We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic village retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynne F
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic village retreat”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our 4th visit to The Packhorse. Wisteria was delightful, comfortable, clean and well-equipped with lovely views and the usual warm welcome from Linda and Brian. The autumn colours of woods and moorland were glorious. Excellent riding stables for experienced riders less than a mile away, and superb walks in every direction. We have also stayed at Rose and Honeysuckle, all highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location in village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul-Yvon...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Opened our eyes to a new holiday experience.”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

After years of camping in the English weather, we were lucky enough to stumble across the pack horse online and lucky enough to find the date that we wanted, and it has opened our eyes to a complete new holiday experience, met with a very warm welcome, we found our cottage bright and beautiful with wonderful views, a very relaxing and stress free holiday, Brian and Linda are fantastic hosts nothing is too much trouble and will go out of their way to make your holiday one to remember. loved it so much we have booked again, and can not wait to return, and we will be recommending friends and family. Thank you Paul Yvonne and Zita.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keith h
Pascagoula, Mississippi
2 reviews
“The ultimate delightful family holiday”
Reviewed 10 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The Pack Horse is exceptional in every way! The cottages are charming and comfortable, and the view in every direction is breathtaking! There are rolling, flowered hillsides with hiking paths in all directions, animals of all kinds, and Linda and Brian make sure that you are aware of all the opportunities in the area. They are warm and helpful, and they were like family by the end of the week! They always seemed to have plenty of time to help us plan the day ahead and were genuinely interested in hearing about our adventures at day's end. They could not have been better hosts. The ambience in Allerford is over-the-top, with the colorful flowers along every street--growing on stone walls and climbing the sides of the homes--natural beauty at its best! Excursions to Dunster castle, to Lynmouth and Lynton, to the steam train station, to the Owl and Hawk Museum, to the local Allerford Museum--so many convenient side trips just minutes away--makes the Pack Horse a great choice for a holiday home base. We give it the highest possible recommendation! Keith Horne

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H
Pascagoula, Mississippi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

My family and I just returned from a week at the Pack Horse, and the experience far exceeded our expectations. We came from the United States to find an authentic experience in the West Country, and to ride horses on Exmoor. This place delivers! The aesthetics of the Pack Horse, the surrounding villages, and the scenic countryside is a "10" on a scale of 10; and Brian and Linda are simply delightful. When we left them, we felt like we were leaving home and dear friends. They helped us with side trips to various nearby villages, horse rides, hikes, restaurants, train rides, and much more. Better yet, they steered us away from activities that we would have found to be less fun. We are coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goochyShe...
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Jewel In The Crown”
Reviewed 21 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We received a real warm welcome from Linda and Brian and felt at home and at ease right from the off. After been shown around our accomodation which is of a very high standard Linda invested time to peruse a map of the local area and recommended lots of walks alot of which can be done straight from the accomodation without using a car etc.
We did many of the walks (and more) some were easy walking others were more arduous with very steep long climbs but well worth the effort when rewarded with the breath-taking views and scenery. The village of Allerford and Selworthy are really picturesque and picture postcard like, Porlock village is a steady walk from the Pack Horse but can be done through the fields and meadow land and so avoiding the narrow roads, the village is quaint with nice shops a small supermarket and a few pubs. If you wish to have a car journey there are many places of interest not too far away, we visited Lynton and Lynmouth by parking at Watersmeet and walking down by the riverside a beautiful walk taking about 25mins, the funicular railway is well worth the experience and once at the top another nice walk to The Valley of Rocks a must, a drive over Exmoor is highly recommended the carpet of yellow and purple heather is stunning and look out for the clusters of Exmoor ponies, Minehead is a short drive from the Pack Horse (about 10mins) where you can take in the fresh sea air, visit the shops on the main street, the baskets of flowers are in full bloom and look splendid, there are a few inns and one on the quayside if you fancy sitting outside and watching the world go by, from Minehead runs the West Somerset Steam Railway this is an absolute must (try and pick a sunny day) a day rover ticket costs £15.60 each but worth every penny, you can get on and off at any of the 10 stations, we got off at Watchet a medieval town and harbour it has a lovely gentle feel and is like stepping back in time, another must is the beautiful town of Dunster, every station has a wonderful feel to it, hanging baskets, old advertising boards and railway staff in period costimes all add to the atmosphere. Our stay at the Pack Horse and surrounding area has been fabulous and left us wanting more, we will definately be back at the Pack Horse again soon where we know Linda and Brian will be waiting to extend a real warm welcome to this fantastic place, thankyou both.
Howard and Sandra
Sheffield

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing