We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful church, beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience . Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
St.Mary's a part converted 15th Century 2* listed building now a beautiful holiday home
Overlooking the lake at Talyllyn this historic building offers you an unforgettable experience .
Just a bit different ! NB:The 15th Century Church operates an Eco Loo System
views across the lake from St.Mary's with Cader Idris rising in the background.
The old vestry with it's modern kitchen set within a space of huge ancient oak beams to impress
Neighbours visit you here ! This one often helps me cut the grass!
A comfortable area to sit in the old vestry also providingTV/ DVD player and PlayStation with games
Definitely a room with a view .
The old building still retains most of its fixtures and fittings to set the atmosphere.
One of the many dramatic lighting options...this photo was sent to me by one of our visitors
Kingsize beds for that extra comfort  -- with filtered and  balanced air flow  ....
The stained glass window depicting the story of The Good Samaritan
The view of the lake from the old Church with Cader Idris reflected in the still waters ...beautiful
A good nights sleep here for sure and another kingsize bed.From this level you can view the Church !
One of the two  Lych-Gates and the ancient 15th Century Church - one of the oldest in Wales
An impressive rear entrance to the Church with parking and privacy .
St.Mary's and it's  beautiful location..photo taken on the ancient route to the Church from Corris
One of the collection of Victorian oil lamps that compliment St.Mary's..a step back in time ..
Spend the nights under the huge impressive 15th Century rafters.....a great treat !
This is the view from the 'pod'that you could wake up to ...showing the ancient barrel ceiling
A fine picnic area ... Incredible views ...and a private place to look out over the whole lake..
A beautiful location ....photo taken from the Old Rectory On The Lake
There aren't many places like St.Mary's.This is the 15th Century roof structure..impressive for sure
View of St.Mary's across the lake with Mynydd Graig Goch behind which glows red in the sunset !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ljwickham
1 review
“Beautiful church, beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had an amazing week at St Mary's, the location is stunning and the church itself is breathtaking. My partner and I both agree that this is definitely the nicest place we have ever stayed, it left a huge impression on him in particular. The accommodation is comfortable and clean, everything you need whilst on holiday and more. And don't be put off by the eco loo, it's ever so simple to use. Plus it's a small sacrifice for everything else that you get from staying here. The location is fantastic too, we visited the coast on the talyllyn railway, walked many routes around coed y brenin forest and fished reservoirs and rivers for trout and grayling. All of this within 30 mins. Our dog Karla also enjoyed her walks up in the woods and around the lake every morning. We would stay here again without hesitation and will also be recommending the place to both family and friends. Thank you Peter for a brilliant holiday. P.s. hope you enjoyed your trout! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Hello Both ,
I'm so proud to have received such a glowing review .
St.Mary's certainly stirs the senses ...a real time capsule .
Outside it only gets better ...I see you packed a lot in to your week's holiday ...perhaps leaving that walk to the summit of Cader Idris for the next visit .
It was a pleasure to have met you both ... and as for the trout you left for me ..it was delicious...thanks so much.
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorraine2...
kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just arrived back from a weeks stay at st Mary's chapel and was completely blown away !! Yes it is a real church and you stay in it , the setting and surroundings are jaw drooping . We fished the lake we walked in woodlands with our dog and went to three beaches which are not far ,they were amazing .we did have great weather and that does help
The local spar about three miles a way does local meat and wins awards !!!
We ate out once on a Sunday at the rectory on the lake which was very good ,but the rest of the time we ate in ,after long days out or chilling at st Mary's
The Ecco loo works and we think peter has done a fantastic job on the church the locals must be proud and pleased at the business it will bring to them .
All in all one of our best holidays in this country thanks peter again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chapel with the lake
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
What a fine review ...many thanks ..and I'm so pleased that you had a great week .I hope the planned fishing days were successful and that Lola helped ..!
Thanks also for the descriptive letter you left in the Church ...I see the local wildlife put on a show for you as well as the Airforce display ...something for everyone here at Talyllyn ..!
Hope you'll come visiting us again soon .
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accodation and Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you both for this kind review .I'm so pleased that your daughter recommended St.Mary's to you ..it's good to know that your likes are simular ..!
Hope to see you again one day .
Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackie W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Unique and Relaxing Experience”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

St Marys is a simply stunning Historical Chapel, full of charm and character which Peter Matthews has restored sympathetically with full respect.
Set in tranquil unspoilt surroundings with stunning views, you cannot help but get into full relaxation mode straight away.
Great facilities in the kitchen, full size fridge and freezer, filtered drinking water. A very cosy area set in the old Vestry with a lovely snug comfy lounge, big leather chair and large sofa.
Very modern bedroom downstairs with fantastic shower room, white fluffy towels.
A different quirky upstairs bedroom with welsh oak beams and sunlight shining through the stunning leaded glass windows in the morning. Full view again of the chapel over a large balcony. Truly amazing.
My partner had a great time playing Peters record collection, you have a lot in common.
I was so impressed with this holiday as you know my friend has booked for October, she was lucky to get the only week left.
Our dog Molly was worn out by Friday with all the long walks and slept all the way home.
We had a great laugh when being mistaken for the Vicar and his wife by a Canadian couple whom we showed around the Chapel, they want to book it now!
Thank you once again Peter for sharing this unique beautiful place with us and we are returning next year hopefully with Family, jackie and Ray.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
What a treat to have this really pleasing review ....thanks so much .
To recommend the holiday to your friends is also appreciated and I'll make sure they have a great time also ...
With your new title you'll have to change your Sundays around a bit I think ..!
I look forward to seeing you both again one day ..
With Regards
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy K
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Out of this world holiday, you have to see it to believe it”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I have never in my life stayed anywhere like this. The views are incredible and the church itself takes your breath away. We actually drove by it at first not believing that it was the right place. Peter has done a grand job of turning the church into a holiday let, he has kept all the character and charm while providing everything that you need. We spent everynight sat in the graveyard admiring the view and the resident sheep in the nearby fields. We were lucky enough to even see some Hercules fly over very low and also saw the thrush, robins and swifts that live in the church grounds, we were never bored. The views of the church that we woke up to everymorning were fantastic and the thought that has gone into even the lighting in the place is great. Peter should be a very proud man he made sure we were ok and had all we need but we never got to meet in person due to our late arrival but seeing as we booked for next year while we were there we would like peter to join us for a beer and tell us more about the history and all there is about St Marys. So much to do a week was not enough and we will miss it so much but we always have next year to look forward too. Thank you Peter for what is the best holiday we have ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and unique property
Liked least: nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
How do I respond to such a first rate review ....!!!?
Thanks so much Tracy ,it really does make the effort worthwhile when you find someone who comes and stays who really appreciates the old Church.
Indeed I am looking forward to meeting you all next year even if it means staying on to welcome you till 10pm....
Keep following the events that happen with us here at Talyllyn ...
ps..Saw your hedgehog on Facebook earlier ...!!
Wishing you all the best ..
Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing