We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience. Don't eat here if you need gluten-free food.”

Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the gateway to the Shropshire Hills, the Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre is all about exploring nature and we have lots of walks and trails for you to enjoy with guided walks starting at the Discovery Centre. Drop into our licensed café for frothy coffees, homemade cakes, local lunches and Shropshire Cream Teas. We also serve up amazing Sunday lunches to.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was given a non gluten-free lemon drizzle cake even though I asked twice if she was sure it was gluten-free. I was extremely sick that evening (I have Coeliac Disease). I emailed them a couple of days later to inform them of the problem and have had no reply, not even an acknowledgement. Disappointing that a place that claims to be about food education, doesn't undertsnad the importance of gluten-free.

Thank JanetBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire Hill... D, Public Relations Manager at Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very sorry to hear your account of your experience with us. We always endeavor to meet the needs of all of our individual customers and have many gluten free options on our menu. We pride ourselves on being able to offer something for everyone so we are sorry you did not experience this.

We have responded to you via email and hope we can resolve this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"shropshire hills"
in 18 reviews
"woolly mammoth"
in 8 reviews
"local area"
in 8 reviews
"cream tea"
in 5 reviews
"nice walk"
in 5 reviews
"cakes"
in 10 reviews
"hot air balloon"
in 4 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 4 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 3 reviews
"display area"
in 3 reviews
"balloon flight"
in 3 reviews
"outdoor area"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 8 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"for sunday lunch"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the café, the shop, the exhibition and had a walk through the meadows to the river. It was a nice little break and the café has lovely scones.

The exhibition was £5 but sadly had little you couldn't get better off the internet. The short drone film was a delight.

Thank Tattvadarzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire Hill... D, Public Relations Manager at Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting and for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your walk and scone but are sorry to hear you found the exhibition a disappointment.

We introduced some new editions last July which was funded by a grant, as we are a charity, and we would love to do a lot more with the space. We are glad you enjoyed the film, we are very proud of it and we now use the refurbished space for film showings out of opening hours too.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

Firstly we looked round the exhibition in the centre itself. The filmshow was most informative and well put together. Loved the mammoth skeleton and the wooly one outside!!!!!!!! Plenty for children to do, lots of interactive displays. Afterwards walked round the meadow areas. You can take your dog round these walks and the views along the riverside are lovely. Lots of flora and fauna to stand and admire. Well worth stopping off at and enjoy learning more about the area.

Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire Hill... D, Public Relations Manager at Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you for visiting and for your lovely review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

A great centre to visit with kids or seniors, good entertainment for kids but a great café for seniors and a very good place to walk the dog. Good shop with plenty of interesting items to buy.

Thank craigdwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire Hill... D, Public Relations Manager at Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for visiting and for writing your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

stopped in the cafe for coffee and a sandwich and was pleasantly surprised with selection and clean and friendly staff in this lovely centre. Fabulous walks around the centre too... TOP MARKS.

Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire Hill... D, Public Relations Manager at Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for visiting, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre also viewed

 

Been to Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing