We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage and Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Goat Barn

Open plan lounge with wood burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge with wood burner
Large open plan kitchen to seat 11 Island with bar stools
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Open plan lounge with wood burner
Large open plan kitchen to seat 11
Island with bar stools
Kitchen table extends to seat 8
Stunning open plan living area
Secure & private patio area with BBQ
Patio and BBQ area
Hall with exposed stonework
Main bathroom
Main bathroom.Relaxing bath !
Main bathroom with walk in shower
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Master bedroom with king size bed
Master bedroom with en suite and cot
4 bunk beds in room adjoining master bedroom
Front of Goat Barn
One of many rescued resident goats that can be fed
Rescued resident fox at The Sanctuary- however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Tawny owls  in care at The Sanctuary- but cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
View from master bedroom
Rescued ponies& goats at the Sanctuary that visitors can meet and feed.
Shared children's play garden.Some equipment removed due to H&S.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Longhirst, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam15r
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would not recommend”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I booked this property for my team who go away with each other twice a year. We have stayed in a varied amount of places from large country houses to log cabins and never had an experience like we had at this property.

We stayed at the end of November and arrived on the Friday night.
First impression was that the house was nice yes there were marks on things here and there but that was not a big thing to me.

There was a lovely personal touch of a bottle of wine and sweets to welcome us to the house.
I was slightly put off by the signs all over the house about the heating not being put up etc. But each to their own.

We noticed there was a note saying that you had to pay for the logs for the log burner. Which after staying in houses that all had log burners we found quite odd. At £10 per bag I find this super expensive as no way does it cost £10 per Ikea bag load.

I slept the bedroom at the back of the house which is white with a double bed and a cot. The mattress in this room is in desperate need of being replaced as the springs slick into you whilst trying to sleep.

The owners live directly next to the property and have an access gate in front of the house.

They walked past the property which has a full glass wall at the front on a regular basis some of the guests felt that this was a bit intrusive.

After a couple of weeks from our stay we contacted to question when the deposit would be returned to be then told we were being charged for damage. This was to a duvet cover which had blue marks on it (none of the guests had any blue liquid) there was also a comment regards the amount of rubbish bags which were put in the bin cupboard as requested, we felt this was a bit out of order as what after all was expected with 10 adults staying two days ?
I further then disputed the damage which I know 100% that we did not do. To only be accused of smashing glasses again which I know we did not do as I washed glasses by hand , along with snapping a leg on the bunk bed which was metal ( not sure how we could have caused this, if not fit for adult weight this house should not be advertised as allowing 10 adults to stay)

It’s a shame that the owners feel a need to treat their customers like this. We would have hired this house again and I would have booked both of them in September of 2016 for a weekend with the girls.

Overall the house was ok, but some updates to some areas need updating. It was mainly the experience with the owners afterwards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: Some elements of the house and poor customer service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review , albeit the most negative one we have ever received for any of our three holiday barns in over three years ! I think it is important to our future guests that we explain the following and let them make up their own minds as to the standards we offer at Goat Barn and what experience ,as owners ,we hope to give our guests.

Firstly the bag of wood is not £10 as you claim. They are £5. The reason you were charged £10 was that you did not pay for your first bag of wood and asked for a second bag, despite a notice informing you of the cost per bag. It was obvious your intention was to not pay for the wood or you would have done so without our prompting.
We do not overcharge for our logs and if you do get it included in the rental price of other properties,I would suspect that the nightly rental is substantial higher than ours.

With reference to the damaged duvet cover,it is Holiday Lettings policy that the owner must photograph damaged items and show a receipt for a replacement before any deposit is retained.
We did both within 48 hours of your group vacating the property . The blue stain which you deny you caused ,was most likely to be from a blue dye alcohol.

Most guests in fact comment on how unobtrusive we are as owners and yes we do need to walk past the front of Goat Barn while going out to work and feed the animals. It is likely that your group found this intrusive as all day your group sat there drinking. Most guests do not even notice us going about our daily work which is in the fields and not outside either of the barns.

Regarding the broken glasses and the broken bunk bed , we again have photos to prove both and we should add that you were not charged for either.

It is also interesting that you thanked us on leaving the property and said you had all had a fantastic time with us and would definitely like to come back and yet now that Holiday Lettings raised the subject of the deposit retention, that suddenly your group was so dissatisfied with so much of your stay. So much so that you felt it necessary to put on a poor review.

With reference to your comment that you would have booked both our barn conversions for a girls weekend in September 2016, we can confirm that we in fact would not have accepted your booking based on our experience of your previous stay with us.

We greatly value reviews from all our guests and are pleased to say that all apart from yours have been excellent and positive from their experience with us. Perhaps yours is one based on annoyance that you did not get your full deposit returned and an attempt to publicly discredit the accommodation we offer. It is interesting that you state that you frequently rent holiday cottages for a party weekend and yet you choose to not go back to the same one ? I wonder why.
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parki777
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage and Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay with extended family. Lovely cottage and location, easy access by car to beach and countryside walks on the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelH9...
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting, fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful setting, homely cottages and a brilliant feel. Could not recommended enough, we are already planning our next trip! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottages
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Rachael
Thank you for your lovely review and we would love to welcome you back here one day soon !
Kind regards
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulH76
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic family vacation”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the Goat Barn to enable our extended family to come together and had a fantastic time. The accommodation was wonderful, and the large kitchen/ dining area and living area enabled us to have the time together that we wanted. The well-equipped kitchen enabled us to cook christmas dinner for 10 people. We also appreciated the Christmas decorations (tree, lights, candles etc) which made the place look great. We will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for a great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillieser...
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to relax with friends & family”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Have had a wonderful time at the goat barn. What a great surprise to have a REAL Christmas tree in a rental property. The barn is fantastic with a real homely feel. Spotlessly clean with everything to hand . Would definitely recommend to everybody

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for your really positive comments - so glad you liked the tree and had such a good stay with us.
Kind regards,
Kim & Allan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing