We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful cottage in beautiful countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Cove Cottage in Smugglers Court
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cove Cottage in Smugglers Court
Outdoor seating for 4 in the sunny courtyard Parking down the side of the cottage for 1 car
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cove Cottage in Smugglers Court
Outdoor seating for 4 in the sunny courtyard
Parking down the side of the cottage for 1 car
Cove Cottage is an upside-down house with the living area on the first floor
Flatscreen smart TV, DVD player and PlayStation PS3 games console complete with DVDs and games
Thick fluffy rug makes for cosy toes
2 M&S sofas in the living room seat 4 in comfort
Cove Cottage has fast fibre broadband so you can stream and download without interruption
The original barn beams are a stunning feature
Well-stocked bookcase full of various fiction and non-fiction books for adults and children
Well-equipped kitchen with fan oven, induction hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, toaster & kettle
Kitchen is fully stocked with lots of pots, pans, crockery, cutlery, baking trays, glass- & ovenware
The main bedroom has an oak king size bed with quality high count pocket-sprung mattress
Plenty of storage space in the oak wardrobe and drawers
The main bedroom has bedside lamps, clock radio, phone and hairdryer
The large window makes the main bedroom feel light and airy
Twin bedroom with 2 full-size pine single beds, wardrobe and dressing table
There are bedside lamps and a hairdryer in the twin bedroom
There are plenty of board games for adults and kids in the wardrobe
Bathroom with bath and over-bath shower
View from Bamburgh Golf Course, just up the road from Cove Cottage
Budle Bay at low tide - 500m from Cove Cottage, a haven for birds
Budle Bay Nature reserve information board
Budle Bay pictured from the footpath via Bamburgh Golf Course
Bamburgh Castle and Church as you drive into the village from Waren Mill
Sunset over Budle Bay
Lindisfarne Castle on Holy Island
Alnwick Castle on a frosty morning
Bamburgh Beach and Castle
Footpath to the vast Ross Sands, just 5 mins drive from Cove Cottage
Endless sands looking to Holy Island at Ross Sands
View of the imposing Bamburgh Castle from the footpath in the dunes
Deserted wild dunes at the north side of Holy Island
Sunset from the dunes near Seahouses
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Waren Mill, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz G
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This lovely cottage is set in a little commune of a dozen or so properties which are grouped into smaller clusters behind five-bar farm gates.
It has recently changed hands and feels fresh as a daisy. It looked most appealing when we booked via the previous owners, but the enthusiasm of new ownership has probably injected extra sparkle.
It seemed odd on entering to find the bedrooms and bathroom on the ground floor and the kitchen and sitting area upstairs, but in fact that is most practical and also makes the most of the wonderful vaulted barn ceiling.
Be prepared to pull the bedroom curtains to avoid the gaze of people in neighbouring cottages from the double bedroom and to screen the oil tank from the "children's room" (the cuddly toys on the single beds was a wonderfully thoughtful touch).
Outside is a gravel courtyard shared with four other properties, each of which has its own table and chairs outside - so if you're looking for privacy for an al fresco summer dinner, this probably isn't the place for you. We went for a weekend in May when that wasn't an issue, so we were perfectly happy.
To protect the ambience of the courtyard, guests are asked to park at the side of the cottage, which is a good policy - but space there is a bit tight, so if you drive a bigger car or Chelsea tractor, it's probably best to leave it outside the gate.
Out and about, Budle Point is five minutes' walk away, Bamburgh a couple of miles down the road and Seahouses a couple of miles beyond that. Bamburgh Castle is the best castle I've ever been to in my 60+ years. Alnwick is within easy reach in one direction and Scotland is just up the road in the other.
We were there for four days and were blessed with glorious weather. There is so much to see that we already have a "to do" list for next time.
Definitely recommended. But Cove Cottage isn't for you if you need seclusion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thanks for your review, we have been carrying out improvements since we bought the cottage and have now screened the oil tank and have net curtains in the bedrooms for added privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddlesto...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply perfect in every way!!!!”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Cove Cottage 24th-26th Oct'14 for my sisters wedding at Bamburgh Castle. This dog friendly holiday let is a stunning furnished cottage, everything you need and lots more there. Gorgeous Christy towels on mass with lovely comfortable beds. My two grown up daughters shared the twin and were so happy, my husband and I in double room so comfy. The kitchen so well kitted out Jamie Oliver would be happy to knock up a few dishes !!!! Free Wifi was most welcome & vital or my girls who had travelled from London & Leeds would have felt lost without Twitter/Facebook. It was so kind and a generous arriving to a nice bottle if wine waiting for us too. Fab location just out if Bamburgh if you fancy a nice walk around the lush little shops or beach and try a swift pint a few nice pubs/hotels. Seahouses 5 minutes along the coast offers some lovely pubs and good food and good choice of fresh fish & chips if you fancy a take out. All you need shopping in Seahouses, Boots pharmacy, Co-op, butchers etc we had our 4 tiny chihuihui's with us too it was a perfect choice Thank you so so much we will return x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about the cottage. So pleased you enjoyed the wedding, and what better venue than the castle it's self. I could tell you were very excited about the wedding, so just happy that we were able to assist in your happy day.
You are all more than welcome to return when you catch your breath
. Until then take care
Kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen F
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage only 2 miles from Bamburgh which has lovely beaches and pubs.
The cottage was really well appointed and clean with all the appliances you require. The only faults we could find were the front door was hard to open, the lock kept sticking and the shower wasn't the best and the hot tap in the bathroom sink made a terrible noise everytime it was turned on.
That said we had a lovely few days here and would recommend it to family and friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for the feedback.
We are very sorry to learn about the problems you had.
We were unaware of the door lock problem and the noisy tap in the bathroom, but rest assured these problems will be dealt with ASAP.
The shower unfortunately is an electric one and is the most powerful available.
we trust these things did not spoil your stay and that you would consider returning in the future.
kind regards
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dean67
newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“cove cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

stayed at cove cottage for 2 nights fitted with everything you need also wi-fi really tidy and comfortable ,2.5 mile into bamburgh and a further 3 mile into seahouses ,would definitely recommend this cottage

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed over the Mayday weekend for 3 nights with our 2 daughters aged 21 & 15 & our mini schnauzer. The cottage was perfect, clean, bright & welcoming & we felt very comfortable. It's position is excellent & we had a lovely walk from Budle Bay into Bamburgh along the beach & it was a short drive to Holy Island where we spent a day.
Anne & Brian are excellent hosts & we will be booking again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the property
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing