and host networking events etc to ensure that we are integrated within the local community.

I will be sure to pass on your comments to the menu development team.

We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Colliers also viewed

Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Rugeley, Staffordshire
Rugeley, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Colliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing