We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely return visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Exmoor Holidays has a large dog friendly secure private garden breathtaking sea views.  Patio &; BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exmoor Holidays has a large dog friendly secure private garden breathtaking sea views.  Patio &; BBQ
Bistro table in garden from which to admire the fantastic views across Porlock Bay Free off road car parking for two cars outside Exmoor Holidays, Porlock
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Exmoor Holidays has a large dog friendly secure private garden breathtaking sea views.  Patio &; BBQ
Bistro table in garden from which to admire the fantastic views across Porlock Bay
Free off road car parking for two cars outside Exmoor Holidays, Porlock
Exmoor Holidays garden in Porlock viewed from Superking bedroom.
Exmoor Holidays private patio with seating for 8 and Barbecue
Our dog friendly cottage in Porlock has large secure private garden and fabulous walks from our door
Guests are welcome to help themselves to herbs from Exmoor Holidays herb garden on the patio.
Exmoor Holidays spacious lounge-dining room fully equipped for 8 guests.  Wonderful sea views
Spacious lounge dining room, with log burner; breathtaking sea views; comfortable furnishings for 8
Exmoor Holidays Porlock has log burning fire in the living room, with comfortable leather furnishing
Fully equipped kitchen with sea and garden views
Fully equipped kitchen at Maxwelton.  Fridge/freezer, washing machine & tumble drier are in lobby
Exmoor Holidays Porlock Four poster double bedroom with sea views and ensuite w.c.
Our super-king bedroom has fabulous garden views
Double bedroom on ground floor of Exmoor Holidays (Bracken Apartment)
Twin bedroom has TV/DVD.  Beds are zip and link and can be turned into suppressing bed on request.
Bathroom with bath and over-bath shower
Garden to side of house, allocated to guests staying in Bracken or for guests renting whole house.
Fully equipped Kitchen on ground floor (Bracken Apartment)
Lounge-dining room on ground floor (Bracken Apartment).
Exmoor Holidays - Free off road parking for 2 cars at the front of  house, quiet location in Porlock
Picturesque harbour at Porlock Weir, approx 1.5 mile woodland or coastal walk from our cottage
Red deer on Porlock Hill, view of Porlock village and Porlock Bay, Exmoor National Park
Magnificent Stag.  Red Deer on Exmoor
Views from Porlock Hill across Porlock Bay Exmoor National Park.  Approx 2 miles from our cottage.
Spoilt for choice where to walk - coast, path, countryside and Exmoor moorland all on our doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porlock, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
crafer
England
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely return visit”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Perfect holiday pet friendly accommodation, everything covered for a self catering holiday, even had a welcome home made sponge when you arrive! All in all would totally recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated, it was a pleasure to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4JoB
Disley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have booked Maxwelton on a number of occasions now and always find it a wonderful place to stay. We usually come down in October as the colours are stunning but this year we came down in December to do Dunster by Candlelight, Dulverton by Starlight, the Santa Express (GWSR) and Porlock's own Christmas shopping night. Porlock has such a wonderful warm and welcoming community spirit and it was an extremely enjoyable night.
Maxwelton is very well appointed, easily accommodating all of us (four adults, one toddler, one baby and an extremely lively springer spaniel. It is always spotlessly clean. The large lounge/dining room has a very cosy lounge end with beautiful leather settees and a log burner which is perfect on cold evenings, although really just for effect as the whole cottage is very warm. The dining end has a large table that easily accommodates everybody and there is a high chair if required. The window at the front of the property has a window seat and is the perfect spot to enjoy the view out over Porlock Bay and watch the boats or watch the sun go down.
The three bedrooms are all a good size with plenty of wardrobe space and the en suite in the front bedroom is a bonus when you are all trying to get ready in the morning and there is always plenty of hot water.
The kitchen is well appointed and a good size. A recent addition on our last visit was the new utility room and words cannot describe what an asset this is to the property particularly if you are visiting with a dog (or even just for walkers with wet coats and muddy boots). We were able to keep all the dogs belongings in there and take him straight into the utility room, via the back of the property to get him clean and dry. There is also a washing machine and very usefully a separate tumble drier. We haven't yet made use of the garden as we always go down at the end of the year but it is a beautiful garden and very safe for children and dogs.
The housekeepers live next door and are very helpful if there is a problem and if you are lucky Mrs Miles will have had a glut of apples and you will get an apple pie and cream! (There is always a pint of milk in the fridge and a freshly home baked sponge waiting for you.)
There are plenty of places to eat in Porlock, whether you are looking for a snack, a cream tea, a pub meal or takeaway fish and chips or a pizza. The ship Inn does very good meals.
With so many beautiful places to visit so close by and something for every one be it the beach at Minehead if you've got children, the historic Mediaeval village of Dunster, the steam trains that run from Minehead to Bishops Lydeard or just the many beautiful walks (with a pub lunch at the end!) you can be assured of a wonderful holiday.
We have already got our holiday booked for October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lengthy review not only about our cottage but also about Porlock and the local area,, it is very much appreciated. You were the first of our guests to use the new utility room so we are delighted it is a success and your find it beneficial. It is always a pleasure to have you to stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in October 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath T
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic, cosy and very welcoming”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just back from a relaxing weekend in Porlock in this lovely holiday apartment.

We rented Maxwelton which is the first floor part of the building, sleeping 6. We were four adults so had no need of the twin room.

The bedrooms were clean and welcoming and the beds very comfortable. The main living room is a huge, cosy lounge-diner with a log burning stove and window seat to view the sea.

The kitchen is very well equipped and functional with plenty of space.

There is a pub, The Swan Inn, just a few hundred yards from the rental and we would highly recommend the food there. The Whortleberry Tea Rooms was great for breakfast and all of the locals made us feel welcome.

A great place to stay for a short weekend or longer holiday, the only thing that let us down was the weather but what can you expect in January?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend break in Porlock. Porlock has a great community spirit and as you commented visitors are warmly welcomed to the area. Just a note to those who read this review, the pub next door is The Ship Inn, not the Swan. We hope you will return to stay with us again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyP180...
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday rental”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful stay over New Year in this comfortable and well equipped house. It is in a great location in lovely Porlock with wonderful walks right from the door. The house is very well cared for and we would recommend it highly. Everything you need for the stay is provided and we found it a real home from home. Fabulous views over Porlock and the sea from the living room window. Fabulous!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your New Year holiday at Maxwelton and we look forward to welcoming you back when you return later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham546...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spacious & comfortable”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week during the October half term break. We did leave it quite late to book somewhere to stay, trying to get everyone together at the same time, but what a gem we found. The owner is very helpful & obliging, and provided loads of information on the local area.
We booked both properties - Maxwelton & Bracken - and we had a fabulous time. Both properties are extremely comfortable, and very,very spacious. We had 2 very young children with us (14 months & 2yrs respectively), and a stair gate was provided to ensure no accidents. Also a travel cot, high chair & a box of toys were their for our use.
Both properties were spotlessly clean, and provided with all the comforts of home. There is also a log burner, which was very warming (although the central heating is very efficient, & I think we used the log burner partly for effect).
The housekeepers, who live next door are s wonderful friendly couple, and extremely helpful with any queries you may have. A lovely cake & a bottle of wine awaits you on your arrival. In addition, as they had had a glut of apples, they baked the most delicious apple pie for us - it was still warm when we arrived.
There is also a brilliant pub next door, which has excellent beer, and well cooked tasty meals. Very handy if you don't fancy driving somewhere to eat out , or even walking round Porlock to the other restaurants - no need to put your coat on!
There is also a lovely garden area, which because of the weather we were unable to make use of, and fabulous views from the lounge.
If we can all get together again, this would be a the ideal place to come to once more, but in any case I would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The space & comfort
Liked least: It was all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
We very much appreciate your comments and the time you have taken to write this review and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for recommending us to others. We hope that we can tempt you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$213
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing