We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful and immaculate bungalow”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Sweethills

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sweethills annex
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Sweethills annex
Secluded garden area. A perfect place to relax in the sun.
Kitchen
Small dining facilities in the kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
The annex
Secluded garden area
Cottage garden infront of the annex
View to the front
View to the front
View from the rear
View to the front
Wintertime
Wintertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
502Leanne
Scarborough
1 review
“beautiful and immaculate bungalow”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My hubby, 3 years old and i stayed for 3 nights. We loved it, felt so relaxed in the peaceful surroundings. The bungalow excellent. Close to Alton towers, and not far from fun monkey forest.
couldn't have wished for a better break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfy double bed
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quartz95
Hull
2 reviews
“Gorgeous place with the perfect backdrop- no better place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was by far the best place we could find to stay , and at by far the best price. The room is very pretty with views from all angles, the kitchen and bathroom have everything you need and are clean and modern. It is all completely self contained and there's some gorgeous garden area with amazing veiws that guests can use, and it all feels completely private. It's incredibly peaceful there. The host was lovely and helpful and her gardens are stunning! The box of chocolates and fresh milk for tea was a nice touch too and much appreciated. Unfortunately we had to leave in the morning earlier than originally planned , but we were looking forward to eating breakfast outside with the stunning views in front of us which would've been an absolute highlight! If I stay in this area again, this is the only place I'd be looking to stay at. It's perfect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren G
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My son and I had a lovely break in this delightful setting, Dorothy and John are wonderful hosts. The bungalow was lovely, and very clean, with beautiful surrounding views.
Very close to Alton Towers, and the local pub!
I would highly recommend, and we hope to return next year! :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry L
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect getaway with the perfect hosts!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Absolutely perfect in every way.
Couldn't have wished for a better English country getaway... What a beautiful part of the world.
Dorothy and John are the perfect Hosts... They made us feel really welcome and it felt like we'd known them for years.
Perfect accommodation... all mod cons...
Can't wait to go back (we re-booked before we even left)
A BIG THANKS... Highly Recommended !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clive m
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The cottage was very clean and comfy in outstanding surroundings, dorothy was very friendly and helpful.we stayed for 2 nights to travel to alton towers which is 10 minutes max away.cottage set in country farm grounds with the only sound to hear is sheep in fields, very relaxing atmosphere. Dorothy has thought of every little detail to make stay lovely and garden is lovely. Highly recommend for couples looking for nice relaxing stay .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing