We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to shelter from the beast from...”

Review of Beacon Hill Farm

Quarry House drawing room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quarry House drawing room
Beech Cottage A view to the south from the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Quarry House drawing room
Beech Cottage
A view to the south from the cottages
A king size bed an ensuite bathroom
A spacious en suite - one of two in the cottage
A fabulous Spa a walk away from your cottage through the gardens
The Jacuzzi with a view!
Meg's Lake - set in a 20 acre nature reserve on our 360 acre estate
A sunny bedroom with a 50 mile southern view
Quarry House.
A double bedroom with superb countryside views
A typical twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jane G
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place to shelter from the beast from the east”
Reviewed 6 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We were driving to Budle Bay when snow storms struck. Our original venue was unreachable and the A1 was closed in both directions. Googling led us to Beacon Hill, just 4 miles away and Alun came to our rescue, they had just one cottage available.

Chris came in his pick-up to direct us through the snow drifts. They were so helpful. Oak cottage was gorgeous. Incredibly well appointed with a wood-burning stove and wine waiting for us. The whole place is beautifully done with spa, games room and stunning views- we couldn't have been snowed-in anywhere better!

It was so lovely, I've booked to go back in May to one of the Shepherd's huts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We were pleased to help you on a ghastly night. I am so glad you like what we offer. Thank you. Alun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenLaid...
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
“After all these years ...”
Reviewed 22 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

... we still love coming to Beacon Hill for our annual family gathering! It must be nearly 11 years we have had the pleasure of staying. Over this time period the accommodation, facilities and grounds have been beautifully kept. Some years we haven't even left the location instead preferring to stay and take full benefit of everything on site, from the pool through to the trampolines, Megs lake and the famous sausage sizzle too! Already booked to come back next July (making it 12 years) and October too! In fact next year we're brining friends with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2018
Thanks for a lovely review. Guests love our woods - they are quite special. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Alun
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bluegrass Shepherd's Hut”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful two night stay in Bluegrass, one of two amazing shepherd's huts located at Beacon Hill farm. Wow!! This hut really is something very special. It has been designed beautifully with attention to detail. It has been built and fitted out with quality furnishings and fixtures that really do make all the difference when away from home. Lovely comfortable bed, pillows and bedding and what an amazing view to wake up to each morning. We were lucky enough to have the sun shining on our faces through the open bedroom window, listening to the morning chorus which was heaven!! Fantastic little bathroom with a powerful and spacious shower with lovely large towels and a fab porthole window which I absolutely love! Great kitchen kitted out with high quality accessories and utensils and a spacious fridge. We used the outdoor firepit during our stay, fire lighting accessories were plentiful in the storage areas at the rear of the hut. We didnt need to use the log burner inside the hut as we had good weather. In the colder months I imagine the log burner and central heating makes Bluegrass exceptionally warm and cosy.
Little thoughtful touches like fresh milk in the fridge, lemon drizzle cake and fresh roses make all the difference. Alun is a lovely chap who makes you feel very welcome indeed and has something very special at Beacon Hill.

Thank you Alun x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ryegrass. Thank you also for telling us that the wi-fi was not working in the bedroom- something we did not realise. I have arranged for a booster arerial to be fitted on Monday to address this problem. If you have some suggestions for things to improve the offer please do email me directly. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison F
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A relaxing and enjoyable time away”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband, our three children and my parents booked to stay at Beaconhill through a recommendation from someone who came into my workplace. The person who recommended it couldn't promote it enough and we found out why! What a fantastic place to visit. It has everything, immaculate accommodation, great facilities, breathtaking scenery and such approachable proprietors who were very accommodating. We used the Spa facilities, the kids were in the swimming pool at least twice a day. Everyone enjoyed spending time in the games room and using the tennis courts. Places we have visited before have never offered such a welcome and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings and location
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you had fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali J
Bowness-on-Windermere, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, peaceful cottage with excellent spa facilities.”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is our 5th visit to Beacon Hill Farm. The cottages have everything you could wish for and more. The surrounding countryside is magnificent and wonderful to walk around. The farm itself is well situated for visiting the towns, cities and villages nearby as well as Holy Island. The spa facilities are wonderful and relaxing - go later in the day and you could be the facilities to yourself.
The welcome from Alun is always cheerful and he remembers details about you, that amaze me considering he has so many guests.
We left feeling refreshed, revived and ready to enter the world of world once more.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcome and spa facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you so much. I am delighted that once again you had fun. After 32 years in the business I still enjoy running Beacon Hill because I might so many lovely people. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing