We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped and quiet area”
other travellers have booked this property
Vineyard Cottage (from the courtyard)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vineyard Cottage (from the courtyard)
Your country hide-away! Early spring (with visiting ducks)!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Vineyard Cottage (from the courtyard)
Your country hide-away!
Early spring (with visiting ducks)!
Bright and sunny living space
Sitting area with fireplace
Spacious well equipped kitchen
Dining table
Wooden stairs up to galleried landing
View from the stairs
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom to en-suite bathroom
Upstairs en-suite bathroom
Downstairs bedroom (with queen size bed, but can be twin or single)
Downstairs shower, laundry and cloakroom
All set for summer!
Roses growing over an arch and pergola
Birds' eye view of the private terrace
River Thames, just 300m away
Clifton Hampden bridge
Village post office/shop
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Abingdon, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mern J
1 review
“Well equipped and quiet area”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our stay at The Vineyard Cottage was very pleasant and the cottage was very clean. Walking distance to post office shop and pub nearby. Off road parking in front of the cottage for convenience. The beds were comfortable and the washing machine and dryers were an added bonus.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
I'm glad you found the cottage to be well equipped and the beds comfortable. Nothing spoils a trip away more than a bad nights sleep on an uncomfortable bed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHILIP M...
1 review
“Very Well Equipped!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Cottage was very well equipped and comfortable with everything you might need. Also good selection of basic comestibles provided, (so often absent). Not really able to use outside area due to weather, (but was November after all!). Parking fine (off-road) and cottage within walking distance, (and staggering distance back!), of excellent Barley Mow Inn. Courtyard arrangement, so somewhat limited privacy in outside areas. If this doesn't bother you then can thoroughly recommend the property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The garden does not look its best in November but In spring and summer, the private terrace is well screened by shrubs and trees in leaf.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful hideaway.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely cottage tucked away in the quaint riverside village of Clifton Hampden. We wanted to spend a few days with family who live in London - this was a perfect 'halfway house' as we live near Evesham. The cottage is well equipped, clean and comfortable - the beds particularly so. There is a lovely, sheltered terrace on which to enjoy coffee or a pre - dinner G&T !
The only comments I would make are that the living area and dining table are quite small - only just enough room for four. My tall son ( who slept in the upstairs bedroom ) found the en-suite bathroom rather awkward to use - the space round the loo being especially restricted.
These are only slight negatives - we all enjoyed good food at the nearby Chequers in Burcot and some lovely local walks, and would stay at Vineyard Cottage again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Vineyard Cottage is not a large property and does not claim to be, but we have tried to maximise the space and make it as comfortable as possible for a holiday stay and this is why the maximum number of occupants is four adults.
As the upstairs bedroom and bathroom are in the roof they have,of necessity, restricted headroom. We would advise taller guests to sleep downstairs where the bed, the bedroom and the bathroom are larger and have straight walls!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonH1967
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful quiet get away with superb facilities”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed at Vineyard cottage whilst visiting Oxford and the surrounding area for various family musical and academic events. Superb location with excellent and flexible facilities which served our teenage family perfectly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
I am so glad you all enjoyed your busy week here. Our location does make the cottage ideal for visiting the beautiful city of Oxford, travelling further afield to London or Stratford upon Avon or just relaxing in the surrounding countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tage E
Sollentuna, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect for us!”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Vineyard cottage is a wonderful house in a very picturesque old English village. It was incredibly well equipped with everything one could possibly need like e.g. coffee, tea, eggs, spices, books, games, washing machine… Even umbrellas and torches that were useful when we in the evenings walked the 5 minutes walk to the famous pub, Barley Mow. We thoroughly enjoyed our “own” terrace where we had our breakfast and evening coffee every day, admiring the blue and green grapes, flowering lavender and many other flowers. With car we could easily reach many places of interest e.g. Abingdon, Oxford, Woodstock, the White Horse Hill .. We really wish we could come back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace - to sit there among the vine and the lavender was wonderful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
Thank you. I hope you will come back one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing