We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An unmissable experience that stays for all time”
other travellers have booked this property
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience . Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience .
Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
views across the lake from St.Mary's with Cader Idris rising in the background.
The old vestry with it's modern kitchen set within a space of huge ancient oak beams to impress
Neighbours visit you here ! This one often helps me cut the grass!
A comfortable area to sit in the old vestry also providingTV/ DVD player and PlayStation with games
Definitely a room with a view .
The old building still retains most of its fixtures and fittings to set the atmosphere.
One of the many dramatic lighting options...this photo was sent to me by one of our visitors
Kingsize beds for that extra comfort  -- with filtered and  balanced air flow  ....
The stained glass window depicting the story of The Good Samaritan
The view of the lake from the old Church with Cader Idris reflected in the still waters ...beautiful
A good nights sleep here for sure and another kingsize bed.From this level you can view the Church !
One of the two  Lych-Gates and the ancient 15th Century Church - one of the oldest in Wales
An impressive rear entrance to the Church with parking and privacy .
St.Mary's and it's  beautiful location..photo taken on the ancient route to the Church from Corris
One of the collection of Victorian oil lamps that compliment St.Mary's..a step back in time ..
Spend the nights under the huge impressive 15th Century rafters.....a great treat !
This is the view from the 'pod'that you could wake up to ...showing the ancient barrel ceiling
A fine picnic area ... Incredible views ...and a private place to look out over the whole lake..
A beautiful location ....photo taken from the Old Rectory On The Lake
There aren't many places like St.Mary's.This is the 15th Century roof structure..impressive for sure
View of St.Mary's across the lake with Mynydd Graig Goch behind which glows red in the sunset !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
terryjpsm...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“An unmissable experience that stays for all time”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

St Mary's is a property like no other and an experience never to be forgotten. The owner Peter has painstakingly made a wonderful partial conversion of an historic Church in a stunning location.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
A big thank you for your kind review ... They really are appreciated ...
You came geared up for a good holiday and I'm so pleased that St. Mary's impressed ..
Bring your bicycles was a really good idea as our area has some brilliant tracks to suit all..
come again and I'll show you more...
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the surroundings
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Glad you enjoyed yourselves here at St.Mary's...I hope my greetings chat didn't unnerve you both ... I go on about lots of things to bring you up to speed with some of the quirkier issues that the old building has ...and indeed the heating of the main hall of the Church is always on my list ..I only ask that the heaters are used sensibly as it is a huge space to manage..and the birds on the roof outside get most of the benefit ..
Thanks for visiting St.Mary's and in doing so you are helping fund it's future well being ...
I do hope you will call this way again.
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarah T
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fabulous and tranquil stay.”
Reviewed 15 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I came here with my friend after a recommendation from her sister, who stayed the previous year.

The accommodation is extremely well equipped from bathroom towels through to kitchen equipment.

The kitchen, lounge and dining areas are in the old vestry, off of the main church.

The large double bedrooms are situated at the back of the church. One is inside a wooden walled room (a pod) and has all the home comforts you would expect, along with the bathroom and an eco toilet. The eco toilet was very easy to use and a first for us both.

The other room is up a staircase built on the side of the pod, which takes you to the upstairs room which is a mezzanine up in the roof space of the church.

The layout worked well as my friend preferred the fresh air of the upstairs room and I preferred the homelike cosier feeling of being in the downstairs pod.

The church itself is situated deep in the valley by Talyllyne lake which has stunning views which differed each day.

Walking round the lake is a must, particularly the far side, past the old rectory. There is a tar-macadam pathway round to the main road and the views from this side are spectacular.

The church is steeped in history and there is plenty to read about in the vestry.

There's plenty to do in the local area. Dolgoch Falls is a lovely scenic walk with several waterfalls.
Take the Talyllyne train to Barmouth and the beach there. I highly recommend fish and chips from The Mermaid.
There's a lovely walk called The Mawddach Trail which starts in Barmouth and runs through to Dolgellau. We hired bikes but if you do, I suggest you give them your own MOT as mine 6 miles from the finish line!
Taking the train from Porthmadog up to Blaenau Ffestiniog takes you through Snowdonia National Park, giving you stunning scenery to look at and a visit to the slate mine if you wish.

A lot of work has gone into the renovation of the Church against many odds and the patience and determination has certainly paid off.

Thank you Peter for the opportunity to stay in such a wonderful place. It has certainly been the most restful and relaxing stay in a long time. I can't believe how well I have slept too!
If someone had said to me a year ago that I would be staying in a Church for a week, I would have never believed them. I will definitely be back.

Sarah

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
I'm humbled by such a fine review ...Thankyou ..!
You certainly filled your days ...but hope that you have left plenty of places to discover for the next time you visit ..
It was a pleasure to meet you and a joy to have folk here who really enjoyed the ambience of St.Mary's and Talyllyn.
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirliema...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

WOW
Absolutely amazing holiday ! Couldn't of picked a better spot. Views amazing and the chapel well what can I say, Peter has done it to an amazing standard Woth everything you need for a relaxing break.

We loved it and would definitely go again. The beach was 10 miles away and we went almost everyday. Then nice quiet meals and wine on the picnic bench by the chapel

Thank you so much for letting have this fabulous experience Peter X

Lots of love Shirlie, Ian and George

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
An absolute pleasure to have met the three of you and to know that you enjoyed your stay at St.Mary's ... and I hope we will see you and George again .. we welcome such well behaved dogs...
Thanks
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin C
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique and beautiful Holiday Let”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a very unusual holiday rental and a great one at that. We were met by Peter the owner who was just finishing mowing the grass as we arrived. He was very welcoming and showed us into the church and explained everything we needed to know.

You are staying in a former church which has been converted to form a holiday cottage but which still retains the interior of the original church with many of its original features such as, beautiful stained glass window, pews, font and even a working organ. The first question to answer is “no the church is no longer in operation” so you won’t have to head the services on Sunday or dodge the congregation in your nightwear
.
The living area is situated in the former vestry and comprises a small open kitchen and comfortable seating and dining areas. The two bedrooms are spacious and both have TVs in them.
They both look out into the church interior making for a very interesting view.
There is WiFi and a land line telephone which is useful as there is no signal for a mobile.
Outside the church grounds are well kept and have many different seating areas allowing for viewing the surrounding area of mountains and the lake, which is literally is a stone’s throw away.

The location itself is quite remote, it is about 9 miles to the nearest shop. We found a village on the seafront called Tywyn which has a small supermarket a pub and a quaint old cinema called the Magic Lantern. We found this place the best for stocking up on food etc. There are a couple of small hotels within a short walk of the church both open for food and drink to none residents but we did not try any of these as we like to drive out to a different area most days. If you like walking there are loads of places to go, lots of maps and information available in the cottage, but this isn’t our thing so can’t say much more on that.

We had a brilliant stay and I can’t praise this rental highly enough. Peter has done a great job and deserves congratulations for his hard work in keeping this beautiful old church alive. I would really recommend it if you want somewhere very different and relaxing to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its unique character
Liked least: Due to its listed status some areas can not be modernised but this is expected in such a property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
This is a brilliant review and I can't thank you enough for visiting and appreciating St.Mary's and Talyllyn.
If I could say in addition to anyone who thinks they can't do without a mobile phone signal in the valley .. it can be linked to our wifi and connections made... so you can enjoy all the trappings of the 21st Century in the surroundings of this beautiful old 15th Century building..
Thanks once again and I do hope you'll be back .
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$530
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing