We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage and Facilities”

Review of Beacon Hill Farm

Quarry House drawing room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quarry House drawing room
Beech Cottage A view to the south from the cottages
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Quarry House drawing room
Beech Cottage
A view to the south from the cottages
A king size bed an ensuite bathroom
A spacious en suite - one of two in the cottage
A fabulous Spa a walk away from your cottage through the gardens
The Jacuzzi with a view!
Meg's Lake - set in a 20 acre nature reserve on our 360 acre estate
A sunny bedroom with a 50 mile southern view
Quarry House.
A double bedroom with superb countryside views
A typical twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
mkmdurham
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cottage and Facilities”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in South Granary cottage. As soon as we arrived Alun, the owner, showed us round the entire area pointing out various walks and all the facilities. We knew then that it was going to be a good holiday. We were 4 adults and 3 children all under five, the youngest 8 weeks. There was certainly enough for all of us to keep us busy - the pool and spa (the hot beds and the Jacuzzi were favourite with the adults) the games room and the indoor adventure area were favourites with the children and fly fishing on the private Meg's Lake, 5 minutes away, for my husband and son in law was used a few times. The walks and the scenery around the area are to die for! There is even a beauty salon on site where you can have a pamper day or just a massage and your nails done, which my daughter and I did. Alun and the staff there were very, very friendly - highly recommended. The cottage itself was well furnished and everything was clean with enough books to keep you going all year/s! Everything we required was in the cottage and we didn't want for anything. Alun and his team were very friendly and help was at hand if it was required. We have stayed in cottages in Northumberland about a half dozen times in the last few years and this was the best so far and we would certainly recommend it to anybody and we will certainly be booking again in the future. Kathryn and Myles - Darlington

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: On site facilities spa, pool etc
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurelie...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Another Super Stay”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our 4th visit to Beacon Hill (2nd this year). Oak Cottage was as good as ever. The heating and hot water are really good since Alun put in the bio mass boiler - definitely a plus point for the property. I can highly recommend these holiday homes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from our cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing paradise far from the madding crowd that suits adults and children of all ages”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was our 10th year staying in this stunning place on a hill overlooking the Northumberland countryside. There are quite a few cottages on the farm of which we (now a family of 5) have stayed in 4 (Willow, Kestrel, Quarry and Elm). They are all very comfortable and well maintained. Most have nice views, log fires, great bookshelves full of books, well-equipped, spacious kitchens and comfortable beds. Quarry cottage where we stayed this year has fabulous views from the sitting room. Kestrel is the more modern cottage and is ideal if any family member has a disability as the bathrooms are superbly designed. There are many wonderful things about holidaying here. It is incredibly relaxing. There are beautiful walks from your door, a stunning beech wood where the kids can build camp fires, have a sausage sizzle and toast marshmallows. The swimming pool is great, the tennis court newly resurfaced and there is an indoor play area and separate games room with table tennis and air hockey if the weather is bad. We arrive and the kids immediately disappear off to explore, play football, bounce on the trampolines, do the Harry Potter trail in the wood, pick blackberries. We have found it equally relaxing with both babies and 13 year olds. The website is superb and in our experience, accurate. We tend to stay in quite a few self catering cottages around the UK and this is our gold standard. We have yet to stay anywhere better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous views from the sitting room
Liked least: Honestly cant think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant holiday”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have stayed at Beacon Hill many times and would love to return again! The facilities are excellent - the cottages are very well equipped and we really enjoyed the lovely warm swimming pool! The location is also excellent - lovely scenery but easy drive to Morpeth to access local services and plenty of interesting places to visit nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: N/A - nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaand...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for families and as a base to explore Northumberland”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Great place for families and facilities are great. It's very peaceful and owner is very friendly and helpful. Shops only 10 min drive away so good for self catering.
Good as a base to go on day trips around Northumberland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities on site
Liked least: Chose a smaller cottage and a bigger one would have been better for a weeks stay
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing