We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderfully gothic home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Castle Inn

dining area with feature furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining area with feature furniture
3 storey house wood burner in dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
49 reviews
dining area with feature furniture
3 storey house
wood burner in dining area
large open fire
kitchen
View from dining area into conservatory
library / music room
master double bedroom
master bedroom
large conservatory over looking garden
seating area in good sized enclosed garden
garden
garden
garden
stunning walks at Dovedale, nearby
view of Alton Castle from the back of the house
Alton Church
Alton Castle
Alton Castle retreat
Alton bridge
Alton rail station
view of High Street
Alton village jail house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John P
1 review
“A wonderfully gothic home from home”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My family and I really enjoyed staying in this well-loved family home. This is not the place for you if you're expecting Ikea furniture and and minimalist simplicity. It's not the place for you if you demand cascades of water to instantly appear from every tap (although the shower was amazing!). I suspect that the people who have had negative things to say about The Old Castle Inn simply haven't done their research before booking.

However, if like us you want a lot of character; enjoy drooling over other people's book collections; like exploring a place with loads of nooks and crannies; if you want to stay somewhere that you're not afraid to move in, then come here and you won't be disappointed.

I would recommend if you're bringing young kids that you also bring a stair gate if possible as the stairs are plentiful and steep. The garden is wild and really lovely to sit in, the dining room is very dramatic with its throne-like chairs, and the rooms are really comfy.

Gabbi, the owner, couldn't have been more welcoming and was always on hand with help and recommendations.

If you want a generic, boring, box of a holiday home, or just a place to lay your head at the end of the day then book somewhere else. If you want something a bit different where the house itself will form part of the memories you've made on your holiday, I can't recommend The Old Castle Inn highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a get together with friends”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great house for accommodating a group of friends, the house was well equipped and is in a good location for visiting Alton Towers and the Peak District. No problems with the oven or the log burner (as noted by previous visitors). The owner was very helpful and easy to contact. Overall, we thought the house was a good find and very reasonably priced.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan O
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, well equipped cottage overall”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a meet-up of friends that spanned the Scottish Borders to Devon and was great as a middle point. The house was well equipped with a good level of equipment for all uses. The fire was very good and heated the house up well. The house is very quirky with plenty of hidden treasures throughout it, the garden large for enjoying and with friendly pubs and a village shop just up the road. Even though the cottage sleeps 11, there are only 6 seats at the dining table, you can add more as needed but it does become a bit crowded with 11. The bedrooms are split over floors 1 & 2 with steep stairs between so caution is advised for those with toddlers / small children. Overall a good stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danimance
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed views. Wouldn't recommend.”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I've been toying with how to leave my review on one hand the lady was very nice and helpful but sadly I can't rate the place on that. We visited on a cold week and found it very difficult to get warm. Owner was quick to reply and we understood it was an old building. This wasn't our main issue it was a bunch of things together. House wasn't particularly clean. All light shades had years of cobwebs we found dog poo under a chair we moved. Lighting in the living room was broken. We tried changing bulbs this didn't help, taps in the second floor bathroom only trickled couldn't even brush my teeth with it and by the end of the 3 nights 10 of our party had bites all over us. Including the 6 month old baby. Over all we felt disappointed in the amount spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Not clean
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed - we very rarely get negative feedback, so take this very seriously and have endeavoured to address all the issues.
We do accept dogs, and had a couple stay recently, but of course it is totally unacceptable that on this occasion they left fleas, and I am aghast that there was a poo in the house!! We had no idea, as the owners had been so good with cleaning up after the dogs in the garden, so we assumed everything was fine. Of course the cleaners do not generally move the furniture to clean underneath between every change over- but maybe we will need to reconsider that. We are of course particularly sorry to hear about bites on the baby - this is awful news, and we feel dreadful about it and can't apologise enough. We have since been in with flea powder, double hoovered and had a cobweb clean. We stayed ourselves with the children just last weekend and, thankfully, none of us came away with any bites, so we are hoping that is the end of that.

It is very difficult for us to keep an eye on the place when we live so far away and work full time - so I do appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as unless we do hear from guests, we just assume all is well. We have forwarded your concerns to the cleaning team, who are generally excellent and will no doubt also be sorry to hear of these concerns.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earlearl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay for a large group who want to be close to Alton towers.”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We used this house as a base between two families meeting up between North and South. It was great for the 6 kids we had, well equipped. Service and communication was great. Some of furnishings dated, however gave character and in keeping with the property. Good value for money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing