We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful retreat ....”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Craven Arms, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison C
1 review
“A wonderful retreat ....”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A wonderful idyllic retreat, which offered everything we wanted and more ....
From fabulous home baking to a perfect location....
Really looking forward to next time....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfortable ... home from home ....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Glad you found us. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Valentine secret getaway”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I am so happy we stumbled across Highgrove barns, such a lovely place to stay.
Everything you needed. From baking trays to make cookies to heated flooring. We had such a lovely weekend. The company obviously makes a special holiday but we couldn't have found a more lovely place to stay. Such kind owners to the extent of sending me my charger through the post due to leaving it behind after our short break. The cake was lovely and having milk fresh in the fridge was perfect for our cup of tea we were ready for on arrival :-) shops close by and a lovely Chinese. You are surrounded with stunning views.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Sorry so late responding. Only just picked up your lovely comments which make all our efforts worthwhile. We love it here and do all we can to give our guests a wonderful experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, quiet and relaxing stay in converted barn.”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Owners were very friendly and welcoming but also stayed out of your way.

Cottage had amazing underfloor heating throughout which as great for a winter stay. The kitchen was kitted with everything you need to make meals. The cottage was surrounded by fields and rolling hills, very therapeutic. We had Freeview and no issues with the wifi, I connected my laptop fine all weekend. My only negative was that the shower could have been more powerful.

Village centre with supermarkets/pubs etc was a 10 min drive away. Having a car is useful but not necessary if you enjoy walking. One evening we ate at The Lion in Leintwardine, Craven Arms where the food was delicious, they offered cocktails and we got chatting some locals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for pointing out the shower. As we don't use it ourselves we rely on guests to alert us. Its probably caused by lime in the water around here. Will check it out.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkins12...
Saint Gervais les bains
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming, well presented and tranquil cottage.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely owners who offered a very warm welcome, including a tray of tea and coffee fixings; welcome after a long drive! The cottage was immaculate, very artistically decorated and had everything one could possibly need for a self-catering stay, truly a home from home.
Owners Rob and Chris Tromans provided plenty of tourist information and were happy to advise on the area if I needed it. The Barns are situated in a beautiful and tranquil area ideal for local exploration. Many thanks! I hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners and décor of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It makes all our efforts worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H
1 review
“Fantastic little cottage in beautiful rural surroundings”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Lovely little cottage in a idyllic location. Had everything that we needed for us and our 5 month old baby. Welcome pack including homemade treats was just what was needed after the long drive. Within touching distance of some great villages/towns/local attractions. Cant recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
Happy guests make us happy hosts. Glad you were blessed by your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing