We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect -beautiful well equipped cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone built beautifully converted Granary dating back to the 1800's with original features The harbour is only a few minutes walk away with restaurants, pubs, fish & chips and boat trips
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Stone built beautifully converted Granary dating back to the 1800's with original features
The harbour is only a few minutes walk away with restaurants, pubs, fish & chips and boat trips
Longstone Light on the nearby Farne Islands
We have a nespresso machine too for those coffee and paper mornings
Little touches to make your holiday special and comfortable
The twin room showing the original feature beams
Our family bathroom
Our kitchen benefits from a stable door to enjoy the evening sunshine
Fantastic views of The Farnes Islands and the harbour from our local pub
Beautiful lounge with dual aspect windows and lots of books, DVDs etc for all the family
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Seahouses, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StuartP73
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent Property in Good Location But Could Be Better”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

First thing I would say is I would have given 3.5/5.0 if I had the option. This is not a bad property but there were a few things that reduced our enjoyment of our stay.

Firstly communication with the owner was great throughout and it was a nice touch to have milk, wine and a cake waiting for us on our arrival. The Granary is in a good location being a 10 minute stroll into Seahouses. Seahouses was great with plenty of places to eat and drink to fit every budget. There were plenty of little shops as well as a Co-op. Seahouses was also a good base from which to explore the surrounding area.

The accommodation was clean on arrival and is well equipped. There was a games console, games and books available if the weather keeps you indoors. Ground floor consisted of the kitchen which also included a large dining table. First floor was lounge area and family bathroom while the top floor had the two bedrooms. The second bedroom is very small with just a few inches between the beds.

The master bedroom has an ensuite with a shower though I use the term shower loosely. Being way over 6 ft tall, when I saw the description mentioning a sloping ceiling, I thought I would just have to be careful when using it - not a hope! Even my wife who is 5 ft 6" could only use it when kneeling down. The left hand side has less than 5 ft 6" to the shower nozzle while the right hand side is approx. 4 ft high to ceiling - take the mid point and you see the problem. Maybe a disability seat attached to the wall that can be folded into place would at least make it useful to a greater number of people? The more obvious solution would be to have a shower over bath in the main bathroom or even replace the bath with a walk in shower. As a family that only shower the wash facilities at the Granary were not ideal.

The description of the granary also mentions a shared courtyard space. Not sure if we missed something but the backdoor like the next 2 properties open onto a gravel area that did open into a square courtyard area. This gravelled area surrounded on 3 sides by a tall wall was devoid of seating, tables or plants so not sure what use it is to anyone. There was a small bench outside each back door however ours was 2 feet from the pavement and road that passes down the side of the property It was also positioned directly under the incoming telephone lines so was covered in bird poo! The view from the bench if we has sat on it was a wall lined with loads of wheely bins. Generally if you want a little outside place on holiday to have a drink etc this is not the place for you.

Overall this accommodation is not bad as seen by previous reviews however we found it a liitle disappointing to the point we left a day early. I think if we had been given a truer description of shower and outside space we would probably have stayed elsewhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2018
I’m so dissapointed by your review, to be left 3*s because you didn’t read the description of the cottage is very upsetting. You can see the layout of the twin room in the photos and we describe the shower as limited head height. I would have been more than happy to answer any questions you had had about the cottage prior to your booking and then you could have booked a more appropriate property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect -beautiful well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived to a lovely welcome of bottle of wine and cake and milk and juice in the fridge which was greatly appreciated. The Granary is a lovely cottage which was spotlessly clean and quite possibly the most well equipped accomodation we have stayed in. Sarah has thought of absolutely everything!! There was a large selection of books,games and toys for the children which went down incredibly well with our kids and the kitchen was fully equipped for every need. Even a selection of beach toys and equipment could be found in a cupboard!!
The cottage is only a short walk from the centre of seahouses which has a number of restaurants and pubs and not far from the lovely beach.
We were incredibly lucky with the weather during our stay but i think even if it had been raining the kids would have been happy playing in the house!!!
Absolutely loved it here and would definitely return !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2018
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dgower140
New Romney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place.”
Reviewed 31 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A truly memorable holiday in a lovely location. The property had everything that was needed to make our holiday perfect, and what a lovely touch having milk, chocolate cake and wine left by the owner as a welcome, thank you Sarah and Mat. We really didn't want to leave but will certainly be back in the future. the area is stunning and we spent a lot of time travelling to lovely places including a day at Bass Rock, North Berwick to see the breeding Gannets. The property will definitely get a high recommendation to friends and family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doncaster
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing