We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
229
101
37
31
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
101
37
31
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners staff were welcoming friendly hotel lake view lounge area swan room stunning location head chef superior room the main hotel welsh breakfast lovely setting log burner an evening meal mach loop talyllyn lake fantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018

Just returned home after a 2 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is set by the side of a lake with mountains all round. The scenery is breathtaking and a photographers paradise. We had one of the twin rooms, it was spacious, tea and coffee making facilities were in the room, the beds were so comfortable and the en-suite was a good size. The room and as the rest of the hotel was spotlessly clean. All the staff at the hotel were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The food was amazing, wonderful breakfast with plenty of choice, we did have an evening meal and that too was exceptional. We booked this hotel specifically to go to the Mach Loop but unfortunately the weather was not on our side (the only thing the staff at the hotel couldn't help us with) but it just means we will need to book another few nights at this wonderful hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete_Williams_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

What a hidden gem! This hotel is just across the road from a most glorious lake at the foot of Cader Idris. There was no where better to sit with a cool drink and watch the world go by. Friendly staff, delicious food and comfortable accommodation. What more can you ask for!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We’d not been there for years. It recently changed hands, and is much the better for it. The location is fantastic, nestled in a fairly mountainous valley and overlooking a freshwater lake, which is great for swimming in. The lake is separated from the hotel by a road which is used by groups of bikers who disturb the tranquility rather, but it’s not the end of the world.

The rooms, we had a suite, are clean and spacious. All the ones we saw had great views. The hotel says it has WiFi, but connectivity seemed pretty hit and miss. I wouldn’t rely on it for anything urgent or important.

It’s dog friendly and properly so ( I find a lot of hotels claim to be, but then don’t allow them anywhere apart from the bedroom). Understandably, dogs aren’t allowed in the main restaurant, but there are upright tables and chairs in the bar area you can use.

The food and bar are great - very good selection of gins and mixers. I don’t eat meat, and that wasn’t a problem. There was something different available every night and it was all good. Service was a bit random at times, particularly at breakfast when the boss wasn’t around.

Prices are reasonable.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

So we used to take a break here every year but lasted stayed here in 2014 as it was a bit of a disappointment. The then owners didn't seem to care.
Having read the more recent reviews and comments we thought it was time to go back.
I have to say it was a good decision, the staff we all friendly and the whole place seemed to have a warm friendly feeling. The room was great, as were the evening meals and breakfast.
So good to see the place busy and cared for again and we'll be going back.

Room tip: Get a view over the lake.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blues_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

I hadn't stayed at Tyn-y-Cornel for nigh on 30 years, although I have stopped for coffee on a few occasions, with varied results, mostly feeling sad because it felt as if the place was not very well loved.

I had heard it was under relatively new management so when we were thinking about our wedding anniversary weekend we thought we may give it a whirl - a nice soft bed after a night in a tent on Cadair Idris and before a paddle up the Dysynni in our canoe..

We booked through an agency and had all the usual qualms - will it be ok, will it be the price advertised, will it actually be booked! And guess what - when we turned up, smelly, dusty, crumpled and tired, everything went just like clockwork!

A great welcome, smiling faces behind reception, a spotless room with a mattress to die for, tea and Welsh cakes whilst still in our scruffs - and what a transformation of the place itself! The lounge was lovely - comfy chairs and sofas, a beautiful log burner (not needed on the hottest weekend for years), magazines to read (sorry, we took 'Trail' to our room!), and interesting people going back and forth to feed our inherent nosiness - mostly people involved with the wedding, reviewed elsewhere on here, we guessed.

Back to our room for transformation into smart grown-ups, unrecognisable from the dishevelled hobbledehoys who had arrived earlier, and ready for dinner in the lovely conservatory.

A nice, short, straightforward menu, absolutely brilliant service and food that arrived so quickly that you'd swear someone had read our minds and prepared our meals in advance.

It did get a bit noisy - a family including three young men were there for dinner, and the acoustics in the conservatory did tend to ramp the noise up a bit. We know that a few other diners were a bit sniffy about it but we just enjoyed the exuberance of the other party and took our coffee in the lounge, and enjoyed a bit of a smile with the owner who was doing his best to assuage the less understanding of our fellow guests.

We were a bit late down for breakfast but, again, there was absolutely no problem, and also again, the food appeared with miraculous speed. We also enjoyed seeing the management and staff struggle to put the covers on the chairs ready for the wedding party whilst ducking the lanterns that had appeared overnight. And, lo and behold, the Taj Mahal had appeared in the area between the restaurant and the conservatory! Well, a photo backdrop anyway - we were very tempted to recreate any one of those thousands of romantic pictures everybody has seen - it was our anniversary after all!

Checking out was simple - no nasty surprises (we'd already girded our loins for the price of the malt whisky we'd drunk the night before), and more smiles.

In case you hadn't noticed, we thoroughly enjoyed our little sojourn at the Tyn-y-Cornel and we're just going to have to go back again when our psyches are in need of another boost. Thank you SO much to the management and staff - we've been to places that cost twice as much and not had half as good an experience. Oh, and we're not going to recommend you to anyone - we might not be able to get in next time!

Room tip: Ask for a lake view
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teeaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews