We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
50
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family home course dinner warm welcome superb views sitting room beautiful garden local area home made her husband made us feel cake first class rollo caroline parrots clifford abode
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed a Friday and Saturday and were welcomed by Caroline, her husband Rollo, two cats and a parrot. The atmosphere was warm, homely, very welcoming and chilled. The bedrooms were well furnished and you had your own toilet/bathroom (though not en-suite but allocated) and your own sitting room. The house and bedrooms had excellent views of the coast and on a clear day you can see the Brecon Beacons. Caroline is an excellent cordon bleu cook and made stunning evening meals of which I’ve never tasted in a B&B (we paid extra for this). She couldn’t do enough for us and looked after us as if we were part of her family. We would definitely like to go back as we didn’t explore Porlock properly as we only went for a wedding, but wish we could’ve stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

From the moment we arrived at Mariner's Lodge, we were treated to first class hospitality. Caroline gave us such a warm welcome, and had thought of everything to make our stay in Porlock the best it could be. She is an outstanding baker and chef, fillling us up with homemade cakes, bread, granola, preserves and an amazing 3 course dinner the day we arrived. Her knowledge of the local area and it;s history made our visit even move interesting. We were walking the Coleridge Way, and the day we completed it both Caroline and Rollo celebrated with us and were genuinely pleased for us. They made us feel like part of their family, and we were very sorry to leave! We can't recommend them highly enough, and we haven't even mentioned the outstanding views and beautiful garden. All quite wonderful.

Room Tip: All bedrooms have amazing sea views
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MandyT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We arrived at Mariners Lodge to be met by Caroline and Rollo with a lovely cup of tea and some scrumptious home made cake which was a sign if things to come...Caroline is a Cordon Bleu trained cook and our evening meals were, to put it mildly, quite superb. If Mariner's Lodge were only a restaurant, we would certainly have eaten there every night, but it isn't. It is so much more. Caroline and Rollo go out of their way to make you feel right at home from the start of your stay to the moment you reluctantly have to leave. Our room had a fabulous view over the channel and the bed was supremely comfortable. And turned down every night! What a treat! If you do manage to book, I promise, you will not be disappointed. The photos do not lie. This is how B+B's should be. We WILL be back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TonyandSue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

A party of 4 of us stayed for one night on the first night of our South West Coast path expedition. A warm welcome from Caroline with freshly baked cake and tea on arrival. Our rooms had quality furnishings, extremely comfortable beds and amazing views over Porlock bay. Full sized baths and plentiful hot water was extremely welcome after a day's walking. We had booked dinner and can safely say we had one of best meals during our 10 day trip. Caroline is a fantastic cordon blue chef and had not only prepared a superb 3 course dinner (warm salad with fresh bread, Thai prawn curry and a lemon roulade with fresh berries) but also a home made dip to go with our aperitifs. The house has many stunning flowers arrangements and fascinating old maps and paintings. Breakfast equally good (more home baked fresh bread and home made granola). Caroline also kindly made up some packed lunches for us. A charming and informative hostess who we all enjoyed meeting. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ourania2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

You can tell from the other reviews how lovely it is to stay here, stunning views, comfy bed, delicious food, interesting garden and charming hosts. If you need a restorative break, this is the place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CeliaEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews