We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
51
67
26
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
67
26
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews uneven floors the pub old building bangers car park at the back full english breakfast friendly locals great night's sleep steep stairs cooked perfectly english hotel booked nights comfy room lovely old hotel some tlc last minute booking real ale
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner on Friday 15th. We were one of two couples eating. Having ordered starters and main courses we were asked whether we wanted the starters brought out at the same time as the main courses - no we didn’t! When we asked for some drinks we were told to get them at the bar, not the kind of service I would expect in a restaurant. All very strange and won’t be going back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Lots of negative reviews on here and to a certain extent they are justified but this place is not all bad.

If you allow the word 'character' to compensate for the hotel's shortcomings then some would find it ok. It is a bit of a throwback to the 70's and you are certainly not going to get fluffed-up cushions and comfy chairs in the bedrooms but we found the place clean and the staff friendly.

It is exceptionally well located in the centre of town and ok for an odd night.

If you drive, be aware that there are just 4 parking places, first come first served.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Freecall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

I notice my unflattering review has vanished from here. Just to summarise-faded, dirty broken furniture, stained carpets, dirty bathroom, walls so thin you could hear the mother next door telling her child to go the toilet, disinterested staff, massively overpriced. Would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: If the staff can't be bothered to make eye contact why bother to stay here?
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This is an old hotel with creaky floors and the other characterful aspects you would expect in a building 100s of years old. If you want a plastic identikit place then book at some modern place instead. Having said that, the wifi was fine for picking up Radio Caroline's internet signal loud and clear. The Sky package on the TV was the usual impossible to understand combination of hand sets and mystery buttons and we never could find BBC News 24. There is limited parking out the back. The staff were very friendly and the evening meal and big breakfast were fine. Its a shame that Wadworth clearly stop them having guest ales fm other local breweries but they often take that anti-competitive action. The IPA (a.k.a."Henrys") served was so so. A great shame as the other local pubs were not up to much at all (except The Swan) as they seemed to claim to be real ale free houses and then most seemed just to serve Green King's sub standard offerings. We walked out as soon as I'd checked that GK all the beer they sold. Often plenty of lager for the children and ladies though.

We had a great room at the front, very large and overlooking the square, but it was quite noisy on the Saturday night when we wnet to bed around 11.30pm but I just put in ear plugs and all was fine. Light sleepers might discuss a better back bedroom though?

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Had “crispy chicken wings” that were soggy, and a salad doused in salad cream, not mayonnaise. We had to vacate the room we were in, as did others, because a non-diner and non-drinker walked in, sat down and hooted loudly like an owl at nothing and no one for at least ten minutes before we left. Not his fault I am sure, but it does put you off your lunch. The room we moved into had another local character who addressed everyone present about her pension, the kindness of a friend who bought her drinks and gave her cigarettes and so on. Enough, we had gone for a peaceful lunch - not for entertainment. Two stars because the hostess was delightful. Hi

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews