We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local church”

Much Wenlock Church
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Some stained glass windows, although not as much as in other churches nearby. Some interesting memorials.

Of main interest to me, though, were the mentioning of William Penny Brookes, the founder of the modern Olympics in Much Wenlock.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Clivel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely stained glass windows"
in 3 reviews
"light a candle"
in 2 reviews
"olympic games"
in 3 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"founded"
in 4 reviews
"choir"
in 3 reviews
"prayer"
in 2 reviews
"brookes"
in 4 reviews
"guildhall"
in 2 reviews
"visitors"
in 3 reviews
"donation"
in 2 reviews
"parts"
in 2 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2016

We came to the church to find a memorial to my ancestors and found it easily. Looking around, we discovered many more interesting memorials, including the large one to the founder of the modern Olympic Games.
This church is obviously well cared for and loved and is well worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Church dedicated to the Saxon princess St Milburga (cousin of St Werburgh). Dedications too to the local William Penny Brookes the modern Olympics founder and inspiration to Pierre de Coubertin who went on to establish the international committee. Easily accessible from street level.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I cannot say that I am a keen at wandering around church buildings, but this one is a gem, doesn't take too long to visit but if you go in at the end of the "Olympic Trail" and see the gravestone of Dr Penny Brookes, who is credited with kick starting the modern Olympics, it certainly completes the picture of the town. It oozes age yet is still very much a functional church in wonderfully tranquil grounds. The refurbished cockerel weather vane on the tower is especially magnificent.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2016

I stayed in Much Wenlock for two nights. It was a delightful, beautiful village. The parish church was awe inspiring. Steeped in history and faith. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Much Wenlock Church also viewed

Much Wenlock, Shropshire
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 
Much Wenlock, Shropshire
 

Been to Much Wenlock Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing